RailWorks Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe, active, daily job descriptions were clear, and great people to work with
Track Laborer (Former Employee) –  Bridgeton, MOMay 20, 2018
There were great team work daily. I learned every aspect of a job that needed to be completed from the beginning to the end of each step. Management are very intelligent, helpful, all about safety, and care about their employees on and off the job. I cant say there was anything easy about doing track maintenance or new construction. I would have to say the hardest part of the job is getting use to the weather conditions. I would say that I loved working with the employees. As long as you do your job and be safe and be clear of understanding the job details( job briefings) everyone is great.
Pros
Employees, the pay, benefits, and how they will work with anyone
Cons
Hot summers, and cold winters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXApril 17, 2018
Relaxed.. everyone comes to work to work. No drama. Company really takes care of their employees. Management is open to talk to and listen. Learned new things and they stay teaching you new things.. advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rail works
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MAApril 2, 2018
Rail works is a diverse field that utilizes construction. it invails heavy equipment. 10 - 15 hours a day and there many benefits from working from them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveling
Laborer/Operator (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaMarch 26, 2018
Hard work for sure. Traveling and living in hotels gets old fast. Working 7 days a week does to. I loved doing railroad work always felt like I was accomplishing work a lot bigger than me.
Pros
lunch breaks every day
Cons
Traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to work
A/P Clerk (Former Employee) –  Farmingdale, NYFebruary 19, 2018
Do not take the A/P positiin in Farmingdale. You will regret it and quit after a month. Poor Management and Coworkers. Horrible place to work. Very high turnover in A/P.
Pros
Free snacks
Cons
Too nuch to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table
Track Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 22, 2018
my days at work are very fast paste, i learn alot within a days worth. the management team are awesome! great company to work for. the hardest part of a job is not having extra help if needed.
Pros
: Free lunches, etc.
Cons
: Short breaks, healthcare, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life On The Road
Track Builder/ Heavy Equipment Op (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GA 30004January 14, 2018
Was very stressful. Supervisor was never around to help. The equipment was not useful. The crew was the most enjoyable. The bonus was the consent muscle building for the labor, and the different job locations.
Pros
different job locations, crew was helpful and enjoyable to work with.
Cons
bad equipment, bad weather conditions, lack of breaks, and time away from home/family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tight Knit environment with plenty of work to keep you busy
Engineering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sewell, NJDecember 26, 2017
A typical day would be estimating in the office calling subcontractors and organizing information for bids.

I learned all about the railroads, how they're made, and all the different styles in which railroads can be made.

Management was always very helpful and accommodating

Workplace culture was very friendly and helpful when its needed all the employees were very close with eachother

The hardest part of the job was learning the intricacies of the bidding process and the program used to submit bids

The most enjoyable is getting to see the projects come together after all the hard work trying to put together the best price
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Railroad Laborer (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARDecember 14, 2017
This job has low compensation bad hours and poor management your constantly going out of town for work and staying in bad hotels with little perdium per day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accountants Payable
Accounts Payable Associate (Former Employee) –  Olympia, WADecember 5, 2017
A busy company, stressful at times, a little disorganized in leadership but its a new Hub in the local area. The communication between the HUB and Corporate was lacking but again a new system and were working on all the bugs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Vincennes, INSeptember 11, 2017
Constantly on your toes and. Very safety oriented long days and sometimes staying out of town. Pays well for the hours worked some short weeks can happen depending on total time early on
Pros
Pay
Cons
Away from home alot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fine.
Signalman (Current Employee) –  USAAugust 24, 2017
Every railroad contractor is pretty much the same. I've worked for a couple and this one is better but overall the experience is not much different really.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be very stressful and long days with much travel
Safety Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 7, 2017
Can be very long days and very stressful. working with many type "A" personalities. Many crafts that need to work together and can be very dangerous with work around heavy equipment and railroad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Put in new tide on tracks
Railroad Technician (Former Employee) –  WisconsinAugust 4, 2017
early mornings but very late nights. Equipment was pretty old so it wasted alot of time during the day tryings to fix it. Horrible weather conditions. very tough work
Pros
good money
Cons
long hrs, not much time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RailWorks
Functional Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 17, 2017
Company has been struggling due to downturn in rail business. Need to concentrate on their basic building blocks of a successful busines, i.e. policies and procedures, IT project management, communication channels
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning experance at rail works
Laborer/Operator (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJuly 16, 2017
hard working on time safe work place and a bound between other workers and getting the job done safely learning new things as i went along with the job
Pros
Payed for own lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for health insurance
laborer (Current Employee) –  Vincennes, INMay 17, 2017
not full railroad retirement, but a very good company to work for. they are very adiquit about training and safety. be prepared to travel and work long hours lots of overtime usually
Pros
good job experience
Cons
travel 100% of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical contractor
Bolt gang (Former Employee) –  EverywhereMay 13, 2017
These guys want you to spend your life on the road in nasty hotels. The work/life balance is non existent.The pay is peanuts to what a railroad pays. Do yourself a favor and avoid these guys!
Pros
None
Cons
Never home, pay, inept management
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work places was ok
General Laborer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 10, 2017
It was a ok place to work but they didn't have no good boss we did what we wanted to do and we took lunch when we was ready to we didn't get payed the salary we post to had got pay it wasn't a great place to work..
Pros
Pay lunch
Cons
1 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great problem solving.
Chauffeur/Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 5, 2017
for example my pick up time is set for a particular time, but it has went longer than expected. My duty has a chauffer is to find a place to park and wait as expected.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 11Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RailWorks Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 80 reviews
524
425
316
29
16

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
1.8

1.5Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight