Raleigh General Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 69 reviews matching the search See all 70 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phlebotomy
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Beckley, WVApril 9, 2019
Very overwhevening, stressful , and a non stop environment through out the whole hospital, sometimes sticking the same patient over and over within hours . Some days are understaffed. Its a guarantee that 9 of 10 that you will not even get a full 30 min break to eat out of a 12 hour shift . You will be lucky if you have a day to get a break. We are very unappreciated it. Its slavery.
Pros
Good expirence in health care
Cons
Pay, hours, on call shift, no social or home life, very overwhelming, no help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medsurg
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WV 25801March 4, 2019
I'm not giving a review here because it was a very long time ago and things there have changed significantly since I worked there. It would be unfair to this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and unfair environment to work in.
Ward Clerk/Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVSeptember 24, 2018
Raleigh General was where I was originally hired on as a part-time ward clerk on the CCU Intensive care unit of who could also work as a Patient Care Aide as needed on the unit and other floors of the hospital. Not long after being hired onto the company I was constantly pulled away from the CCU and placed as a full-time PCA and not being paid overtime for going over what time I did when I was hired on as Part-time. also after 6months of working there I wasn't very pleased with the so called, "pay raise".
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning opportunity
Staff RN x 2 years (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WV 25801September 5, 2018
worked in a fast paced er setting. first job as an rn with good opportunity to learn from other experienced nurses and physicians within the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
RN (Current Employee) –  Beckley, WVAugust 15, 2018
Have enjoyed the learning experience from the last seven years! The schedule works for me and my family! But now with call and my children makes it rough doing it twice a week for 20 hours at a time! Otherwise I enjoy the employees and staff! My charge nurse and director are all great
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Registered nurse (Current Employee) –  Beckley, WVAugust 6, 2018
hard work fast paced enviroment. provided pto and sick time for employees. overall very rewarding and satisfying job. long hard hours.
tries to implement modern practices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, fast paced environment
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVJuly 25, 2018
I enjoyed working night shift in this friendly, fast paced environment. This job gave me the ability and confidence to become a traveling medical technologist.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) (Current Employee) –  Beckley, WVJuly 25, 2018
I have gotten the experience I was looking for as a new nurse at this establishment. My coworkers are phenomenal and we implement teamwork every shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great HIM team
Remote Medical Coder (Current Employee) –  Beckley, WVJune 5, 2018
The climate in the coding department at RGH is excellent; we work very well together and our supervisor and director are supportive and helpful with any and all work issues.
Pros
remote
Cons
per diem-no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVMay 31, 2018
Very busy and great place to work. Patient care is number one above all else. Handling of specimens is carefully and correctly done and learning never ends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great place to work
Registration Associate (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVMay 9, 2018
A typical day in the ER can get very stressful, but the people you work with become like family to you. Overall, I greatly enjoyed working for RGH and am sad that I no longer work there.
Pros
Great work atmosphere
Cons
Pay could have been better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discrimination at its finest!
Ward Clerk/Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVApril 1, 2018
U do not want to work here at all. From management down it is a very cut throat place. Bullying is allowed and management just turns their head and sees nothing. Management allows discrimination and allows managers to get away with treating people bad and nothing is done to them. Just a slap on the wrist. Corporate is called but yet there is no change. I hope no one has to be treated like this ever again and I hope the ones that have done this will get what they deserve.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked who i worked with..Didn't like who i worked for
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVMarch 19, 2018
I loved the work invermonent and the people I worked with but the company its self wasn't worth working for..It didn't matter how hard you worked or what you did for them they never said thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
LPN Floor Nurse (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVMarch 11, 2018
U are always working short and begin pulled to other floors
Not having pca or unit clerks never knowing. Where ur going to work or if u will get to wirk
Pros
12 hour shifts
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good corporation with secure future,
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVMarch 10, 2018
Recommend over all working there. Had multiple problems with my immediate nurse manager, who routinely made negative comments and gossiped about her employees. Great company to work for. Extremely busy.
Pros
Discounts for employees, continuing education, extensive orientation
Cons
Management was often difficult to deal with, stress level, extreme pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Enjoyable
Patient Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beckley, WVJanuary 13, 2018
Very fast paced environment
Hardest part of the job would be the 12 hour shifts, but overall isn't to bad
Enjoyed the people I worked with, always friendly and felt welcomed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-employees are nice and friendly.
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Beckley, WVJanuary 7, 2018
It has a great working environment where co-workers treat you nicely. One of the reasons why you want to go to work is you know that your co-employees will work WITH you and will help you through.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, great people but terrible management.
EVS Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVJanuary 6, 2018
I loved working at rgh, I loved every patient and every couple worker.. It was a great environment but the management is absolutely terrible & they treat their workers as if it was grade school.
Pros
Great pay, great hours.
Cons
Horrible manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rgh
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVNovember 12, 2017
Worked with wonderful staff members. Leadership leaves something to be desired and short staffing by supervisors made this a negative experience. Too much floating to other units.
Pros
good staff
Cons
short staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only worked there one day a week on a PRN basis
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVOctober 18, 2017
I worked in an ICU where the doctors did not concern themselves with the most up to date best practice evidence in comparison to the other facility I worked. However, I only left because I decided to go back to school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Raleigh General Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 70 reviews
514
423
315
28
110

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Raleigh General Hospital Reviews by Location