Rapid City Area Schools Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintain a safe enviornment while transporting a diverse group of children
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDFebruary 25, 2018
This was a no nonsense work environment. It was very challenging working with today's' middle school children and special needs children. It's a challenge to become accomplished in this position.
Pros
Setting a good example
Cons
Being an outlet for negative or contrary behaviors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. The position is very physical.
Cleaning Crew Team Member (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDFebruary 20, 2018
I enjoyed working for the District. The position I held was very physical and important because you are cleaning and making the school a safe environment for students and staff. Helping students and staff was always a high point of the position. The job can be really tough but I was lucky to work with a great team and that makes the work not so difficult.
Pros
Leave is earned by the amount of hours worked per month.
Cons
Some nights the workload was a little overwhelming and difficult to complete all allowed breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the children
Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  Rapid City, SDOctober 2, 2017
This is great job but very stressful at times.This job requires a great deal of patience and understanding. You must have a loving heart to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Substitute teacher, Para (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDSeptember 1, 2017
Plain and simple: typical US culture, work and get paid. Don't work, don't get paid.
Actually Douglas School district has fewer vacancies, but has 401K, etc.
RC School district just uses subs to sub. No complaints.
Pros
Regular on time pay
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School districts are usually good to work for
Information Media Secretary (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDMay 13, 2017
RCAS is a great place to work but hard to support a single person as many positions are not year round, do not offer vacation, and only pay when the children are present.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to substitute
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Rapid City, SDApril 12, 2017
Great place to teach. The pay is low but that is standard in South Dakota. Hopefully they improve teacher pay throughout the state so they can attract the best teachers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDFebruary 9, 2017
Great people to work with and really is fulfilling working with kids and knowing that you are making a difference. If you want to make a difference then this is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special education teacher
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDAugust 20, 2016
Made many friends. I learned much about special education.
I also was department chair for four years. I also served on the building leadership team for four years.
Pros
Made many friends
Cons
Didn't get to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place I have ever worked! DO not apply to this school district
Teacher (Former Employee) –  rapid city, SDApril 15, 2016
poorly, poorly managed. Administration has no interest in the workers. Very, very low pay. Favoritism is the only way you can survive. Extremely unprofessional group of people run this school district. Stressful and the most unrewarding experience.
Pros
none
Cons
Lowest pay, high stress, terrible administrators.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place to work
Team Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Rapid City, SDOctober 4, 2015
I think it's a great job. They're fun people to work with. I don't like working at night, and I don't really like traveling between all the schools we clean, but other than that it's great.
Pros
Fun enviroment, nice people
Cons
Work at night, have to travel between schools
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Rapid City, SDMarch 11, 2015
Support from management is non-existent. The Superintendent needs to be replaced. It is very hard to move around in the company to a different position and if you want to, you had better be a favorite of the supervisors.. Favoritism here is a MAJOR issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding to work and help better the lives of children
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rapid City, SDOctober 18, 2014
There is no better place to work than in a field where you contribute daily to children's lives. By working as a team the RC Area School District I have been able to feel as though I contribute to my community each and every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, but low pay
Paraprofessional/ Noon Duty (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDMarch 11, 2014
I really loved my job as both a paraprofessional and working the noon duty position. However, the pay was very low and difficult to survive on. My coworkers were amazing and really the only reason I left was the poor wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rapid City Area Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 14 reviews
57
44
30
22
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Rapid City Area Schools Reviews by Location