RBC Employee Reviews

Found 542 reviews matching the search See all 2,890 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work
Associate, Global Credit (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 16, 2018
Bank is growing so lot's of opportunities. The work place culture is one of the best thing's about this bank. It can be intense. This is normal for all banks's, but i find the people here to be nicer than at other banks of this magnitude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RBC is a good company
Senior Investment Associate (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 15, 2018
I really enjoy my years at RBC. I feel that Management is very supportive in my growth within the firm. The culture is great and it provides a work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed working environment
Packer (Former Employee) –  Bishopville, SCOctober 14, 2018
I enjoyed working here I would like to return to work here. This place is great the staff is very welcoming and helpful. I really loved here. Recommended for anyone.
Pros
Nice place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chaotic
Senior Developer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 11, 2018
I worked with a technology team that directly supported the market risk team. Developers and users sit next to each other. Communication was very direct
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Royal Bank of Canada
Employee (Current Employee) –  USAOctober 9, 2018
Good work environment. Progressive management structure. Inclusive management through all employees. Very flexible with all employees.

I've learned to be more structured and focused in my time at RBC.

I'd have to say there has not be a typical work day. This is one of my favorite aspects of working here. There are always situations that need to be dealt with and remediated.
Pros
Flexiblity
Cons
Not many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture and place to work
Senior Business Associate (Current Employee) –  Chevy Chase, MDSeptember 23, 2018
The DC complex has excellent local management. They are very willing to assist with issues for clients, marketing, and routinely provide employee appreciation.

The back office staff is very friendly and quick to respond.
Pros
Great base pay
Cons
Limited upward mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investment Advisor
INVESTMENT ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCSeptember 20, 2018
This commission based position was incented by bonuses on production and assets under management. This full service firm's payout was under 40%. This was also a takeover of the Ferris, Baker Watts Inc. firm.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Change in the corporate culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Blockchain Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CASeptember 20, 2018
Not the best. But not the worst either. The work environment isn't bad. You get to learn a lot from their environment and helps you advance further in your career. Just learn what you can and if you like it, stay but if not, leave. There is little room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Royal Bank
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYSeptember 17, 2018
This was my first job.

It didn't pay much. I left for more money. and a job closer to home.

It was a new and interesting experience

But I needed more money to live on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical cork day
Post Closing/Trailing Document Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 16, 2018
This company was a merger of the previous I had work for before the merger had taken place. What I learned at the company was how to handle different investors in satisfying their requirements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  CanadaSeptember 13, 2018
Not very competitive when it comes to salaries, work hours are long and very fast paced environment.
Opportunity to advance and great system to use, very strong training program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Program Manager (New York Operations) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 12, 2018
It is good company to work for. They can be a bit unstructured at times because the company grew organically very fast. Also, be ready to put in long hours if you work there.
Pros
Fun and challenging role with an opportunity to grow
Cons
Very unstructured and haphazard way of functioning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Included in all departments special events
Document Imaging Specialist (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 10, 2018
Efficient training and able to work independently. Manager was wonderful and understanding. Management aware of bus schedules
and allowed employees to leave in sufficient time.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Vacation figured in time worked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Trust Officer (Former Employee) –  Nassau, BSAugust 24, 2018
Loved RBC. Wish I could find another position with the Company in Canada since the RBC Trust in Bahamas closed down. I enjoyed the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A moral booster?
Funding Analyst (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJAugust 23, 2018
Our work days are usually long. However management is very flexible. They will work with you if you have prior engagements.
They have classes to better your understanding of a particular product.
We moved from Lower Manhattan to Jersey City . The hardest part was the commute, which isn't bad. It was across the river in New Jersey. 6-10 additional time.
Pros
Casual attires
Cons
Healthcare was less than desirable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many mixed messages.
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 16, 2018
When hired I was told that I could build up my position, and I did as such for quite sometime enjoyed it. but I was downgraded back to my original position do to current management Deplores having to answer clients calls. There no room for advancement do to Nepotism.
Pros
Work experience
Cons
Management & nepotism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  TorontoAugust 12, 2018
Great place to work. Lot of opportunities available to prove your skills. Adequate opportunities for growth. Good teams to work with and you get to learn new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company all around
Developer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 8, 2018
RBC was a great company. The employee benefits were endless. I'm not sure how the company is doing now, but it was a very good place to be a few years ago.
Pros
Good management, outstanding benefits
Cons
Some mistakes around cost savings/offshoring resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough place to work
Director / Sector Head - Consumers (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 7, 2018
Super competitive, very demanding in a very tough business. There is a very solid core group of people, very difficult to "get into" that elite crew..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company culture
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Paramus, NJAugust 1, 2018
RBC WM maintains the boutique atmosphere that came from the smaller shops that were absorbed over the years into Dain Rauscher (which was bought by RBC). A friendly place to work with savy and helpful management. Vacation allotments for salaried employees is significantly lower than other financial services companies.
Pros
Great culture, friendly.
Cons
Limited vacation days, no 401K match for commissioned employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 2,891 reviews
51.2K
4981
3525
2111
195

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight