Real Alloy Employee Reviews

2.7
Overall rating
Based on 33 reviews
Ratings breakdown
56
47
34
22
114
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 33 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 Bankruptcies in 15 years in a growing market
Manager (Former Employee) –  Coldwater, MIJuly 11, 2018
Top management stays the same - through 2 bankruptcies. Terrible use of their $. Invest in furnaces and cast lines that have NO business when they are finished while sacrificing in basic equipment spending. Squeeze the dollars in profit but beat up the maintenance department for spending. Handcuffed by management in making the business run. Production employee turnover is 25%+ per year. long days, weekend work, hot dirty.
Pros
Pay is good
Cons
Work environment, managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better places to work
Furnace Operator (Current Employee) –  Wabash, INMay 4, 2018
Title says it all, this company doesn't care about anyone. From the top down they don't listen to anyone's opinion or constructive criticism. Most of the upper management has egos, in short its their way or the highway.
Pros
Some of the employees
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people
Real Alloy Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Beachwood, OHFebruary 6, 2018
some people are hard to get along with, the clicks all around the office, worked with men and working with these women that always have their claws out.
Pros
great boss
Cons
clicks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed and undercapitalized
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Beachwood, OHJanuary 12, 2018
Solid business plan but unable to execute due to lack of talented staff in the plants; poor vision communication; and lack of re-investment in infrastructure when profitable.

Engagement of Leaders in HQ is questionable -Some have no direct experience running a productive manufacturing operation.
Pros
Opportunities to grow and make decisions; diverse challenges
Cons
Always doing things over (retraining new staff as experienced ones leave)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company need new managerment
Process Equipment Operator (PEO) (Current Employee) –  Wabash, INJanuary 1, 2018
You want to do your job but too many bad managerial decisions keep you from doing your work.(not knowing what you're doing from one moment to the next).
Pros
Good People
Cons
BAD Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Hard Work
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Wabash, INDecember 19, 2017
Check bag houses. Use fork lift. Took samples. The hardest part of the job there would be unplugging the bag houses. The most enjoyable part of my job was the alot of the people i worked with. They were good hard working and fun people to work with made the day go by fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good management
Lead Man/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 13, 2017
Dean treat workers fairly didn't give the workers benefit of the doubt treat black slaves that the workers didn't have respect for the workers the front office was poor management and they lied on the workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced high production steer clear if you are lazy and are afraid to get dirty.
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Friendly, WVNovember 23, 2017
Good place to work overall, everyone helps each other out for the most part, good cooperation between floor production crews and maintanence when it comes to keeping things running smoothly. 12 hour rotating shifts are a plus you are off as many days as you are on. Paid vacation days 80 hours worth plus 2 paid floating holidays which increases to 120 hours after 5 years of employment and even more a few years after. Benefits are good, healthcare, dental and vision as well as 401k. Overall a good place to work and make good wages, highly safety concious. Just like any place else from time to time always room for improvement in certain areas.
Pros
Good people good pay.
Cons
Gets a little dusty and dirty at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse company ever!!!
Senior operator (Current Employee) –  Friendly, WVNovember 20, 2017
Plant Manager not forward thinking, very disorganized, lack of innovation, do not want to listen to others about saving money.

There is no surprise they had to file chapter 11
Cons
Lack of inovation, management don’t listen they way or the highway
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Operator (Former Employee) –  Friendly, WVNovember 16, 2017
Fast pace environment, must be able to work by yourself. Management would always try to work with you. Great people. Rotating jobs so you don't get burnt out. Willing to train you on any machine or equipment to get you experience.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Dusty
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work. Wish i could go back
Furnace Operator (Former Employee) –  Loudon, TNOctober 3, 2017
start your day off with a team meeting. Go over safety stuff. the you prep your area then help someone else if they needed it. Haul in loads with fork truck. Help operator with whatever he needs for the day and through out the day. It is a swing shift every week. us e apay loader to help as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former employee
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Coldwater, MIOctober 1, 2017
Worst management to work for they will fire you for no reason . No one listened when things needed to change for the safety of others . Gear and lunches among other things would be stolen I found a few supervisors to be bullies
Pros
not working there
Cons
working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago Heights, ILSeptember 18, 2017
i wouldn't recommend my worst enemy to work at this none union company they have a terrible point system and they have certain positions for selected groups.
Pros
if you live in the south suburbs it a great location.
Cons
the guys in production get 20 minutes for lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the weak
Operator/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Coldwater, MIJuly 13, 2017
Currently the management is the main issue. I suspect that will change soon. The current system is to promote friends and family, and ignore the employees with over 18 years experience. There is a major divide between management and hourly employees, with supervisors stuck in the middle.
As far as the work, there is not a single hard task there. The work is straight forward and simple, its just hot for production employees. Its a foundry style environment, so if heat is a problem do not apply. If you work hard, no matter how others around you slack, it will be noticed. Not necessarily rewarded, but they know. The pay for the work is good. The problem is that in two years, you're done. No more raises outside of cost of living. The guy that's been there eight years, will make what a three year guy makes.
Pros
the pay is on point for the work
Cons
lacks solid upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Laborer (Current Employee) –  Coldwater, MIJune 23, 2017
plant manager is good they are on the production floor a lot and talk to us all the time
learned a lot about metals
pay is good
hardest part was learning cuz it was all new to me never work in metals before
typical day is long but I like the 12 hour rotating shift cuz I only work haf of the month
I want to retire from here
I can work overtime if I want extra money
Pros
lots of time off and plant manager is nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company not going away
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Coldwater, MIJune 23, 2017
I have been with Real Alloy about 18mos, seen a lot of changes, mostly good. They are bringing in people who want to work and take care of their families. That's what its about for me, stable work and good pay. If I want over time I can get it too.
Pros
close to home, stable palnt
Cons
hot in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible plant manager that doesnt care about people
Operations (Former Employee) –  Coldwater, MIApril 7, 2017
Plant manager is horrible. He could care less about anyone there. Best thing i did was leave there. Was expected to put job ahead of family. Very little rest or time off. Cancelled vacations even though needed badly.
Pros
workers
Cons
plant manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place is a joke and a bunch of liars.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Racine, WIMarch 16, 2017
Place is ran incorrectly a lot of people come and go a lot of scams and lies don't trust the district HR lady she makes it sound sweet and they are doing good things but she is clueless on what is going on, long story short don't do it.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Everythinh
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rough working conditions
Furnace Operator (Former Employee) –  Coldwater, MIMarch 6, 2017
Had the opportunity to learn and advance my career in many different departments, became familiar operating many different machinery such as, forklift, front end loader, and skid steer. I also had the opportunity to become familiar with many alloy elements. However, there were fault management error choices which made the company suffer, such as not being able keep individuals employed due to poor management. The most difficult part about my job was dealing with upper management. The best part about my job was the individuals who I shared my workplace with.
Pros
The pay was very reasonable
Cons
Tough working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Coldwater, MIMarch 4, 2017
Overworked and underpaid.....dirty and hot with breaks only when the metal isnt pouring..hr. Is worthless.and the plant manager is a complete joke...that only cares about pounds
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report