Red Lobster Employee Reviews

Found 4,861 reviews matching the search See all 5,061 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Relationships Built with Associates
Hostess (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 12, 2018
Red Lobster has been a positive environment to work in and truly, if it weren’t for the people, I would have left a while ago. I am not paid fairly even after my positive review and exceeding the needs of the managers. I was promised to make the same amount as the new starting pay, but have not been given that yet even after working there for over a year now.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
No advancement and sometimes unfair pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
peasant place to work
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Chula Vista, CADecember 12, 2018
I highly recommend looking into working for Red Lobster. The environment is a fast but enjoyable one with lots of friendly support. management is also attentive and professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Lobster
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 11, 2018
Red Lobster's training is still the best restaurant training I have received to this day. This was my first corporate serving gig and they really helped me put all the pieces together for what creates a great experience for the customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work
Hostess/Buser/Server (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VADecember 11, 2018
I didn't stay here long, but the time I spent here was terrible. The management don't treat their crew well, and that's always been something very important to me. The money wasn't great-not sure if people didn't know how to tip properly or if that's the normal Red Lobster standard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tips
Server (Former Employee) –  Tucker, GADecember 11, 2018
As a server, you don’t get a check so all money comes from tips. Many guests don’t know or don’t care and tip $5 or no tip. Then you have your regulars (repeat guests) who get whatever they want even when it’s against policy because management does not follow the rules that they want you to follow. Then that negatively affects your tip.
Pros
1/2 off meals
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks communication and reliability
Host, Line Cook, Server (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 11, 2018
Managers were unaware of policies and oftentimes ignored problems until they became too difficult to ignore. Hired unreliable people, so many reliable workers became easily burned out. Truly gave me thick-skin and taught me to keep my cool in situations.
Pros
Discounted food during shift breaks.
Cons
Unreliable management and workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management but awesome tips
Server (Current Employee) –  Statesville, NCDecember 10, 2018
The managers don’t care, you ask for one thing and they give you something else. The servers are in and out of this place, there is no stability. The tips are good because the food is so expensive.
Pros
Tips
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worse place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Decatur, GADecember 10, 2018
Restaurant poorly managed, they have roaches. Dishes and everything are nasty, dirty.
Customers complain about food all the time. Food takes about 30- 40 minutes
Pros
n/a
Cons
no break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work enviorment
CERTIFIED TRAINER/HEAD LINE COOK (Former Employee) –  Thomasville, GADecember 10, 2018
Would recommend it to anyone.great place to work.fun and quick paced.excellent training.room for growth and promotions.managers are cool and experienced.
Pros
Excellent benefits great balance between work and family
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to brag about
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, MIDecember 9, 2018
I personally didn't have a great experience when working for this chain. The work environment was cut-throat and the tipping was horrible, not to mention the management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, but tips are eevrything
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 9, 2018
I would get assigned a section to work in with 4 tables per shift. I had to take food and beverage orders. If I was in the back preparing a drink or or getting food for my table, if another server's food order was ready I had to take it to their table.
Pros
hours, tips, last minute shift change
Cons
tiny break room, team work limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
HOSTESS/ BUSSER (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 9, 2018
It’s a good place to work at. You meet all kinds of people. Management could be better and a little nicer but if not talked to very pleasant. It’s fast paced and slow
Pros
Paid weekly
Cons
Short breaks, hardly any hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Utility Worker/ Cook (Former Employee) –  Lanham, MDDecember 9, 2018
I love to work for a company that is about their team and I feel that red lobster definitely provided that. Management was amazing and really tried their best.
Pros
Good work place
Cons
No pay increasement./
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ILDecember 9, 2018
Management team is awesome, every one is treated evenly and with respect. Everyone is friendly and works together as a team to provide excellent customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work!
Host/Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  Inglewood, CADecember 9, 2018
Working at Red Lobster, you would hope to get a rush! You pretty much live off of tips! Especially if it's your only job! And please be ready because it will get hectic!
Pros
25% off
Cons
Poor tips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was and something new to learn.
Hostess / Server (Former Employee) –  Killeen TexasDecember 8, 2018
Checking entire restaurant if its ready to be open.
Learned how to serve food professionally.
It was the best manager in my life, very positive and always encouraged us in slow days. The best manager, true leader.
We always communicated with each other.
When it was slow. It was boring.
When customers would appreciate for my service and they would leave tips.
Pros
discounts on meals and drinks
Cons
Breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working full-time
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississippi State, MSDecember 8, 2018
I cook for the people who need anything I go get it for them I clean table in chairs and the bathroom door and window I love working full-time at work and I will do anything for to keep my job
Pros
No lunch
Cons
No break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent tips great atmosphere
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCDecember 8, 2018
I was obligated to stay in the restaurant longer than what was necessary to make decent money, I would be kept there until my hourly wage dropped to below min wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Future in the Restaurant Industry
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MODecember 8, 2018
Awesome place to work for one who has a desire of being some kind of management or a higher position. Work hard and you may just see an opportunity arise.
Pros
Up beat and positive
Cons
Work schedule. Pay grade.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving
Waitress/Server (Current Employee) –  Southgate, MIDecember 7, 2018
Serving at Red Lobster is very fast paced at times and stressful. With a lot of practice it is not terrible. The management is alright and the employees are great helpers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Red Lobster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 5,061 reviews
51.7K
41.6K
31.2K
2352
1297

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Red Lobster.

Powered by Comparably