Red Lobster Employee Reviews

Found 4,702 reviews matching the search See all 4,896 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment
FOH Manager (Former Employee) –  Inglewood, CAOctober 17, 2018
Great company when working for them just had a couple of bad experiences with upper management but every company is different for others and wish the company nothing but the best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a decent place of employment
Server and Hostess (Former Employee) –  Danville, VAOctober 17, 2018
Decent place to work. Let you pick up shifts if you want to. Wasn't offered benefits. Tips are very very depending on the event or day. Winter time is very slow business wise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn’t what I expected
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Matteson, ILOctober 17, 2018
I originally applied for a cook got through the interview and everything just to get told on my start date that I was going to become a dishwasher. I didn’t really care at the time because I was excited to get a second job. Then as I got into the business I seen it wasn’t just washing dishes. I had to take out the trash and all other things. It was an experience is all I’ll say
Pros
Decent hours
Cons
Wasn’t worth the pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Hours and Must Back-Stab to get ahead
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSOctober 17, 2018
Employees and most of the people you work around are great. Unfortunately, this company has fallen hard into the idea of "must make more money, must make more money!" They don't care what they have to do to get there. They literally measure your labor in 4 ways so that way they can always tell you to cut back because surely you weren't good enough in one of the four metrics. I have also personally seen multiple people advance through the company through slimy, shady, backstabbing ways. It's ugly. They do pay pretty well, but it is a trap to keep you there as long as THEY want you there. If you are a slime ball, you can advance, otherwise, good luck!
Pros
Free Meal, Good Pay
Cons
Every Employee above Store Level, Awful hours, No Integrity, Shady Practices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Elkhorn, NEOctober 16, 2018
The employees made the work envierment calm and exciting. The managers worked with me as I needed. There wasn’t a day that I didn’t want to go in. Hard work fast pace always moving.
Pros
Discounted food
Cons
Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
Expo/kitchen (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZOctober 16, 2018
I love working there, haven't been there very long but I love it already. Crew and management are very friendly and helpful. When you get to work it's like you're welcomed with smiles. And if you fall or not sure they will sure enough step in and help you the right way.
Pros
Gaining the all around work experience
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you like being stressed
Culinary Manager (Current Employee) –  Humble, TXOctober 15, 2018
Started off as a great place to work. Then, once they became independent, they started changing the structure. They asked management to fill in the gaps created to minimize labor waste.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Management asked to be stretched too far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for first time servers.
Server / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILOctober 15, 2018
You really get a full range of service training here. Teaches you customer service, how to handle guests, how to manage your time. Lucky to make good money.
Pros
Delicious food
Cons
Slow, slow, slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red lobster
Lead Waitress (Current Employee) –  Macon, GAOctober 15, 2018
Red lobster is a good business to wk for, but I'm always looking for a greater opportunity.Everyone deserves a chance at being successful i started working there in nov 2017
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Server (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAOctober 15, 2018
Had a lot of fun. Fast paced and team effort. Managers were always helpful and understanding. Worked well with school schedule and location was perfect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Red Lobster?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZOctober 15, 2018
I enjoyed working for this company. i would recommend it to any person with strong customer service skills .They do offer some benifits which is a good insentive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very energetic and enjoyable.
Busser (Former Employee) –  Mentor, OHOctober 15, 2018
I learned quite a lot at this job. It was a great experience between customer service and leaening how to work at a fast pace.
Typical days were fairly easy to manage.
Busy days were very very stressful at times and overly fast paced.
Pros
Great staff, managers are amazing, clean workplace, great tip outs.
Cons
Workplace Drama, Some rude customers here and there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cook (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXOctober 13, 2018
Everyone worked together to get all the food cooked fast and efficiently to ensure customer satisfaction and maintain a clean and friendly work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are corrupt
Everything (Former Employee) –  United StatesOctober 13, 2018
Money is the root of all evil and it is exploited daily there. Hardest part of the job is missing family events because of your extended work week. Best part are some of the employees worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAOctober 13, 2018
The training was complete, the pay was reasonable for the area. The atmosphere was relaxed and enjoyable. The manager was willing to work with employees and did not micromanage. She had an open door policy.
Pros
Relaxed atomsphere
Cons
on your feet the entire time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many hours
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAOctober 13, 2018
Quality of life was terrible. The gm pushed all his responsibilities on others and had a terrible temper. Free meals were nice but definitely not worth the drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
Server (Current Employee) –  United StatesOctober 12, 2018
under staffed, with no care of employees, only reason i stayed for 3 years was the employees i worked with and the costumers who came in. worst place to work in Henrietta
Cons
healthcare, management, hours, cant eat or drink unless on break, never good enough, dirty workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible place to work
SERVER (Current Employee) –  Carle Place, NYOctober 11, 2018
Fast paced professional restaurant environment. Flexible hours and shifts. Variety menu catering to all groups. Different levels of management. Great co workers who are friendly and courteous and professional.
Pros
Discounted meals and flexible work schedule.
Cons
No healthcare benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is worth it for college students.
Server (Current Employee) –  San Bruno, CAOctober 11, 2018
Helped me pay for college. If you are a people person or you want to develop your social skills I would definitely recommend working at Red Lobster. I am forever grateful for the opportunities I had here, really changed my life for the better.
Pros
Discounts, high tips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Waiter/Server (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COOctober 11, 2018
Just gets old and boring no promotions or moving up once you're server and if you do it takes 5 years.. the managers aren't great either..
I'm sure there's alot better red lobsters though:)
Pros
Not much
Cons
Too much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Red Lobster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,897 reviews
51.6K
41.5K
31.1K
2339
1279

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight