Reed Business Information Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search See all 62 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company
Sales (Former Employee) –  United StatesJuly 24, 2018
The company was in an industry with limited competition. They provided opportunities for advancement and had great benefits. They have recently sold the business so it is not the same company.
Pros
Advancement
Cons
Bought and Sold several times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A+ benefits
Imaging Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILFebruary 11, 2018
Outstanding benefits. Good culture. Decent pay. Magazine business plummeted, which shuttered our location in Oak Brook. This was not just a job - people looked at RBI as a career.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
Oak Brook location closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company with company issues.
Business Development Manager, Packaging Digest (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILJanuary 4, 2018
Large global company with multiple levels of management. Constantly changing sales compensation plans, become very competitive amongst other sales people. Environment become toxic.
Pros
Good comp plans
Cons
Large company issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment and positive people
Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 2, 2017
Great sales manager and great people to work with but a miserable publisher in charge. A true friend and good advisor to me and our staff in general..
Pros
Time off if you sold really well like a Friday off
Cons
Difficult publisher to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work enviroment was a family atmosphere.
Technical Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 1, 2017
The ability to assist clients (internal and external) was rewarding when the client was excited the issue was resolved or a work around provided. Like most large corporations, it does not manner that you successful 99% of the time, upper management dwelled on the 1% and was critical on yearly reviews.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work ethics and training
Software Test Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHMay 17, 2017
I have an proven track record building of web services, REST, APIs technologies targeting modern browsers on desktop and mobile devices.
I design and work with complex data models in the HPCC Big Data Platform.
I am self-motivated with strong delivery focus, experience with Dependency Injection, I kept abreast of new technology developments, resolve complex technical issues as necessary.
and I worked closely with other development team members to understand complex product requirements and translate them into software designs.
I successfully implement development processes, I was giving coding best practices, and code reviews to analyse and I operate in various development environments (Agile, Waterfall, etc.) while collaborating with key stakeholders.
Pros
Great work ethics and training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved it.
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAMay 12, 2017
I loved this place. Sadly they moved locations, and it was just too far to travel daily. I enjoyed my co-workers, and we had a very laid back atmosphere. Tattoos and piercings were allowed, and we got to wear jeans, and clean, decent shirts. Overall, I would work here again, for sure.
Pros
Loved the people
Cons
Moving so far from our original building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Publishing Corporate using leading edge technologies, great web team overall
Senior Systems, Web and Applications Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sutton UKNovember 14, 2016
Worked with the web team, fast pace environment but satisfying and enjoyable to work, both management and colleagues were good, overall good corporate
Pros
Leading edge technologies, process driven and knowledge transfer great.
Cons
None that I was aware of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freelance job so no direct interaction, only online
Freelance Writer (Former Employee) –  Home basedSeptember 14, 2015
Very organized editors. I was assigned projects that involved policy manuals and updating safety regulations. It was a brief, but engaging experience. I learned a lot with the project, but about the topic but also the way that legal documents must be created.
Pros
Freelance, deadline oriented materials
Cons
Short lived based on my own time constraints
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun wokplace
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  New yorkJuly 15, 2015
• Worked as a team lead and managed a for a team size of 9
• Requirement gathering and New module creation
• Data Migration
• Development, defect fixing and production support
• Offshore coordinator and later as Onsite coordinator
• Defect Prevention and Reviews of deliverables
• Deployment Activities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is ok company
Senior Project Researcher/Reporter (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILJanuary 22, 2015
Construction information gathering company. People were not that great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional with a friendly atmosphere
Accounts Payable Representative, Purchasing (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 11, 2014
A fast paced environment, but working with my co-workers was enjoyable and fun. We were a team that worked together to make things happen on a timely basis. We learned each others jobs in order to cover one another during vacations and absences. Our manager was an amazing woman who always had an "open door policy" and made sure that you were trained in all areas of accounting. The most enjoyable part of the job was coming in everyday and the hardest part was saying goodbye when there were layoffs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Coordinator, NY Sales Division (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 29, 2014
Learned a lot of great skills. Great colleagues and environment. Very casual work environment. Great benefit.
Pros
Work/Life balance
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Oracle DBA (Former Employee) –  Highlands Ranch, COOctober 14, 2014
business was sold and closed. job was great just disappeared
Pros
people
Cons
sold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a pleasure to work with the people at Video Business magazine --Reed Business. They treated threir employees with respect and compassion.
First Editor at Large and then Senior Editor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, Calif.July 26, 2014
I was hired to write deadline and fast breaking news stories.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a people company -
Bid Source Relationship Specialist (Current Employee) –  Norcross, GAApril 18, 2014
No cohesion - or consistency from management.
Pay is not desirable. Managers are motiviated by numbers for monthly - yearly bonus on a metric scale required by the staff that do not receive monthly bonuses.
Pros
None
Cons
Not a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reed was an intracil part of my life and the experince was well worth it.
Mail Clerk - Mail Technician/Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 6, 2014
Learned customer service, time management, shipping & receiving, how to run a forklift and computer skills.
The people were great.
Pros
Everything
Cons
The company went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security.
Sales (Former Employee) –  New Providence, NJJanuary 7, 2014
If you dial and smile - you will fit in. All functions managed overseas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative support to Legal and Corporate Communications departments.
Administrative Assistant, Legal Department (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 16, 2013
Provided administrative support to Assistant General Counsel and Director of Corporate communications. Designed and maintained legal filing system. Assisted in preparation and mailing of media relations material to 300+ branches. Maintained mailing lists and database of media contacts. Coordinated monthly report distribution to 300+ branches.
Pros
The busyest work environment I ever had and liked the most.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carriere
Senior Audit Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 6, 2013
j'ai eu l'opportunité de me developper professionellement et de devenir senior manager en travaillant à Londres et à Nex York
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Reed Business Information. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 62 reviews
525
419
311
26
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture