Rent-A-Center Employee Reviews

Found 3,576 reviews matching the search See all 3,638 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt that it was a good place to work, but they tend to show favoritism toward certain employees
CUSTOMER ACCOUNT REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Jacksboro, TNJuly 17, 2018
I’ve always felt that I put in the time and work for advancement, but I was skipped over for unqualified people that were just hired in. I’ve also been due for multiple raises, and they keep telling us they’re behind on them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 16, 2018
Rent A Center has help develop my skills in collection, sales and management skills. RAC has daily and weekly goals for collection and sales that is strictly in force. One difficult task is finding the right balance between collection and sales. RAC has great incentives for managers who grow their business. RAC has a fast pace working environment and demanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
PRODUCT DELIVERY SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Junction City, KSJuly 16, 2018
Working at Rent-A-Center keeps you busy. I was a product delivery specialist, which means I'm on the truck most of the time I'm working. The job itself is fast paced and strenuous, but it was made better with good coworkers.
Pros
guaranteed breaks, flexible time off
Cons
labor intensive, dealing with rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace office
Recruiter II (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 16, 2018
Overwork low compensation.,Lack of communication, Not true to their word. Diversity is a given in the company. Sometimes ;your work may be overlooked.
Pros
Onsite Gym, Merchandise Discount, Health Fairs
Cons
Lack of communication, low compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SOul sucker
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 15, 2018
I have no excuse for taking his job only regrets. if you are a people person this job will suck the life out of you. company is only interested in the bottomline not the customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store manager
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 14, 2018
the job was cool had a lot of fun. sales were to demanding for over priced stuff. the collection part was fun. you kind of felt like a bounty hunter. i had and awesome set of years there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Laconia, NHJuly 13, 2018
Rent a Center is a good job for delivery drivers. Good, fair work, and reasonable pay. If you are looking to get experience in driving jobs, this will be great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting point, but work life culture needs help
Collections Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Middletown, RIJuly 13, 2018
Worked a long time to be a AM, company is being bought out and was put to do same strenuous work i sought promotion to escape. Im am unable to keep up with the physical demands currently demanded of me, and i have spoke up several time to no avail.
Pros
the people
Cons
work load and high expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job for full time students
Delivery Specialist (Former Employee) –  Stephenville, TXJuly 13, 2018
I worked here while going to school because they were willing to work with my school schedule and it was a good work environment to learn new things. Good place to work if you know sales and competition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
CREDIT ASSITANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXJuly 12, 2018
Great for young adults who are new to the workforce. Rent a center helps develop communication skills and customer appreciation. Rent a cent can be a pretty laid back job and not to stressful.
Pros
paid holidays and insurance benefits
Cons
Saturdays are a must and they are your longest days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being Your Own Boss managing your own accounts
Account Manager Transfer from FL. (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLJuly 12, 2018
Account management for your accounts for credibility towards customer satisfaction making sure that repossession is not the first choice but also making sure that the customer is satisfied with reconstructing a contract if they come back in and repossession is the last choice always and top 10 of my Sales and Credit accounting for customers.
Pros
As a driver you're your own boss and you run your own accounts
Cons
Working together with other account managers may speak to your customers when you're not available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked independently on delivering heavy items.
CUSTOMER ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZJuly 11, 2018
This company was very poor at providing instruction, assistance in moving heavy equipment by yourself, and the vehicles were always in bad repair. Many of the customers were in low income areas, and their housing was difficult at times to get to by yourself with awkward heavy loads.
Pros
Closed one day a week.
Cons
Poor pay, under staffed, put in unsafe conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Warrenton, MOJuly 11, 2018
This place treats their employees like indentured servants. They do not respect their employees at all. I had the worst experience working for them and all of my coworkers felt the same. Everyone had their foot out the door waiting for a different opportunity to come along.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Chalmette, LAJuly 10, 2018
This job is multi-tasking in diverse ways. It will train you in collections, sales, customer service skills,and collections. RAC have amazing benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste environment
Credit Manager (Former Employee) –  Waipahu, HIJuly 9, 2018
Fast past work space. Most have product knowledge to get sales. Good job advancement and in house career opportunities. Will train you for success and nothing less.
Pros
Medical, dental, Paid vacation, and sick days
Cons
Not much time with family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, high stress, short staffed
Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVJuly 9, 2018
20 + years and let go with no reason given. Great place to work at one time but last few years don't seam to care about coworkers. Only cared about selling the company.
Cons
long hours, micro managed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJuly 9, 2018
Loved working with the people but I had some employees that were not too friendly I had sad situations but other than that I likes the job I was doing
Pros
Had a good time with some employees
Cons
Had bad times with employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rent A Center
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Tupelo, MSJuly 9, 2018
Good job , I would recommend this job to anyone as long as you can pick up couches , washers and dryers. Other than that it’s going to be a piece of cake
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Timed on work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a great job to start off with
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottumwa, IAJuly 8, 2018
Rent a center is not a career job. It’ does not have retirement,pention. The benefits it carry is only 401k I do not see my self being here long only momentary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was not a good fit for me personally.
Lead Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Mableton, GAJuly 6, 2018
The work days were long pending if you met credit scores. You were basically responsible for making adult pay their rental bills. customer talk to you like trash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rent-A-Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 3,638 reviews
5642
4975
31.1K
2472
1455

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Women's ratings

2.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss