Rent-A-Center Employee Reviews in Houston, TX

Found 43 reviews matching the search See all 4,307 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Credit Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 16, 2016
The typical day is pretty fun. Every one gets along. Bonuses are great. Deliveries aren't the most fun. Repossession situations can be funny at times. Pay isn't that great
Pros
Culture
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Sales Associate/Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 20, 2016
Call each customer eery morning

Learned how to deal with different people in certain situations

Management was easy going, as long as you were on time and did what needed to be done there were no issues

Co-workers changed a lot

Delivering furniture by yourself

Pretty much free to work/ deliveries and calling customers
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 1, 2016
Paid time off, paid holidays. Always had sundays off. Good benefits, good insurance. Always got paid weekly which is a plus Guaranteed 48 hours every week so no worries about having a short check.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great monthly bonus plan.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 22, 2016
I learned plenty working for this company. I was able to hire, train, and develop my own employees. My supervisor was always available to answer any questions that I had, but allowed me to manage my business with little or no supervision. I appreciate that style of management.
Pros
Great pay.
Cons
Long hours of operation including weekends and holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintain records
Delivery Driver/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 15, 2016
• Maintain accurate records of customer account activity, to include current and past due accounts
• Review past due accounts and communicate in person and via phone with the customers to promote timely payments
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 26, 2016
Assisting Customers in the store and providing financing and terms while verifying each purchase application. Supervising all sales staff, and reviewing all sales applications from each sales person.
Pros
Great Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I thought it would be
Manager In Training (Former Employee) –  HoustonJune 30, 2015
Not what I thought it would be. Not what I had expected, This was not the job for me. It is a good company overall just not what I was led to believe that job would be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 19, 2015
Rent a Center was a great company to work for. Unfortunately, the company restructured, forcing pay cuts. I was not able to stay on, so I went to work for the competition.
Pros
Great benefits, 401K
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardcore job functions
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 11, 2015
Plan the day with the team on sales goal and objectives for the day. I've learned how to coach and develop team members to be ready for future advancements. I've learned to manage my team by coaching and training but having fun through out the day. My coworkers feel like I am there to help them. I can't say there is a hard part of the job. The key is to be consistent with all aspects of managing the store. The most enjoyable is working with a strong team that wants to make it happen for you and the branch. And after achieving that the whole store get recognized.
Cons
Repo peoples things. Then they want to fight you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loan Teller
Marketing of the business (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 19, 2014
processed loan for customers, cashed checks, did tax returns and money transfers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and marketing
Account Manager/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 29, 2014
Great place to work friendly staff and clean work enviornment
Pros
Advancements
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer relations, customer satisfaction
Store Manager/Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 14, 2014
I love my ability to develop great customer relationships.
Providing my customers with products that without the company they could not afford. I appreciated the feeling of accomplishment.
Pros
advancement, employee purchases
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exiciting atmosphere
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 31, 2014
enjoyed meeting lots of different people and assisting as needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Manager In Training (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 15, 2014
Awesome company highly recommended to any job seeker.If you are looking for a great job apply.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company discounts on merchandise; Job security even in recession.
Lead Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 11, 2014
Work/ life ratio is not very manageable. They require a minimum of 50 hours a week. You start at 9:30 in the morning until 8:00 or 8:30 in the evening. Some management/ Store Managers are totally unprofessional.
Pros
Great discounts
Cons
Short lunch and too many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job but learned alot
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 3, 2014
Dealing with this customer base of people was very different. This job taught me how to deal with highly stressful situations especially when people are having bad financial situations as well there on personal problems. Some of the co-workers were easy to deal with but others were not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good surroundings
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 30, 2013
I enjoyed working for Rent A Center. They gave me the experience I need for working one on one with customers. I will always be grateful for what I learned working for them. The management was fair with each employee, My co-workers were very considerate of their surrounds. The enjoy part of the job was getting to talk with new people daily. The worst part was getting cussed out over the phone but I didn't let it get to me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company depending on your DM
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 29, 2013
displaying new merchandise, packing items together, contacting customers, collecting on past due customers, ensuring profitability of the facility
Pros
bonus program
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The RAC PACK
Customer Accounts Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 23, 2013
Rent a center is the type of job that is very demanding but also rewarding if you can meet your goals. With RAC you do need to be very goal orianted in a sense that no body can get in your way. With that said RAC will take up a lot of your time a minimum 48 hours a week. If you can keep up with the hours and the pace set by RAC corp then this can and will be one of the best positions you can be in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  houston txNovember 27, 2012
handle deliverys for costumers repoing merchandise and fixing damage merchandise
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rent-A-Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 4,307 reviews
5773
41.1K
31.3K
2567
1562

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Women's ratings

2.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss