Rent-A-Center Employee Reviews for Assistant Manager

3.2
Overall rating
Based on 3,638 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5642
4975
31.1K
2472
1455
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 500 reviews matching the search See all 3,638 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
CREDIT ASSITANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXJuly 12, 2018
Great for young adults who are new to the workforce. Rent a center helps develop communication skills and customer appreciation. Rent a cent can be a pretty laid back job and not to stressful.
Pros
paid holidays and insurance benefits
Cons
Saturdays are a must and they are your longest days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was not a good fit for me personally.
Lead Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Mableton, GAJuly 6, 2018
The work days were long pending if you met credit scores. You were basically responsible for making adult pay their rental bills. customer talk to you like trash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place of employment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 1, 2018
Employer where time management is an absolute must. Does offer great benefits and employee options for self improvement. Will say that hours required at work depends on store location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MAJune 28, 2018
As long as you make your own personal goal while you are in the company, there is no saying what can be accomplished.
There is a lot of company advancements to take advantage of.
Pros
Advancements/ more money
Cons
too many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NHJune 27, 2018
this company had me always moving with just enough down time to not get exhausted. multitasking was fun and necessary. i enjoyed my job here as a manager.
Pros
weekends off
Cons
50 hours mandatory work for all employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Alton, ILJune 19, 2018
So the company was a good place fun/ great work group. Then got a new store manager and everything when down hill. He got everyone fired and eventually he also was let go... poor company decision to promote this person. Ended with a whole store losing there jobs...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAJune 18, 2018
Great job ive had. The hours are really long. practically felt like inwas living at work. i would like to work there again but i have a child, the hours wouldn't work for me.
Pros
Great pay great employees
Cons
alot of hours live at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better managers
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Woodland, CAJune 17, 2018
loved my store and employees but higher up employees really need to be changed it’s a great job just high rotation of employees and a lot of demand with little recognition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 16, 2018
Working at R.A.C. many job skills you will learn. From preserving the merchandise to account managing. It also gave me a very good sense of how to deal with customers in any situation as well over adversity.
Pros
Employee development
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love RAC City
Assistant Manager/ Credit Manager (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJune 9, 2018
to sum it all up I had an awesome experience working with this family
I'd love to work here again if I could! the best part was the employee discount.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 7, 2018
Rent A Center is a well known company with a good reputation and treats it's employees well. Definitely room for advancement and growth if you are willing and able to make a good effort.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work environment.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYJune 6, 2018
Typical day at work entailed greeting and assisting customers on the floor as well as prospecting for new business by performing telemarketing , direct mailers, and distributing fliers.
Pros
Helping people attain their needs and wants at affordable prices.
Cons
The hours worked daily 40 plus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOMay 17, 2018
Overall good Job! You wont regret working here. This place gives you a foundation to build your sales knowledge its very fast paced which I really like.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Cullman, ALMay 16, 2018
good steady work good hours and job security. opportunities to advance. collections and sales experience. get to know area. training to advance in company.
Pros
good pay
Cons
work saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Assistant Manager/Credit Manager (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCApril 30, 2018
good place to learn skills, hours were long and pay was ok. manangement expected more than could be done in the collection department. otherwise its an ok place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Which store.
LEAD ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Lynn, MAApril 24, 2018
The job isn't that bad But they ask for a lot. I really enjoyed my managers and the people I worked with. Sales sales sales is the name of the games for some and credit credit credit for others. this job all depends on your location and what store your in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prefer not too
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Pittston, PAApril 24, 2018
prefer not too at this time. if needed to in person, would be willing to at that time. Although the company has given families in need a chance for a fresh start
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like interacting with people but poor managament
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Hazleton, PAApril 15, 2018
Once you get to know customers you will get it but manager and district manager are not in the same page. Work schedule is not for a person with a family because you with spend all day and half your weekend.
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company but poor mangement
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNApril 7, 2018
I really did enjoy the job itself was very physical and kept in shape but I didn't agree with sening one person to deliver items that required 2 people
Pros
overtime
Cons
poor upper managemant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kentwood, MIApril 3, 2018
Overall the experience was ok. Good for a college student looking to make decent money. Your experience will be greatly determined by your store and your manager.
Pros
Can gain great skills for future jobs.
Cons
Quailty of customers, Cut Throat environment, Sales aspect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rent-A-Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Diversity score

72out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Rent-A-Center.

Powered by Comparably