Rent-A-Center Culture reviews

Found 589 reviews matching the search See all 4,063 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, fast pace
Assistant Manager of Sales (Current Employee) –  Casselberry, FLApril 15, 2019
Great place to work at. Wonderful staff. Company makes sure you are taken care of with great benefits. Definitely a good company to work for. Great opportunities
Pros
Great Pay, Great work environment
Cons
Work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bought out
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 8, 2019
The hours were horrible as a store manager. You have to work from 9am to 9pm or later for 6 days a week. The pay isn't enough to even get a car. Your spouse will have to work as well to make ends meet. The workplace culture was nice though as long as all your numbers are being met. Right after I saw the stock dropping I jumped ship and later discovered the company was bought out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity at the time
Tax Administrator (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXApril 6, 2019
Steady hours on a regular basis. I learned how to register business with the proper licenses. Management was willing to mentor me to learn new skills. The hardest part of the job was working with outside auditors, or collaborating with people in a different state. The most enjoyable part was trying to problem solve to get a task done.
Pros
team spirit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, easy going atmosphere, terrible hours
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Washington, MOMarch 29, 2019
I couldn't handle working until 7 every night and never having 2 days off in a row, other than that it is a great place to work. You will draw new perspectives on what you think the job is and how you look at customers. Definitely a family atmosphere. If you do not need lots of time with family, then this is a great opportunity for a great career.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere, fairly relaxed, decent pay, and good equipment
Cons
No time for family, never home for dinner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXMarch 27, 2019
Overall good company. Good company culture. Kind of an old school good old boy network but it's not something you can't overcome. Flexible hours are allowed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and enjoyable work place. competitive and fun
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Many, LAMarch 23, 2019
Fast paced and fun
Sales goals
How to build rapport with customers
fun environment
competitive goals with coworkers made it fun
work life balance needs improvement.
Pros
competitive atmosphere
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and competitive
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIMarch 21, 2019
Very hard stressful and competitive. Company put you in danger or harms way. No advancement. Poor Management. Poor culture and environment. Poor work ethics. Long hours.
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Long eork hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-tasking is very important and dealing with customers.
Customer Spec. II/Generalist (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXMarch 15, 2019
Training at Rent-A-Center is very important because you are dealing with not only Customers but also employees in the field. Very importaant to mult-task. Very Stressful job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales/Collections
Assistant I/O Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 13, 2019
This job is very intense. You have to be very strong willed, tactful and outgoing to do this job. Dealing with unruly customers makes you learn patience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn NYCMarch 8, 2019
A day at RAC starts with team meetings always. Everybody needs an understanding of where the store currently stands and our goal for the day. I've learned that if you have a strong team behind you, your goals can be accomplished but its up to you to build your teams moral. The hardest part of the job was getting the problematic customers to make on time payments. The part that I enjoyed was when the team pulled together and overcame the obstacles. We came up with ways to either meet the customers half way by going to pick up the payment from them or asking them to pay half or whatever it took for the store to close with the company expectations of us.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
electronics
Electronic Technical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cranberry Township, PAFebruary 17, 2019
nice place to work.good environment. friendly co workers. I enjoyed coming to work everyday and feeling challenged and respected. I also enjoyed the people I worked with.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Closed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  North Versailles, PAFebruary 14, 2019
Not really mich to say. It was fun while there. You meet people who would like to buy product and you deliver ot to there place. Once thats dine you help them manage their account.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rent-A-Center Corporate Office
Manager (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXFebruary 8, 2019
Recently the workplace culture is just ok, and a little stressed. Tough place and overall environment to work in now. However if you are on the right team it is a great place!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with nice game room
Sr. Informatica Developer (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXFebruary 6, 2019
Fun workplace with nice game room. Work culture is ok depending on the season. For IT, there is no clear direction to where the management wants to take it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build a career.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Radcliff, KYFebruary 5, 2019
Started as full-time account representative and achieved promotion to assistant manager within six months. Moved up to store manager in as little as five years with the company.
Pros
Benefits, competitive pay scale
Cons
50+ hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 26, 2019
I liked working with this company because it was very fast paced and competitive. Always a thrill to see if we were in first place from our district. The hours were long, 50 hours a week was mandatory in NY branches but I didn't mind.
Pros
Worked with a great team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviornment
Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, WAJanuary 10, 2019
My location was fun to work at but there were a lot of politics with management and Home Office.
Raises could have been better and reviews were based on company wide locations and not really on individuals performance.

Manager was very mindful of family life and if needed we could leave for family or appointments at a drop of a hat.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most I enjoyed at the job
Teller (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 9, 2019
the most thing I enjoyed at this job was working as a team player we use to have meeting to comeuppance with new idea for the store so it. can run on a good wok base
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working their need to just focus hitting are numbers to close
Rent a center car representative (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 9, 2019
typical day at work doing calls and working on credit
i learn how to not let people distract me
the area we work in is and alright place
the hardest part picking up people belongings
hitting are numbers and closing are routes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always interesting
Assistant Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJanuary 8, 2019
When you work with a good team, the day seems to go smoothly and efficiently. Its very stressful at times dealing with different customers and trying to help them understand whatever issue they're dealing with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rent-A-Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 4,063 reviews
5719
41.1K
31.2K
2537
1524

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight