Rent-A-Center Employee Reviews

Found 4,104 reviews matching the search See all 4,180 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a very productive work place
Driver (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHJune 14, 2019
There were good days and there were bad days but overall pretty good job love the active Ness and the motivationI also love to helping Customer is the best way I could
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy going place to work
Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Canton, ILJune 14, 2019
The staff is enjoyable to work with and learn from. The busy season is slightly stressful but the coworkers make up for it. Management went out of the way to thank you for good work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have to be able to work with people.
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 13, 2019
Did manager paperwork and then set goals for employees, reviewed everyone work. It was a very easy job but it took a lot of my time and it was a learning experience.
Pros
love the people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 13, 2019
I liked it there but when we had to get mean with customers when they didn't want to pay and go to there home to repo the merchandise that's part I didn't like most times they answer door with gun in hand so it was kinda scary
Pros
Sales
Cons
Repo is dangerous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Escape goat
Credit manager (Former Employee) –  Tupelo, MSJune 13, 2019
The manager at the tupelo location only has a job because we husband a DM. She micro manage and run the store in the ground . She has a high turn over and she is a their and lier
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced
Representative (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, CAJune 12, 2019
a typical day of work consists of phone calls all day and deliveries to different cities such as tehachapi, ridgecrest, california city, ventura, oxnard, sylmar, simi valley; telemarketing, sales in store, and promoting sales and events
Pros
coworkers
Cons
excessive hours, limited pay, poor management of sick/vacation days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive fun staff
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 12, 2019
Steady full time job and lots of customers.easy to succeed.the labor can be difficult sometimes but other than that it's a good place to work at.the staff is fun to work for and not boring.everyday I go into work I seem comfortable working there.my days go by fast I love working with the customers that makes my day move by
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no work life balance What so ever
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Goldsboro, NCJune 11, 2019
Ive learned so much that i didnt know before but thats one job i would never want to ever return they have no work life balance they have overpriced merchandise etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Bilingual Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Kannapolis, NCJune 10, 2019
It can be good if you are put with the right staff. It feels uncomfortable to rent to new people used things such as beds. Also feels like a waste of money for customers. Better to just save up and buy something new than to pay 2 to 3 times more for it in the long haul.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RTO baby
GM/Market Training Manager (Former Employee) –  United StatesJune 10, 2019
There are plenty of opportunities if you can be consistently ruthless. The bonus structure is good as well. Cockroaches are a way of life as well as the most fantastic stories from folks as to why they can't make their payments
Pros
Always will be a need
Cons
Cockroaches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place for friendliness
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXJune 9, 2019
Bad place to work for. Wouldn’t recommend anyone to work here. Treat customers bad. Never motivated. The customers liked me more than the company itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pioneers in the Rent To Own Industry
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Federal Heights, COJune 9, 2019
I will work here again , I loved it , fast paced , friendly competitive. If you know how to talk to people Bi-lingual big plus. Your only as successful as the product you distribute and to the honest people you distribute to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Customer Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAJune 8, 2019
Good work environment. Great co workers and great pay. Tough to balance work and life, long days. Hard intensity work when delivering and slow tedious work when managing accounts and doing paperwork.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been with Acceptance Now side for 5 years
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 7, 2019
The company was great when I first started I know it sounds like Cliche. My 2 years with company were great. I got promoted after 6 months to a Store manager with heated work. Been a sore manager ever since. My company went public n that's when thing went down hill. Major lay off, cut back, even changed our raised for every 6 months to yearly. Now I feel like most knowledgeable people have left n it's hard to get what u need from upper management. You can get OT during summer ppl always call out. Oh and they hate firing ppl. They only fire you if you don't produce results.
Pros
Get a rsise every year, You can negotiate starting pay, Company is always changing, You have meetings a few times a year where u can meet other ppl in your position
Cons
Higher positions such as Store managers wk almost 49hrs a week, Company is always changing (something u took 6 months to learn maybe cut out on th 8 or 9 month, No work life balance due to higher positions many hrs, Training is hard to cone by if you do not bug your peers, Been with the company 5 years And I dont see my self wanting to stay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Account Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 6, 2019
Loved working there but it’s just boring you really don’t get into it that’s why I left and the pay wasn’t all that unless u were one of the managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, INJune 5, 2019
Customers were excellent to be around, actually leaving store to do a run was rewarding, meeting new people everyday, fast paced, great manager, good pay
Pros
Money for lunch, fun place to work
Cons
Pay was good just not enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No family
Account Specialist (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTJune 5, 2019
No life for your family schedule is off job is ok but becomes very overwhelming. The environment can be a good place to work but at times the pressure and lack of knowledge by the higher ups can cause a lot of discomfort
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure, downtalking
Credit Manager Assistant (Current Employee) –  OhioJune 5, 2019
I've been with the company 4 years. I love the line of work your always busy however the pay is a little on the slim side you get a personal evaluation for a raise but they rate you on store performance not individual performance. They raises are like 30 cents at most unless you are promoted. As a credit manager who also helps on every delivery you'd think I'd make a decent amount but nope instead they find ways to pay less like cutting hours so little to no overtime the health insurance is expensive. The monthly bonuses are a joke. They will talk down on you for anything. For example had been hitting even exceeded goals they set and they still found things to come at me for. I once loved my job here I wanted to become store manager but now I feel as though its not worth it. I guess it depends on who your uppers are.
Pros
Steady workflow, active, contest
Cons
Pay, downtalking, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have an opened mind
Retail Store Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 4, 2019
You have to have a opened mind when you work there. You will be delivering or picking up furniture, appliance, electronics and so on. You will see some sad living conditions and bugs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Millington, TNJune 4, 2019
Worst place I've ever worked at, sexual harassment from management, and during the 4-5 months working there, we lost 4 other people trying to fill the management position. I was expected to play all roles in the store,and not get paid for any extra work,told by district to wear more makeup,and flirt with customers to get them to buy/rent things
Pros
None
Cons
Litterally everything about this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rent-A-Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 4,180 reviews
5736
41.1K
31.2K
2554
1544

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight