Residence Inn by Marriott Employee Reviews

Found 555 reviews matching the search See all 600 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCDecember 10, 2018
Residence Inn is a great place to work. Relaxed professional atmosphere. You have an opportunity to develop life-long friendships. It is also a great place for networking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 10, 2018
everyone i worked with there are very negative and start gossip, there's backstabbers just to get above. said we need to help each other but also says we need to rush so no one will get overtime?? i would rate this job 0 satrs if i could.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok hotel to work, but very low pay
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VADecember 10, 2018
I'm a housekeeper here. A couple of the supervisors are rude, and also everyone, including employees, and managers gossip about each other, also very low pay for the job we do, cleaning these big suites. Barely get any hours, bi-weekly pay. I'd recommend working here if you are looking for a place to start, but working at this hotel long-term is not recommended.
Pros
Hotel benefits, and good hotel discounts
Cons
Very little pay, short hours, short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and management, low pay
FRONT DESK ASSOCIATE/NIGHT AUDITOR (Current Employee) –  Surprise, AZDecember 10, 2018
This is a great place to work if you do ot have many bills or expencees to deal with. Great management and staff just low pay. Most daqys are good as long as you can deal with customers without being rude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow.
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCDecember 9, 2018
Job requires a lot of emotional devotion.
Employees are like family.
I went from being a breakfast attendant to operation manager in less that 3 years.
Promotes internally vs. externally.
Highly stressful but sometimes rewarding.
Pros
Tuition Reimbursement
Cons
Healthcare is expensive and doesn't cover much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet alot of new pepole
FRONT DESK AGENT (Former Employee) –  Worthington, OHDecember 9, 2018
Gives you the opportunity to meet new people on a daily basis. Interact with other departments. Learn how to make guest happy and satisfied. Meeting guests from other parts of the world was my favorite
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Breakfast Attendant (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 6, 2018
Can no longer work early morning hours. Easy job but I am currently seeking a job that is going to allow me to be at home with my son in the mornings before school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ping pong table
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Needham, MADecember 5, 2018
Perfect place to work if you like hospitality in small hotel areas. The place is neat and welcoming for everyone at all times. This is the best hotel to say in
Pros
Free gifts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
Energetic, detail-oriented team leader (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 2, 2018
Working for Marriott has be an amazing experience. The staff is great and management is understanding and are great leaders. Very impressed and will recommend the Marriott to another.
Pros
lunch parties, holiday gifts
Cons
loud guests at times in the lobby
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Social Attendant /Breakfast (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 30, 2018
I love working at the hotel. Friendly co workers, managers as well as customers . This is place is very welcoming and I am glad to be part of this team.
I love doing breakfast for this company. we are clean, nice and fast
Pros
Great vibe
Cons
Not eneough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss the discounts
Manager (Former Employee) –  USNovember 28, 2018
I had no personal life/work life balance, but overall a good company to work for. I definitely miss the room discounts for personal travel in the US and abroad.
Pros
room rate discounts
Cons
on call 24 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Houseman/security (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 28, 2018
Learned good guest relations,a type in day at work was pretty much attending to guest. The management was poor,work place up keep was bad. The benefits was good
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Front Desk Associate (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 27, 2018
Poor management alongside the entitlement of the rewards members who stay here, should be enough to convince you to stay away. Feedback from both guests and workers is often ignored by higher management. It is a dying brand, and it's to no surprise.
Cons
Management, No Advancement, Toxic Workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Housekeeper, Maid (Current Employee) –  Altamonte Springs, FLNovember 25, 2018
Great job, best part for me is the friendliness of the staff and interacting daily with the guests. The job is very detailed but once you set a pattern for yourself the job is easy and moves along quickly. The front desk and office staff is amazing and always make me smile. The guests are great as well there are alot of long term guests that are very pleasant and the guests that are visiting for vacation are just as amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive ans good working Environment
House Keeper (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDNovember 23, 2018
A typical day at Residence Inn is somewhat busy. I've learned how to treat how customers with respect even though at times it might get hard. The most enjoyable part of work is making the customers feel welcomed
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Shorts breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
does anything to please guess
House Keeper (Current Employee) –  Fairlawn, OH 44333November 21, 2018
Working at this hotel I realized that the mangers will do anything to please the guess. They in doing so didn't care about their employees. Where rude and sneaky to the employees but that doesn't matter at long as the guess are happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee) –  Concord, NCNovember 19, 2018
● Qualified and Trained for Night Audit Shift
● Well versed on duties of each shift
● Expert on Fosse Operating System
● Accounts Payable
● Account Receivable
● Scheduling
● Knowledgeable in the Training new hires, as well as formally interviewing
● Trained in Ebonus, Guest Voice, Medalia, Deposits
● Cross-Trained in all areas of the hotel
● Employee of the Month Several times
● Nominated for Golden Helmet awards - Cabarrus County
● Trained in Residence Inn Mix
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Temporary Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 14, 2018
On a typical day we started cleaning rooms that were vacant.

Some days I cleaned rooms but also ran laundry.

The management was awesome

Hardest part of the job was disrespectful kids that would trash rooms

Most enjoyable part was the fact it was constant work
Pros
great coworkers and bosses
Cons
hardly no breaks, only get a few minutes when you can
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security
Houskeeper (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHNovember 14, 2018
Corporate Director of Operations is rude and not one who should be in this position. Corporate level is not as involved with the property as they should be to know what is going on.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work, short hours and fun staff.
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 12, 2018
Early in am, starting at 6am and making sure that breakfast items were ready for dinning guests. When breakfast was over, usually by 10:30 time to clean kitchen, grills and pots and pans. Usually have a dishwasher present but sometimes had to prepare dishes for dishwashing machine.
Pros
Free breakfast for my self after guest were finished.
Cons
Not enough hours to support myself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Residence Inn by Marriott. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 600 reviews
5240
4164
3104
237
155

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight