Retail Properties of America, Inc Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average company
Information Technology Director (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILJuly 17, 2018
It was a good environment to work out.
Job Security is a problem
They wanted to outsource IT
I learned a great deal about Project Management
The culture is hard to grasp
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
No good direction looking to outsource IT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very horrible culture
Senior Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 11, 2018
Not a fun place to work, very poorly managed and senior level managers are cut throat.No support from anyone in management team. Also overload of documentation and paperwork,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Insurance Assistant/Business Management (Current Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILMay 14, 2018
Retail Properties of America has fun and approachable executives. They provide a very easy platform to discuss concerns and suggestions. The company has a very family oriented atmosphere.
Pros
Summer Fridays
Cons
Getting a transfer to different location isn't easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
modern, innovative commercial real estate company
Marketing Director (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILMarch 12, 2018
Good culture; modern offices, excellent leadership in place.
Very conveniently located in Oak Brook area.
Enjoyed the travel dimension to my position.
Did not care for the open office environment personally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Accounts Payable Manager (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILDecember 17, 2017
I enjoyed working for RPAI. The workspace is very open and not too much privacy. People are pleasant to work with. Most managers are totally approachable.
Pros
Salary and benefits
Cons
Downsizing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressing Forward during Challenging Times
Collections Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILApril 10, 2017
RPAI manages shopping centers across the United States. As a collection analyst, I not only collected past due balances but also worked on resolving tenant disputes over amounts charged. The work was challenging but rewarding as we worked to improve relationships with tenants.
Pros
Rewarding to resolve issues
Cons
Challenging to work with struggling tenants
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for
Corporate Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILFebruary 12, 2016
I would have loved to have stayed there longer. The people that I worked for were really nice, the environment and atmosphere was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy company to work in but the culture is all about the upper management, not keeping and rewarding the worker bees
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILOctober 20, 2015
The best part of the position was working with my team mates and interfacing with all departments in the company headquarters. There was considerable variety in my daily functions, from assisting in filing tax returns and organizing the process to track various submissions to scanning and monitoring the database for accuracy.
Pros
The staff is a wonderful mix to work with
Cons
The open nature of the company has changed for the worse. Too bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work-life balance.....Poor Management.
Property Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oakbrook, ILJuly 16, 2015
The benefits and work-life balance is amazing. Management does not operate on an open door policy, and does not reach out to employees. RPAI talks great culture, but does not practice it. The job was not hard, but co-workers and management the position very discouraging.
Pros
Benefits/Work-life balance
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company with strong management
Senior Accountant (Current Employee) –  Oakbrook, ILDecember 14, 2014
Formerly known as Inland Western. I had the opportunity to work on a wide range of areas ranging from technical accounting to property accounting. Deadlines can be demanding since company became publicly traded in 2014. Management has a clear direction for the company and the company itself has been doing much better since 2009.
Pros
Management
Cons
Tight deadlines, work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed feelings, watch your back
Leasing Manager (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILApril 22, 2014
There are some redeeming attributes of this organization, but it certainly ain't all roses. I really enjoyed my job and I could never complain about the pay or benefits, but this company has an infected culture. Cronyism, fascism, top-down rigidity, hypocrisy and fear-based rule will be experienced by every RPAI employee, especially in the field offices. I witnessed numerous valuable people jump ship or get fired while many of the ones that remain leave you completely scratching your head. Don't think for a single moment that your job security will be based on productivity or tangible results. Your experience will only be as good as your manager/superior. I know there are some good ones in the organization, but there are certainly others with great ineptitudes who'll lie to your face and throw you under the bus to save their own necks at the drop of a hat.
Pros
Industry name, pay & benefits
Cons
People management, corporate culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negitive Workplace
Leasing Manager (Current Employee) –  Oak Brook, IL, TX, MD, CA,NCJune 27, 2013
Information upon request.
Manage retail shopping centers
Pros
Upon Request
Cons
Upon Request
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced work place
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILMay 20, 2012
Its a good place to work if you want to learn about the world of Real Estate Investment Trusts.
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
compensation isnt worth the drive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Retail Properties of America, Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 14 reviews
51
46
36
21
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Retail Properties of America, Inc Reviews by Location