Richmond Redevelopment and Housing Authority Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 23, 2019
I've been working here for 21 years and plan on retiring from here, learned a lot. I've learned great customer service skills. I enjoy working here because we are like family and team players
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pest Control Tech
Maintenance Specialist/Pest Control (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VASeptember 20, 2018
Nothing positive about this organization. All they care about is money from the government. Sad but True. Good hours that is it. Monday through Friday
Pros
Hours
Cons
Management, Pay, Nothing Positve to say unfortunately
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over-worked and Under-paid
Housing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 9, 2018
Really hard to deal with the people working there. Everyone is so petty and out to make themselves look good. They claim to be a team, but throw each other under the bus every chance they get.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization with a Great Mission
Staff (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 21, 2018
The organization's mission is to provide safe and affordable housing opportunities to low income individuals. This mission is enhanced by the addition of workforce development activities such as: job search assistance, career counseling, and education and training opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting place for people to learn building maintenance.
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 30, 2017
Good starting place for people to learn building maintenance skills.
Some of the best staff I have ever worked with and they care about each other like family.
Pros
Good retirement
Cons
Stressfull
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better Management
Senior Office Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 29, 2017
The Company has a lot of potential but is managed very aggressive and with lack of care or concern for the staff. The diverse group of residents and interactions made the job enjoyable.
Pros
Personal connections with Residents
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, yet very rewarding
Assistant Housing Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 27, 2017
If you enjoy servicing the public and learning and growing in the Public Housing field Richmond Redevelopment and Housing Authority is a great place to be.
Pros
Upper Management
Cons
Work never slows down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Are NOT concern with the well being of their employees
Senior Office Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 14, 2017
Upper management is not concerned with what is going on in the management office on a daily basis. Moral is low. Working hard for a little to no compensation.
Pros
Love my management and maintenance team
Cons
Not safe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and Underpaid
Housing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 13, 2017
Management is horrible when it comes to showing their employees appreciation for all the hard work that is done. More and more responsibilities are added to the position with no increase in pay. Company morale is at an all time low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service friendly
Program Eligibility Technician (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 14, 2017
When I worked at Richmond Redevelopment I found it to be satisfying because I felt like I was connecting with the customers. I always gave respect and it was returned. A typical day for me just having all my paper work organize for my appointments with my clients. The work culture was steady and busy at times due to dealing with the public and I did not find the job to be hard. What I learned in this particular work environment and culture was you have to be focused and have a good attitude no matte what.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay stepping stone
Leasing Senior Office Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 18, 2017
Training and management could be better. I really have learned a lot by working here. I don't want to put to much into this and really don't like the fact that I was not asked to participate in this review but forced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a safe place to work
Administrative Support/ Leasing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 13, 2017
Not a safe place to work in or outside, Co worker very unprofessional and lazy. About 80% do their job and the other 20% have to work their behind off. Unfair worker getting paid for work that they are not doing.
Pros
Insurance
Cons
Not a safe place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and hard work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 2, 2017
Providing exceptional customer service is a must.
Dealing with difficult people.
Assisting people in locating housing is rewarding.
The hardest part of the job is being micro managed.
The most enjoyable part of the job is feeling like I made a difference in someone's life.
Pros
Working with a dedicated team
Cons
No advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 22, 2016
Too many egos and not enough leadership. Property managers are very disrespectful towards residents. Executive "leadership" is a joke. Rampant favoritism and absolutely no checks and balances whatsoever, despicable working environment!!!!
Pros
None
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Senior Office Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 16, 2015
Productive Environment. Great Benefits and Job Security
The employee and management relation and ratio hae a good balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Director of Strategic Planning (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 13, 2015
Great opportunity to work for a great executive management team. They were focused, hard working and driven. We made change for the resident in public housing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would like to become a manager, no growth
Assistant Housing Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 21, 2015
My typical day is started with residents coming in to the office
to talk about any issues they have, I also have leasing
to do, I work in a complex that has 781 units in it.
I do the legal part- pay or quits, unlawful detainers,
charge offs, 21-30 day notices, send out 72 hours
letters for criminal activities. work with maintenance
on any problems they have.
My co- workers are nice, we all work together to keep
everything up to date. The hardest part of the job
is the eviction part of the job. The most enjoyable part
is making sure our residents are happy.
Pros
working with co-workers who know how to get the job done
Cons
not having enough time to get all the dead lines done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience!
Senior Office Support, Executive Office (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 7, 2015
Great work experience! I am able to tackle and resolve complex situations on a daily basis and assist with meeting the needs of residents in the City of Richmond.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Director of Information Technology (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 31, 2015
If you want help people than this is the place to be no matter what your career filed is. The hardest part of the job is dealing with people who abuse the the system when there are others that can use the benefits.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
not being able to help all people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am proud to work with RRHA
Senior A/R Accounting (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 25, 2012
Excellent work environment,good benefits, nice people.I work here more then 10 years
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
too far from my home
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Richmond Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 21 reviews
55
42
37
25
12

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.8Culture

Richmond Redevelopment and Housing Authority Reviews by Location