Rite Aid Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 8,563 reviews
Ratings breakdown
52.3K
42.5K
32.2K
2775
1653
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 8,546 reviews matching the search See all 8,563 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In my opinion Rite Aid was the best job I had, fast paced and fun.
Trainer/Picker (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, MDAugust 17, 2018
I really enjoyed my job at Rite Aid, I like working in a face pace environment. I was also a trainer and everyone I trained was hired on permanently. I made a mistake and engaged in a work place argument with a co-worker and was terminated.
Pros
Good pay, good benefits, advancement potentials.
Cons
very hot in the summer, and very strict work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company was purchased by Walgreens
Pharmacist/Pharmacy Manager (Former Employee) –  TennesseeAugust 17, 2018
The company was purchased by Walgreens in our regions. So I do not care to comment. I do not have a comment, therefore I will refrain from commenting.
Pros
Flexible Scheduling
Cons
Short of staff help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to start off with until you learn more
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VA 23464August 17, 2018
Ok to start with but pay is very poor for the amount of work and responsibility. I did learn a lot from them and the computer system is very easy to use.
Pros
nice computers system and my PIC was very flexible
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Media, PAAugust 17, 2018
There is room to grow if you have what they want. To be management you have to be at the store ar 5 am open at 6 am and be able to close at 12 midnight also you have to have a car.
Pros
Room to move up
Cons
Robbed you of holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay was very well but was a union job
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Rock Branch, WVAugust 16, 2018
Was a good decent job with good pay and benefits. Sadly, the warehouse closed and relocated and left many without a job. I had 20 years in with the company and intended to stay many more.
Pros
good pay, benefits
Cons
long days, work was very hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I didn't move
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 16, 2018
While I hated the unruly customers and thiefs, I loved working here. I already knew most of the employees and managers before I worked there, and it a blast getting close to them.
Pros
Plenty of overtime, Fun team
Cons
Customers, understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 16, 2018
its was a really lovely place to work i recomended to other people people were so nice i learne so much things to do that help me so much to improve my skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dreadful
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Fairless Hills, PAAugust 16, 2018
Hours were horrible it was mandatory overtime but you didn't know how many hours of over time until after lunch or later so if u have kids in school or daycare and noone to take care of them afterwards this isn't the job for you. Time off is a hassle so doctor appointments are a hard to get off for. Only a wawa near by and mom and pop store so you better take a lunch. No public transportation access. Very hot during the summer only industrial fans that blow dust. Pro The totes you have to carry around the belt are heavy when they are full so the weight comes off with ease
Pros
Walking, heavy totes, weight loss
Cons
The totes are heavy, its fast past, its hot during summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Pharmacy Technician/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Durango, COAugust 16, 2018
Its an ok job for awhile if youre trying to look for a job right after highschool.
i worked there for about 3 years, environment was great. management not so much
Pros
13 pay start
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Clerk intern at Rite Aid
Store Clerk/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 16, 2018
My job training program landed me an internship at Rite Aid where I completed a paid 110 hours. My overall experience with Rite Aid is that I wouldn't mind working there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty slow work place, gets boring at times
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, VAAugust 16, 2018
The pros are that you do get to have their reward points card to get discounts on their store brand items, but that's pretty much it and the cons are you don't have that much time for a lunch break.
Pros
Discounts on all store brand items
Cons
Slow paced hours, not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn’t really enjoy it.
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Minersville, PAAugust 16, 2018
Working in the Pharmacy was not really my favorite thing to do. I didn’t really enjoy that work field but i did enjoy working the cash register. It was just too much with all the people and all the medication.
Pros
Helpful coworkers, Long breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work LP
Asset Protection Agent (Former Employee) –  Ojai, CAAugust 16, 2018
Terrible non existent APDM. 0 communication. 0 backing from the APDM. 0 store level backing. Being paid the most in the district definitely didn’t hurt.
Pros
Answer to NO ONE!
Cons
Communication, job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical busy pharmacy
Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee) –  Oregon, OHAugust 15, 2018
Excellent pharmacists
Good patients
Lots of learning on the job
Good culture, everyone is respectful and hardworking
Support from coworkers, willingness to teach
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, fast pace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Port Orchard, WAAugust 15, 2018
Great company to work for. They really know how to valence work and home life, pretty much everything you could ask for in an employer. Great company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for long term work
Server (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 15, 2018
This company promotes value and ethics for customers but not so much for employees. Hard working people are not rewarded properly and not compensated enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no longer in business
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVAugust 15, 2018
This company is no longer in business. Bought by Walgreen's. I did enjoy by time there and learned many important jobs and skills and how to work as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Claxton, GAAugust 15, 2018
It was a great job and I would go back to work there if I could. I enjoyed the people I worked with and the customers that came in were great. Its a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers. Terrible upper management.
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Caro, MIAugust 15, 2018
Great place to train as a pharmacy technician. The phamacists are awesome to work with. No matter what upper management says to your face, they really don't care about the little guy. It doesn't matter how fast you are or how much you know and can do. Still going to make less than the Dairy Queen workers down the road. I love my job and the people I work with. I love seeing upset customers relax and become calm because of how I'm responding to their issues. I would never leave but my pay rate is not sustainable.
Pros
Flexible schedule, great training
Cons
Short breaks, terrible pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDAugust 15, 2018
mostly, my coworkers are cooperative. as long as we perform our responsibility there is no stress or argument with employer or managers.Even though, the story i used to work at big and has a lot of customers, we handle very well.
Pros
break
Cons
no much benefit for employee to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rite Aid. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Diversity score

59out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Rite Aid.

Powered by Comparably