Rivers Casino and Resort Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 16 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54
44
34
22
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 16 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs help
Fountain Attendant (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMay 30, 2018
Rivers casino and resort needs better management. Also the company should actually take heed to what problems are inside the facility. Fill their staff with the right people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but employers were not so great
EVS Attendant (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYApril 30, 2018
i had a lot of fun workimg here and i loved my job. but things went downhill due to new hires and them ridding all older employees for new ones. point system was not fair and they had a no sick policy which if u were really sick or hurt you still got points.
Pros
metting all kinds of people. decent pay
Cons
point system, no free luches, not alot of room to grow, tough on employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best part of working at Rivers was the atmosphere
Marketing Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NY 12305April 17, 2018
The people I worked with was the best part of working at Rivers. Everyone was kind and helpful. The atmosphere was also fun with a lot of energy. The toughest part was dealing with upset customers, who could be very difficult at times. Luckily working with a great team helped balance that out.
Pros
Coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
financial (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMarch 26, 2018
Like any other place, it has its good points and its bad points. Upper management seems to be on a revolving door. Lunches are cheap but the point system can be brutal
Pros
cheap lunches, benefits after 60 days
Cons
point system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for.
Count room (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMarch 13, 2018
rivers is a great company to work with never had any problems working for the company. would recommend this company to others. they have good pay and they have good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
EVS Attendant (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMarch 10, 2018
Loved working there, friendly environment and super friendly people, Place is very easy to work in, very easy to maneuver in, a lot of interaction with guests and employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMarch 6, 2018
Since Rivers was a brand new casino in the Capital Region there are alot of hiccups. Hence the high turn over rate with employees and upper management. The policies and procedures are not followed through. Management are not really skilled in their departments and it trickles down which forces employees to become disgruntled. The necessary department such as H.R. does not seem to care. I would not recommend for work.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Management, lack of growth, and lack of really caring about the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJanuary 24, 2018
Rivers Casino and Resort is a fun place to work. The team members are fun to work with. The benefit package is comparable to other industries. They offer fun events for team members to create friendships and also to work with the public and to help charitable organizations. They have discounted lunches in the team dining room and the food is of great variety and tastes good. We can also get discounted hotel rates for family and friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of commentment
Table Game Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJanuary 13, 2018
The CEO had lack of commitment to the company they left in less than a year or were fired. They did not seem to encourage the employees their rather than point fingers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Wardrobe Attendant (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYSeptember 5, 2017
very stressful environment as well as a high turnover of employees. they are very strict on attendance. the management doesn't care much about your outside life. also corporate has no idea what goes on and plans poorly because of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun place to work
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYAugust 4, 2017
Very fun place to work but not much time outside of work. Great Cafeteria and Benefits.
Great people to work with. Could be more accommodating to employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An acquired taste
N/A (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJuly 20, 2017
According to employees from the sister companies, "Rivers Casino is (was) the best place to work for," at some point in 09'. I am unsure of what changed the culture from then until now (maybe because they've capitalized). To sum it up, not all leaders/HR personal or casino hosts are approachable, %50 of the employed do enough to get by, and try to call the Team Member Ethics Hotline to report unethical behavior; it falls on deaf ears. The burnout that comes alongside simply maintaining employment under this establishment is unethical itself.

#NeverWinningWhenWorkingForRivers
Pros
Receiving a paycheck
Cons
Getting recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work within marketing department
Marketing Ambassador/ Players Club Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJune 7, 2017
Great team work. Fun atmosphere. Enjoy going to work everyday, co workers are smiling management is a pleasure to work with and the casino is beautiful. I take pride when I say I work at Rivers Casino and Resort.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Beverage Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYApril 21, 2017
Rivers Casino is a wonderful place to work. The hardest part of my job is that I have no peronsal life due to the fact that I have been scheduled to work graveyard shift. I feel that I have helped develop a wonderful work culture and that I have learned more than I could have ever imagined opening up such a new beautiful casino.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Food and Beverage Fountain Attendant Start up crew (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYApril 11, 2017
Rivers Casino is terrible place to work. If you have a family I wouldn't suggest apply because they could care less about your family, they come first in their eyes. They promise you a whole bunch of things that they don't hold true to at all. There is absolutely no room for growth in this company, they say they do internal hiring over outside hiring which is a bold face LIE. Absolutely not worth the stress or headache.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
Only one 30 mins break, poor managment, no room for growth in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rivers Casino and Resort. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Rivers Casino and Resort Reviews by Location