Ropes & Gray LLP Employee Reviews

Found 72 reviews matching the search See all 74 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and challenging work with smart colleagues
8ðNover 275 partners, Senior Pricing Analyst (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 9, 2018
Wonderful experience! Transparent management, collaborative employees, great location, beautiful offices, wonderful cafeteria, and good work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Meat Grinder of An Atmosphere.
TECHNICAL LIBRARY SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 9, 2018
There are people who've thrived at Ropes & Gray. I didn't, in equal parts due to a demanding atmosphere and manager. Support staff salaries are below-market, especially so in a place such as New York City.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment to really learn
Litigation Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 23, 2018
What I learned working as a litigation service specialist was the hardest part of the job is going to be the most enjoyable part of the job because that's when the learning happens. My training supervisor was more than willing to explain the instructions for my projects to me while also managing to complete her own responsibilities on time. I appreciated every minute of working at Ropes and Gray Service Center.
Pros
Work Environment was always clean, and the staff is always willing to help you understand the projects you will be working on
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic place, works you hard with no incentive or room for advancement
Senior Patent Paralegal (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2018
A typical day here was hectic. Too much focus is put on best practices and procedures and not enough emphasis on growth and career advancement. You have to be in with the cool kids to get a promotion otherwise you spend years working here and it goes unappreciated.
Pros
vacation time, compensation, work from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy
Legal Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 23, 2018
The office was micromanaged and benefits were just ok. I did not enjoy my working experience there at all. Staff was great but most of the attorneys were unapproachable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Stafff Helpful
Facilities Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 16, 2018
Over all Ropes is a good company to work for. The staff help each other. The attorneys are patience which makes the culture friendly. The hardest part of the job is dealing with someone who has had a bad day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place. Good Team
Facilities Co-op (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 9, 2018
The facility department at Ropes is a close-knit group that acts more like family than anything. Management is supportive and always willing to take time to teach you something you may have a question about or find ways for you to explore other areas of interest while working with them. Very excellent company overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total Waste of Years of my Life
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 7, 2018
This place is by and large the absolute worst place I’ve ever worked. Management is terrible. Advancement is based on favoritism by management and not on merit or work ethic. Speaking of work ethic, it’s not valued in any way by the management, and is actually a detriment if you want to continue a job here. If working yourself to the bone only for someone else to take credit for your hard work and be berated by management for working too many hours and getting them in trouble with HR sounds like fun to you, by all means apply. I can’t express just how awfully things have gone since I began my career here. I keep being told that I’m valued and that my role is important only to be screwed by management time and time again. If you’re offered a job here, run fast and far. You’d be more respected in the fast food industry.
Pros
None
Cons
No OT, unreasonable expectations, no respect, bad management, favoritism, no advancement, shoddy benefits, below market staff compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team players
correspondence to/from foreign associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 6, 2018
Great learning experience during floater rotation. Team playing friendly staff. Opportunity for over-time was always available. Taxi vouchers home when working late and free cafeteria.
Pros
Free Cafeteria
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place literally makes me contemplate suicide
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 21, 2018
I thought I understood stress, and then I got a job here. I had NO idea what being stressed was like before I started working here. My single greatest regret in life is taking this job. The management is abysmal, and only those who play the brownnosing game will actually get promoted. If you have any kind of integrity, you won't last here.
Pros
none
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ropes & Gray was not the best place to work
Patent Secretary (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 13, 2018
I was hired as a patent secretary at Ropes & Gray; after 3 years the company reorganized and created service centers of secretaries to work in a pool. After a year of the service center approach, Ropes & Gray systematically fired all the experienced secretaries, stating they were "not working out".
Pros
Great chef in cafe
Cons
The company fired over 30 secretaries stating "not working out" after their reorganization, instead of laying them off
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
LEGAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 8, 2018
Fast paced, stressful environment. For the right person it's a great place to work. Can be impersonal but, rewarding. Work is often very tedious and long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 18, 2018
Amazing management and great experience. Not necessarily your last job, but it will be your most beneficial job. Anyone who has a chance and is ready for high paced legal work should try to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Corporate Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 5, 2017
Long hours of supporting attorneys on multi-million dollar deals and assisting to many client demands and needs while maintaining good billable hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ropes & Gray Review
Telecommunications Administrator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 14, 2017
Nice company to work for. Law firm that supports internally. The environment was relaxed and people were nice. The attorneys could be demanding but it was simply what they needed to function.
Pros
Location, Pay, Benefits, Work environment
Cons
Not many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Law Firm
Billing Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 13, 2017
Although the Firm boasts of its culture it's no different than any other big law firm, long hours, too many layers of management etc. Also, the salary is way lower than most big law firms.
Pros
flexible as to work hours
Cons
very reactionary management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding job opportunity.
SENIOR LEGAL & COMPLIANCE CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 12, 2017
Very demanding, competitive and stressful but very professional work environment. Manager is excellent, but compensation is low given the nature and quality of the work I do.
Pros
Excellent manager.
Cons
Minimal payment for level of work I do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Paralegal (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 25, 2017
Great Company, and very great people to work with. It has been a pleasure. Everyone is friendly and very respectful. I would recommend the company to people I know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learned alot working for Ropes & Gray
Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 13, 2017
On a typical day I am communicating with lawyers, associates and paralegals. The work culture is an easy going pace on a daily basis. If my fellow workers need anything I am there to make sure they get whatever they need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard global law firm
Second Level Desktop Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 30, 2017
Mid-town Manhattan based standard global law firm Information Technology culture, compensation and work pace. Overtime available for annual desktop related projects.
Pros
Mid-Town Manhattan culture
Cons
Mid-Town Manhattan culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ropes & Gray LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 74 reviews
526
419
315
28
16

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

3.5Fairygodboss Score

83%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss