Royal Farms Employee Reviews

Found 672 reviews matching the search See all 675 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Clarksboro, NJApril 22, 2019
Manager clocks you out for times you already worked, promised raise months ago and never recived it, almost never get the days you asked off for. Manager is unprofessional and talkes about employees is a disrespectful manner
Pros
I like my co workers
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There not all that
Assistant store leader (Current Employee) –  Southern DelawareApril 21, 2019
Be prepared for call out and no shows . The upper management operates like the good ole boy system . Unless your friends with the district leader don’t expect to get promoted .
They have a fair training program however it’s not consistent through the company .
Pros
No Ot allowed
Cons
Always understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible to work there
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 16, 2019
Royal farms is an awful place to work at if you need to call out for an emergency they want you to drop everything to have someone cover your shift , management is awful the let rude and racist customers bully their employees and then write up the indecent as if the employee was wrong , they also expect the cashiers to clean up the store and assist the customers with no help and if you don’t then you have to stay longer it’s crazy
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Royal farms sucks
Cashier/Deli (Current Employee) –  Elkton, MDApril 16, 2019
They care about making money, not their employees. Nobody ever does their job. Managers show up late. Everyone calls out 5 minutes before their shift or just doesnt show up and never gets fired. They keep 2 employees on shift at a time to save money when you need at least 3 every day. Royal farms is trash.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAApril 8, 2019
It was an okay job , it wasn’t a lot to do unless it got busy . Customers were okay and some of the staff were good people . Hours were decent but not the best .
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Customer Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 7, 2019
royal farms is a good place to work at. great and flexible hours and friendly staff . i would recommend it to anyone who is looking into royal farms..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful with weak management.
Customer Service Leader (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, MDMarch 30, 2019
I would recommend for someone who needs a job, but not a career. Advancement is too hard to come by. Management plays favorites and most of them are not suitable for the job.
Pros
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard cramped work space with little to no help
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, DEMarch 22, 2019
It was a very hard company to work for Especially during busy nights with no help I often had to run to bread chicken while orders piled up and I had no one to help me
Pros
Half of food
Cons
Customers will yell at you and you get almost no help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Manager (Former Employee) –  North East, MDMarch 14, 2019
Poor management, resulting in employee failure. No organization or proper cleaning of fridge areas. Benefits were okay, you got most items 50% off and you got earned sick time based on how many hours you worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Rosedale, MDMarch 14, 2019
I had to cook food and clean the fryer. But most of the time I was a cashier taking all the customers orders . I even had to stock items in the store like candy and chips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours are low
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Halethorpe, MDMarch 14, 2019
My managers & co-workers are wonderful, just wish they would give full 40 hours. I would recommend finding a better job or a 2nd job to compensate what is missing.
Pros
Free sodas, employee discount, my managers & co-workers are all great ppl
Cons
Not a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lose the No Rehire Policy!!!!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rehoboth Beach, DEMarch 11, 2019
How many employees have you hired since you've been in existence have covered every shift because of a call out ; or employee no show dedicatedly for 3 whole days with no sleep what so ever? None!! I'm the only one that I know of that has ever done this! I worked at the Rehoboth Avenue location in Rehoboth Beach; Delaware, and have applied to the Dover; Delaware locations since residing in Dover; and I can't be REHIRED???. I was dedicated; loyal as well as customer oriented!!! For what you pay your employees; you ought to be glad that some one wants to work for you!!!
Pros
Great food; pleasant staff
Cons
Corporate sucks!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
cashier • Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 28, 2019
it was an okay quick fix job following a last minute move and the holidays were coming and a new baby in the family. it fit right with a flexible schedule and close to home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 25, 2019
What I learned at this job was how to work on my mouth an my anger. When I stared working there the manager I had was nice an cool the manager I had before I had got fired was disrespectful an rude. The most enjoyable part was when I seen my customers my regulars that was the best part of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic
Manager (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 25, 2019
Royal Farms does a really good job of making sure there is only one person filling multiple roles within the company. There is lack of support and a regular "beat down" mentality from upper management, with unfair pay and expectations for the workload. Employees in positions they don't belong in or have the background for just because they know someone, who are brought in the door at insulting salaries compared to tenured employees and competitors. This company cares little for their employees, so for anyone who may have been considering this company, you should run as fast as you can in the opposite direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and rude employees
Costumer Service (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, MDFebruary 23, 2019
Rotal farms is a nice job until i was the one doing all the work. My boss and manager did not know how to do things correctly. Not many employees would show up on there shift
Pros
The costumers
Cons
No breaks at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse than high school.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Middletown, DEFebruary 20, 2019
I was an assistant manager when i left. I left because i no longer felt valued as an employee. I worked for the company for 5 years. Management changes over way too much. Once you get used to one managers routine and expectations, they either quit, get promoted, or transfer. Poor management training. There needs to be a whole course on how to treat and talk to your employees. Every company has favoritism, but its worse when you DL is partial to one store leader and their opinions of you. I reached a point where i could no longer advance and i could no longer get raises. I was making less than a new hire in my area for the same job when i had more experience. Benefits suck. I went out on FMLA because i was pregnant. I payed into short term disability and never recieved payment for it. I did not receive my Christmas bonus and did not receive my quartly bonus because i was out on FMLA for half of the quarter. I was driving 50 miles one way to my store. I was told i could not transfer until after i had my child. When i came back from leave i was no longer recieving the hours i worked before going out. I was told i would have to give up my position to move to a store closer to home. When i initially went to that store ( i worked in 5 stores in 5 years... not counting the ones i helped at) i was told it was temporary and i would return to the store i was at. 2 weeks later my position was filled and i was told i could not go back. I worked like a slave for this company. Even theough my entire pregnancy. I went in when there were call outs, i worked long shifts, and i always kept morale  more... up. Managers make excuses as to why the store is in a certain condition and the assistant always catches the blame. My reputation was ruined at my last store by 3 different managers. I felt as though when the 2nd manager left that i was deserving of the store but that wasnt the case. Another person got promoted (someone who had been with the company less time than i have) the store was run into the gound. But i would not recommend working here. If youre looking for a job where you feel appreciated and needed, this isn't the job for you. I loved my job at one point but i was done dirty once i got pregnant.  less
Pros
Easy to get a job there
Cons
Always changing, poor training, no overtime compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with other co-workers
Cook/Janitor/stocking (Former Employee) –  York, PA 17404February 10, 2019
It was nice working there with friends and co-workers we got the job done we were balanced and had a team flow operating. Sometimes it was not because I was usually the only one there within the morning and it got busy with orders and I had a lot on my plate to over come but I got it done without complaining I just had to stay focused and make sure my timing was perfect for my job I was doing
Pros
Cheaper gas by .10 cents, worked alot because co-workers called off
Cons
little to no breaks, Management did not schedule as many people were needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has a large tendancey to make up reports dispite customer feed back saying otherwise
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, MDFebruary 7, 2019
Worked there for about a year under two managers the first one was great nice friendly cut to the chase the replacement expected the labor of six for a large store with two who required a lengthily list of required by crop along with many unlisted for the fallowing staff despite how ever busy it may be. you can bother telling them about broken equipment they simply report that you didn't want to make it instead even if you tell them for over a month and give you three writeup's for the exact same thing despite various maintained calls and written reports that you had said the equipment was malfunctioning if you plan on working there try to keep it under three months at best a year isn't worth your sweat or tears if they wont respect you or the opinions of the customers who keep giving great feedback about your attitude
Pros
few good coworkers, free drinks
Cons
expect bad management from most, expect alot of false wrightups
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Facilities Technician (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDFebruary 5, 2019
So first, I'm not going to rag on management because it all depends on the person. The original manager was beyind excellent, the one who took over is was drove me to leave due to rude attitude and need to micromanage and talk down to those below her. The second thing was the lack of advancement opportunities, and terrible hours. It's fine if you are in school but not if you're trying to make a living and looking for a job with benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Farms. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 675 reviews
5126
4199
3194
289
167

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture