Ruby Tuesday Employee Reviews for Host/Hostess

Found 340 reviews matching the search See all 4,419 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my worst jobs
To go host (Former Employee) –  Moanalua Gardens, HIJuly 18, 2019
while I was trained at Ruby's the trainers wasn't teaching me much basically was doing the work them self's and I wasn't feeling like I was getting the information I needed. Learned working there it's all favoritism and I wasn't going to get the hours I needed I was not put on schedule and management was very mean and unprofessional. I would not work here at moanaloa Hawaii location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a lovely place to work, I love the time I have there, but I don’t get paid enough.
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVJuly 6, 2019
Every time I come in to work, I am always welcomed with a warm smile. The workers are amazing to work with and the whole environment of the place is relatively relaxed. I just don’t get paid enough to pay all my bills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place to work
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLJuly 5, 2019
Ruby Tuesdays is a very large chain with many opportunities to advance within the restaurant. Typically a busy place with a good overall attitude. I reccomend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experiance Depends on Location
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Foley, ALJune 26, 2019
I was lucky that I worked at the Foley location. I had excellent managers who cared about their employees. That being said, it is very stressful, the customers are rude, and you get paid next to nothing because in my locale, nobody tips.
Pros
Relaxed
Cons
no breaks, no cut time, stressful environment, bad/no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDJune 26, 2019
Worked there for a few months. Hostile work environment. Awful management and leadership. No way to live off of a hostess wage as a single mother....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced environement
Host (Current Employee) –  Wilson, NCJune 21, 2019
If your are looking to make $100 a day or per shift this is not the place to apply for as a server. The restaurant itself has been going downhill with the constant changes in the menu and customer complaints because of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviornment
Host (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNJune 20, 2019
As my first job my mangers were very encouraging and helped inspire me to want to continue in a career in the restaurant industry. The team work was encouraging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restaurant
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAJune 19, 2019
If you are an individual that enjoys working in the food industry this is the job for you. If you like an upbeat and relaxed atomsphere this is the job for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fast
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL 32256June 17, 2019
Management was stressful a lot, but overall it was ok. Watch out for the other servers. I don't know who works there now, but at the time they would start and spread real nasty rumors. So, trust no one and keep to yourself for your sanity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need better values for employees.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  North Platte, NEJune 6, 2019
They only pay minimum wage the week of trainning then all wages for all positions are covered by tips that the servers must hand in to be distributed out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last Option
HOSTESS (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALJune 2, 2019
Very petty and stressful environment. Basically do all jobs but cooking and managing and get paid for just yours. Greet customers and seat them, sometimes take orders and run food, bus tables and clean bathrooms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Host (Former Employee) –  Prince Frederick, MDMay 31, 2019
This was a great place to work. The management was good and the customers loved the salad bar. My typical day was greeting customers and making sure they were happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ruby Tuesday
Host (Former Employee) –  Hamburg, NYMay 25, 2019
Worked with employees as a team, dealt with customers, answered their questions, fast paced environment. Management was always there to help. I learned a lot in customer service.
Pros
flexible scheduling and able to pick up extra shifts
Cons
constantly on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMay 20, 2019
I loved working here. My coworkers and managers were very welcoming. Training was very informative and helpful. The food is great. Also the employee discount was very helpful.
Pros
50% discounts on meals, Great Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No way to advance
Host (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FL 32605May 15, 2019
I was hired as a server and passed all my tests, but because of a mixup with my social security number, I had to retake all my tests. I was stuck as a host till I could retake the tests and even then I was at the host station for 4 months after taking my tests. When I had to move, I was treated like I was wrong for moving and leaving.
Pros
Discounted meals
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy job
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake, HIApril 24, 2019
•Only good for part time
•Tip out was ok by servers
•Managers fun depends who
•Local workers I know
•Staying at work before cut
•Working with classmates
Pros
Free food
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Lavale, MDApril 11, 2019
I only worked here for about 2 months and then they stopped working me & putting me on schedule. Some of the managers were very nice but others were very rude & didn’t work with your schedule.
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun atmosphere
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 2, 2019
I loved my time working as a Server's Assistant at Ruby Tuesday because I developed skills of professionalism, customer service and clerical tasks. People who worked here were mostly very friendly and the managers are the best!
Pros
Discounted lunches, scheduling flexible
Cons
Don't always get a break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Warner Robins, GAMarch 5, 2019
People enjoy the staff as well as the food. We have little to minimum complaints. I do love the job but I’ve obtained more bills and I need more money
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
Pushes you to tge fullest for little wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Rockledge, FLFebruary 25, 2019
i have to say that i did make a lot of friends while i worked at ruby tuesdays and that i loved that the manager let me explore other jobs so that i can gain more experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ruby Tuesday. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 4,419 reviews
51.2K
41.3K
31.2K
2387
1321

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Ruby Tuesday.

Powered by Comparably