rue21 Employee Reviews

Found 1,872 reviews matching the search See all 1,878 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really stressful
Rue 21 (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMAugust 20, 2018
Their employees do not have any rights of anything and it's hard to get hold of HR they never answer nor reply. They go around and beat around the bush lies after lies.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything negative about it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great fun work place where you have lots to learn from working in retail.
Rue 21, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GAAugust 20, 2018
I always greeted every customer coming inside. Helped put out new trends amd changed wall fixtures and manniquines. Made sure all customers were helped very well. Always made sure they found what they came in for!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, INAugust 19, 2018
When I worked I was under the age of 18. It was a seasonal position. It was my first job. When they figured out I was new and nervous to the P.O.S. system, they decided I would be better front-facing the store and I never got to prove myself on the P.O.S. system again. Management was a joke.There was one solid manager that wanted to see all her coworkers succeed. The others didn't care and if something came up where you had to call off a day, they would label it as a no call/ no show. Would I go back for minimum wage? For sure no.
Pros
20% discount
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it’s a fun place to work but sometimes the employees are not very productive and nice
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, NYAugust 18, 2018
Rue 21 is a good place to start off and learn new things. They help you learn how to deal with a lot of people and real world life skills! They are very flexible with schedules.
Pros
40% of discount and you can earn discounts
Cons
Employees sometimes are rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MY experience
PT Manager (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 15, 2018
What kept me at this job for 4 years are the great people that I have met along the way. It was a little sad to leave but at the same time, the pay was not taking care of my bills, especially not enough to save and I was a manager. If your young, in college and your parents are still taking care of most of your every bills or in high school this would be the perfect job for you
Pros
discounts
Cons
No benefits, no real breaks, low wages, hours were not guaranteed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great first job experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIAugust 15, 2018
While working at rue21 I learned many things about retail, sales, and merchandising. It was a great first job experience and I really enjoy the time I spent there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Peachtree City, GAAugust 15, 2018
Amazing company, fast paced company amazing team unity and leadership.. Overall amaxing opportunity very rewarding good team opportunity good experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and great opportunities to move up in position.
Full Time Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 15, 2018
Rue 21 was a fun place to start off as my first job. I was always learning more about the business side of things then just customer servicing. For the three years that I’ve been here I can say I never had a bad moment at rue and they always worked with me in advancing further.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
30 minutes breaks and having to sell fragrances without compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible managment, not fun at all
Associate (Former Employee) –  Moore, OKAugust 14, 2018
you are expected to do what the managers are supposed to do and they sit on their butts and make you do their job for them. very annoying and made me feel worthless.
Pros
money
Cons
short vreaks or none at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neutral experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZAugust 13, 2018
Management was very good somedays and very poor other days, the atmosphere was pretty neutral not horrible and not the best. It was stressful but was also fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about rue21?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Eureka, CAAugust 13, 2018
Lots of organizing, folding, and keeping the store eye-appealing. Employees have perfume sales quotas to meet, and help customers find what they are looking for.
Pros
50% discount of full price
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All around fantastic working experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Saint Robert, MOAugust 10, 2018
This is my first real job. But it, by far, has been my favorite. I don’t want to leave. I love working there. We work as a team and get our jobs done together.
Pros
Flexible schedule, fun working environment
Cons
Short breaks. Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i did not like working here
Cashier/ retail (Former Employee) –  Olean, NYAugust 8, 2018
i was not getting any hours and i was not getting paid very well either. the management could have been more understanding and helping to their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive work environment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Goldsboro, NCAugust 8, 2018
This was a very fast paced work environment with very little training and limited flexibility to complete tasks on any given day. Job is great for energetic individuals for retail experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Rue 21, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNAugust 8, 2018
Rue 21 was my first job. I started working there my junior year of high school. A typical work day was pretty simple. I ran the cash register and assisted customers in the fitting and dressing rooms.
Cons
Lost of standing on concrete floors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Paintsville, KYAugust 8, 2018
Don't ever work for them they do not care about you or your life at home ! They did not plan out actions to meet the needs of customers so when a problem arises they treat you like its your fault
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unstable
District Manager (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 8, 2018
Could be a great company to work for. Results driven/ not people driven workplace culture. Must be willing to work holidays, weekends, and nights. Limited work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAAugust 7, 2018
The environment involved with Rue was a very uplifting and outgoing environment that needed you to be uplifting and outgoing as well. This is what provided the work place the fun nature that it had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
favorite job ever
RETAIL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Pineville, NCAugust 7, 2018
i loved this job beyond words could ever explain.
i loved that their mission was to strive on letting the younger generation have the freedom to be whoever they wanted through style and fashion. along with the lines of accessories and fragrance and not to mention rue beaute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an ok Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Noblesville, INAugust 6, 2018
rue 21 is a place to work if you have nowhere else to go, or just want to gain a few months of experience in retail/customer service. It is hard to sty there for more than a few months but it is doable.

Dear Corporate,
Stop sending the stores so much merchandise when there is literally not enough square footage to out it all. No wonder it is such a chaotic mess.

Good luck rue 21.
Pros
Nice coworkers, lots of overtime
Cons
No break room, terribly disorganized, staff stretched too thin
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at rue21. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,880 reviews
5479
4518
3490
2209
1184

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight