Rural/Metro Corporation Employee Reviews

2.3
Overall rating
Based on 37 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51
46
39
27
114
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 37 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Admin Assistant/Receptionist/Billing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 6, 2017
Enjoyed working with fire chiefs and fire fighters in the administration building. Rarely had a boring day. Very much a family. Everyone worked well together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience is it
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZDecember 8, 2016
Experience is the only good thing I have to say about rural/swa. Poor pay payroll constantly makes mistakes on your low pay check. Management create hostile work environment. Ambulances cool poorly in summer. Management lazy.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Hr, payroll, management the company itself
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work, friendly people
Workers Compensation & No Fault Specialist (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYOctober 12, 2016
Was a pretty good place to work with decent people. Pay was ok but OT made up for it and being able to be on the early shift. The way the handled the layoff was poor but what can you do.
Pros
decent pay, decent people to work with
Cons
run down building, sketchy part of town
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Process
EMT-B (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 31, 2016
Was my first job as an EMT, was a good learning experience fast paced,, work special events, Vitals, Charting and on the job experience.
Pros
On the job training
Cons
No Insurance, No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great fun place to work
Vehicle supply tech (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 4, 2016
Rural metro for starters is now AMR but is still Rural metro at heart, a big company that feels small because everyone knows everyone, and it makes for a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural/Metro
EMT-B (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COJanuary 25, 2016
Fine place to work, good management team, plenty of overtime available.

At the end of the day this is was a business and not a city's, first responder position. Attention was focused on quantity of work vs quality of work
Pros
Advancement, overtime, co-workers
Cons
pay, hours, standing 24's
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 21Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
data entry (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZNovember 24, 2015
It was an okay place, if you are starting out. I've learned a lot about working in an office environment: the people, the tasks, and the culture (everyday work life). from working there, I know that some people there from a short time to a long time.
Cons
Office Gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'd be better off at McDonalds even if they don't get $15 hr
paramedic (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNNovember 17, 2015
I've worked for Rural Metro on and off over 15 years in 3 states. They are THE worst EMS. At least at a mom and pop ambulance service you know who is screwing you. At Rural Metro you're just getting screwed by a corporation. I've worked for the best and the worst. Rural Metro is the worst.
Pros
Jobs availible several parts of the country.
Cons
Managed by idiots.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Private Ambulance Company
NREMT - Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 21, 2015
It was not the best private ambulance company but also not the worst. There was room for advancement but the salary and benefits were nothing special. I would only recommend this job to a new paramedic.
Pros
Friendly coworkers
Cons
Poor salary compared to work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural/Metro & PMT are the worst employers that Ive ever worked for, each time. Poor managers.
EMT-Paramedic (Former Employee) –  AZ Payson, Mesa & PHX. Metro, Sdale, Tempe, PinalSeptember 27, 2015
I started with RMFD in 2000 as a Reserve FF/EMT in Maricopa County, and left in 2001 bc of low pay and poor management.
I worked for Comtrans & American Lifestar 2002 - 2004, PMT Part time 2004-2005, & then FT @ SWA 2005-2007 as a Medic. I left both bc of low pay and poor management.
I worked for RM PMT & American Lifestar 2014-2015, and just quit again bc of Very Poor Management and extremely low pay for saving peeps lives every day.

My advice is that you go work anywhere but here unless youre wanting experience or enjoy low pay, unsafe apparatus, and work drama, no support, low morale, extremely poor & unsupportive/unresponsive Management.

Dont trust HR, or the "Company Union"
Pros
24 hour shifts. some good people. sometimes get paid to rest/ sleep.
Cons
Too many to list, It all starts at the Top & goes downhill from there, managers suck beyond compare, Stations & Ambulances without AC all summer, polyester shirts, broken or missing equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run like heil
Security officer (Former Employee) –  Port columbus airportSeptember 19, 2015
Bad pay, bad management. Very shady business practices that are lawsuit-worthy. Current class action suit in progress.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Everything and anything
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural/Metro is a good company
Compliance & Privacy Specialist (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 13, 2015
The company is good, overall. Executives have the employees' best interest at heart, whether they realize it or not. They're going through a merger with their largest competitor, which makes things a little stressful, but it's for the betterment of everyone.
Pros
A mission worth fighting for - safety and rescue
Cons
the benefits could be better - 2 wks vacation, even for mid-senior level staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 30Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!
AEMT (Former Employee) –  Knoxville,TNMay 6, 2015
I've worked at rural/metro on and off for the last few years and I can by far say it is the worst company I've ever worked for! They don't value their employees at all. All you are is a warm body with a license. They can't even keep enough people around to fill a full shift of trucks, because they treat everyone so poorly! Anyone with any sense at all will run as fast and as far away from r/m as they can! Unfortunately, our citizens are the ones who pay the ultimate price of the selfishness and greed of this company. This place used to be seen as a great stepping stone for beginners in ems, but now it's just a dangerous place to work. It's not even worth the experience, because you won't find anything positive here.
Pros
The few good coworkers left
Cons
Too much to name.
Was this review helpful?Yes 73No 14Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Receive Experience
Paramedic (Current Employee) –  Sioux FallsMay 3, 2015
Overall, R/M is a place where you going to earn your experience before moving on to the next rung in your career ladder. Having the opportunity to work in a busy EMS system and having the opportunity to develop relationships with others in the community is a priceless experience. However, the operational aspect of this company is down right laughable and has only declined since they declared bankruptcy. From consistently missing response times to lackluster equipment, R/M is not the long term solution for your employment future.
Pros
lenient Scheduling, Overtime, Decent Benefits, Stations
Cons
Pay, Equipment, Lack of Leadership, Attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
apply to AMR rural metro grossly under pays and has terrible management. don't work here! 9.60 an hr for an emt b at pmt it's 12.50 at amr
emt (Former Employee) –  Mesa azMarch 31, 2015
Broken down and out dated ambulances. Poor management poor pay. Just a terrible work environment. Worked here for a few years becuase it was the only game in town. But with amr coming to town I applied and have been working there since. I can tell you from experience if you want to be treated with respect and be able to make a living go anywhere but rural metro. I could've made more money working at Walmart.
Was this review helpful?Yes 61No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work for
Pre bill (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYAugust 18, 2014
I was recently part of large group that was just laid off in the billing department to supposed outsourcing and now ads are being posted for seeking employees!? So rediculous! They don't care about their employees, about 40 people we're let go with no warning no nothing! HR came in and were were all out of the building by 12pm! Very poorly handled in their part!
Pros
Ok work environment
Cons
Benefits not the greatest
Was this review helpful?Yes 80No 12Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with co workers
PARAMEDIC (Former Employee) –  MESA AZJuly 27, 2014
Work 24hrs a day
Learn how to adapt & overcome
Enjoy working with my co workers
Most difficult thing about the job is dealing with children
Feeling like you have helped someone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with a long history
Director of Talent Management (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale AZJuly 16, 2014
Company undergoing a lot of changes for the last few years. Has some definite challenges to overcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Post Bill Account rep
Post-Bill Patient Account Rep (Former Employee) –  544 W Onondaga StreetApril 23, 2014
Customer service and complete appeals
How to talk to different insurance company on my own
Management was not intune what was going on

Great co-workers

the hardest part of the job was the appeals

The best part of the job was having lunch with my co-workers
Pros
learning the appeal on my own
Cons
no proper training
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 36Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pat-time Paramedic
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZApril 13, 2014
Worked for PMT as a pert-time medic on the weekend for approximately 4 years.
Pros
Easy extra money.
Cons
No A/C in trucks in the summer time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 21Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rural/Metro Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight