RWJBarnabas Health Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saint Barnabas Hospital is a good hospital but too far away for me.
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJOctober 11, 2018
I believe it is a good hospital and has amazing care but the nursing staff is overworked. They have 12 hour shifts and are short staffed many times from what I remember and it was far too stressful and far away which is why I left
Pros
good benefits and salary
Cons
long hours and too far away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to help others was personally rewarding.
Mental Health Associate (Former Employee) –  Long Branch, NJOctober 10, 2018
Peers made coming to work worthwhile. Helping patients was very rewarding.
Employee benefits compared to similar companies fell short.
Human Resources are not employee friendly.
Staffing shortage put patients at risk.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Staffing shortage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides excellent benefits
Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Monmouth County, NJOctober 10, 2018
It's a large healthcare organization that provides excellent benefits and opportunities for those seeking a career in healthcare. There are areas for growth within a system that is as large as RWJBH.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Unit Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Brunswick, NJOctober 9, 2018
culture of kindness is honored there, love being on the units, there is more team work there, not sure about the other departments, the atmosphere is very fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could have been a great place to work if it wasn't for the favoritism.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  355 Grand Street, Jersey City, N.J. 07302October 9, 2018
I was never comfortable there, employees were rude. Some managers were not treated fairly. If you have an issue with staff members depending on if they were favored nothing was done about it.
Pros
The job was close to home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valentier
Cardio-Pulmonary Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 8, 2018
As a medical assistant I was volentier in the cardiovascular department was a great experience I have the opportunity to learn about heart and the different oportunidad
Pros
Excellent experience
Cons
Oportunidad
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun When We Had Some Down Time
Sterile processing technician (Former Employee) –  New Brunswick, NJOctober 8, 2018
It has it's pro's and cons This is a Trauma Hospital very heavy work
a very busy hospital I enjoyed working there
people friendly the workers and most supervisors were nice
helpful when needed and I worked pretty much
as a team player, made sure that the work was done on time for the
surgeons and operating rooms throughout the day
lots of responsibilities and worked many hours
Pros
They Often Acknowledge employees by giving them incentives
Cons
It was a heavy work load daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture
Certified Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  Livingston, NJOctober 2, 2018
Good culture and coworkers but terrible pay and lack of opportunity for advancement. Access representative is basically a dead end job. There is no where to go from here.
Pros
Positive work environment
Cons
Pay, lack of advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Toms River, NJOctober 2, 2018
This place is awful they do not care about employees they pay horrible and they work u to the bone and use you then get rid of u and make up reasons. Please do not apply 15 people quit in 1 month in one department!!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a decent hospital to work for.
Office Administrator - Dietary (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, NJOctober 1, 2018
The pay is not much above minimum wage and the responsibility of choosing proper diets for patients is extremely important and 10.25 and hour is barbaric.
The new manager in dietary is a fabulous leader and operates with an open door policy. He is down to earth, easy going, and a outstanding manager.
Pros
Extremely poor pay
Cons
Your employed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Toms River, NJOctober 1, 2018
It is a family. You are there to work and do your job. Pay is normal for the area. You have to know someone real well in the administration to get moved up. The only downfall is, they flex you out when the census is low. Your requirements are you have to take cbl tests every once in a while and they have to be completed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning environment
Marriage and Family Therapist (Social Worker) (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJSeptember 30, 2018
Working at the hospital was one of the best jobs that I ever had. It was a place to learn a lot from the clients/patients and to better serve them with the training that I received from my schooling.
Pros
Teaching environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
RRT (Current Employee) –  Toms River, NJSeptember 29, 2018
Very wonderful dept to work for. Enjoyed every work day. Great people and nice and great work flow. Will continue to be part of the rwjbarnabas family and the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and cut throat
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  CMC Toms RiverSeptember 27, 2018
Unqualified supervisor horrible coworkers
Favoritism. Delivering trays in patients room is brutal and no apreciação
They Always asking employee to work over time because people don’t stay there and no weekend off
Pros
Don’t remember one
Cons
Everything in food service
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJSeptember 27, 2018
I enjoyed working in the registry at St. Barnabas, I had a opportunity to work with patient records and abstract cases, conducted patient follow up, attended continuing education courses and other duties.
Pros
opportunity to work while I learn
Cons
temporary position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and easy going place to work
IT SECURITY ANALYST (Current Employee) –  New Brunswick, NJSeptember 25, 2018
excellent working conditions, although gets hectic sometimes. pleasant co workers and directors. nurses and doctors are very friendly. great cafeteria.
Pros
easy parking
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Radiology Technologist (Current Employee) –  Livingston, NJSeptember 25, 2018
This is a great place to learn. As a student I felt very welcomed in this facility. The employees were approachable and would help with anything you needed. I recommend this hospital as a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Driver/Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Belleville, NJSeptember 25, 2018
great place to work if offered full time position. always something new in medical hospital i.e. hospital rules and regulation, new HIPPA law policies etc.
Pros
healthcare benefits
Cons
high turnover ratio because they hire more per diem
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Lead HVAC mechanic (Former Employee) –  Long Branch, NJSeptember 21, 2018
It was a great place to work.The job itself I really enjoyed.I knew medical staff and enjoyed making patient stays in the hospital as comfortable as possible.The engineering staff worked well together and were pleasant to work with .I maintained very old equipment and devices that were on the cutting edge of technology.
Pros
Very liberal providing tools needed.
Cons
Immediate supervisor was the most negative person I've ever met. Never a positive word.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp. Position
Coordinator Materials Management (Current Employee) –  Livingston, NJSeptember 19, 2018
Worked here on contract and had a great experience. Pleasant boss and a good group of coworkers. Wouldn't of mind stay here to work, however looking for a more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RWJBarnabas Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,228 reviews
5492
4365
3273
252
146

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.4

2.3Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight