Ryder Employee Reviews

Found 2,377 reviews matching the search See all 2,691 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Minster, OHOctober 18, 2018
I got let go for no reason at all so that place wasn't able to get me what I needed so sorry but I have to they are no longer interested me so I have nothing to say about them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high stress, no help
Customer Service Representative / Parts Department (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 17, 2018
A typical day is non-stop and fast paced in the office. Phones constantly ring with road calls and customers needing information about units. Typically there are no notes in the system so immediate communication is difficult. Management is never around, and HR complaints result in "It will get better...just give it time." Everything you learn will be OJT.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sink or Swim
(Contract) Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIOctober 17, 2018
Feels like high school. Cubes everywhere. No real training. Hard to be clear on what you are supposed to be doing. Most management is rude and unapproachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
numbers over safety
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Shippensburg PaOctober 17, 2018
I worked there 5 years between 2 locations. transferring from Neville to shippensburg, when the newville location closed. I didnt get the first years raise, their explanation. I hadn't worked for ship plant a year?! ok nice little loop hole. Things digressed as the years continued. I did my job, numbers above average. They informed us they were starting a new program to give us bonuses. the more we did the higher the bonus. not a SINGLE member of management could explain how it worked and no surprise to me. we never received a single bonus. I was promised an extra dollar an hour to train new employees. when I received my check I was informed this was not true an what I received added up to 16cents an hour far less that I was promised. I then refused to train new staff. over the years I witnessed countless amounts of tattle tailing and gossip have even found myself being the subject of whispers. I can handle that. we had safety meeting after safety.in these meetings our managers came up with the idea of captain of the ship. if you think something is unsafe you can call said " captian of the ship", your manager then has to review the situation and and
decide if it is in fact unsafe. So in this time we have managers pulling lifts out of maintenance, due to not having enough equipment for the staff. they were taken off the floor for a reason. but as long as you keep quiet and risk ur safety for the company, there is no proplem. I have been hit by another forklift driver in the shippensburg warehouse. Thank God we were ok. but this made me all too aware at how dangerous these machines
  more... are. ryder uses propain lifts. so the reason of my rating is this. I called captain of the ship I felt the area I was working in was unsafe. my manager did not bother to check to see. Instead I was told to leave if i wasn't going to work there. I left. Next day the area that I called "captain of the ship" on was taped off, coincidentally it was fixed. However I was fired for insubordination. I worked there for 5 years, i worked mandatory overtime for the past 2 years. to be fired because management only cares about numbers, and that manager made up a better story than the truth. Icing on the cake I was denied unemployment. This was wrong and I hope they work to improve these issues. No one deserves to be treated like that.  less
Pros
overtime, free lunch occationally
Cons
numbers over safety, high turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ryder is a great company to work for
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Doral, FLOctober 12, 2018
awesome company, great employees/ open door polices/competitive wages / never bored/learn more concerning the Transportation laws/ Interacting with the drivers on a respectful basis.
Pros
Hours/training/overtime
Cons
lateral move to other companies, which donot share the same culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Warehouse environment
Lift Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Rochelle, ILOctober 11, 2018
-Start from lower level position. Typically picking orders by hand. After demonstrating proficiency you may be trained on forklift equipment and reach trucks.
Pros
decent benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ryder is a descent company to work for
Driver (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 9, 2018
Ryder is a good company to work at good pay if you willing to work do your job be on time have good relations with customer vacation time off on holiday
Cons
Some mangers at sometime want you to over and beyond you’re duty
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big shop, good people
Fleet mechanic (Former Employee) –  Howard County, MDOctober 9, 2018
Most mechanics and Technicians were always willing to help, advise, or teach anything I didn't know or have much Experience with... management wasn't on point as much as they should have been at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s an easy place to work
Ryder (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, INOctober 6, 2018
I loved that job because my job was easy and there was great people working that and an amazing team leader, some days were hard and had a lot but there was always that one person that will help you threw the day, you have a one break
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill, TNOctober 6, 2018
Just don’t let know body run you over and don’t say something you would regret or don’t say something to people that go till on you for not doing your job and there job or lye on you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Beaver Dam, WIOctober 5, 2018
great place to work good atmosphire fast paced but kina laid back as well it had its up and downs never really had a dul moment there everything was great till they closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would like to work for a more challenging company
HR Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAOctober 4, 2018
There are many reports that need to get done in a monthly basis, i manage all recruiting and payroll aspects of the company, all temp employees as well. Hiring and Firing process, and some account payable as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work and fair management
Employee (Current Employee) –  MichiganOctober 3, 2018
Pay is decent and management cares about the advancement of those who care about advancing. Management does a good job of staying engaged with their employees.
Pros
Open work environment
Cons
No workout facility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very streeful
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Alburtis, PAOctober 2, 2018
low salary too much pressure stressful, paid break, good benefit, Sometime overtime Sometime the.The job is temporary 401k health care life insurance sometime paid bonus
Pros
Paid lunch
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ryder
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Alburtis, PAOctober 1, 2018
It was a interesting place to work and if i could go back i would. Long days but amazing people.There was some management issues sometimes but they would get through it well.
Pros
lunchq
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Paced Learning
Billing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAOctober 1, 2018
Worked with very knowledgeable people in this contract position. The environment of the company was upbeat and friendly. Management was always looking for ways to improve and grow the business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Manager, Safety, Health & Security (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 1, 2018
Great company to work for. Work/life balance was very important to management, and there was a solid commitment to safety and health of all employees all the way through Executive Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very very poor
Insulator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 27, 2018
I would not recommend a friend to work there,unless it was a life or death situation. They would not give us any benefits whatsoever. The management were really not doing their jobs.
Pros
Yearly picnic
Cons
Poor management, Lack of benefits, Lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people not so much with the work
Management Trainee (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HISeptember 26, 2018
45 hours work in very sad looking location
no work and life balance benefit.
Great travel benefit and employee discount
people are friendly and supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Forklift driver/Picker (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, INSeptember 26, 2018
I worked at ryder for almost a year and it was good. Lots of good people who work hard and until they changed things alittle it was one of the better places I've worked besides not getting paid near enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ryder. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,695 reviews
5651
4825
3663
2238
1318

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

2.7Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss