San Bernardino County Employee Reviews

Found 369 reviews matching the search See all 372 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a substitute teacher / teacher aide
Substitute Teacher, Teacher Aide (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAAugust 15, 2018
I was a substitute teacher aide/ teacher, I worked with presschool age children.
I assisted the teacher with implementing lesson plans
Assisted students with daily activities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic work environment
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAAugust 13, 2018
I loved showing up to work and being greeted by all of my co-workers, I learned how to perform various tasks. the managers are very helpful and encouraging. The hardest part of the job I would say was when we were in crunch to process applications before a very close deadline. The most enjoyable part of the job was everything! i loved my cubicle, my coworkers, my boss , just everything.
Pros
Having holidays and weekends off
Cons
Having extra work when too many people would call off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job fast paced
EWII (Former Employee) –  Highland, CAAugust 10, 2018
Stressful at first but worth it loved my job. Hated case reads and trying to keep up with the constant changes in rules and policies. I dont know what else to say wish I was still there.
Pros
a check every 2weeks, gratifying to help others, loved fridays off
Cons
stressful, lots of backbiting, and 2 faced people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had opportunity for room for advancement
MENTAL HEALTH SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Victorville, CAAugust 5, 2018
Enjoyed working there my boss was great and she was a great mentor. Enjoyed helping families and seeing them through to their success. Overall a good place to work.
Pros
Good work team
Cons
very hectic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
ELIGIBILITY WORKER (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 3, 2018
I worked for San Bernardino County for 10 years. It was a stressful job, but a good job. It was rewarding job and the pay and benefits we're good. The department I worked for worked a 9/80 schedule, so you had every other Friday off.
Pros
Customers. Pay. Benefits. 9/80 schedule
Cons
Can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Eligibility Worker II (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CAAugust 3, 2018
Excellent opportunity to for customer service experience. Good job security after probation is passed. Good benefits, albeit at a pretty expense rate.
Pros
Good customer service experience
Cons
Too much favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAAugust 1, 2018
Stressful environment, poor pay and management. They need to have a work life balance for all and pay their employees better. The salaries are very low and advancement is minimal.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant working conditons
Contract Programmer (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAAugust 1, 2018
It's been too long ago. Pleasant and business focus. No personal or social activities. Reasonable meetings and expectations. Good learning experiences.
Pros
Reasonable expectations and business atmosphere.
Cons
My project was successful, but later quashed by political figure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Eligibility Worker II (Former Employee) –  Hesperia, CAJuly 29, 2018
Great organization to work for if you like working with the public and helping people in need. Supervisors are always willing to assist. Delivery of new federal and state rules and regulations are timely, clear and concise.
Pros
Celebration of important events
Cons
Not culturally diverse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of changes
Substance Abuse Counselor (Current Employee) –  Colton, CAJuly 26, 2018
At the time of my arrival I tried to make a difference in my program but seemed to be stuck in time with old fashion ways of doing things. Burnout was the outcome and now I wish to venture out.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
Need more employee self care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun learning experience
Childcare Provider (Current Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJuly 26, 2018
A typical day at work includes pick up and dropoffs at schools. Caring for various children from different age groups. I've learned how to develop and shape the minds and growth of children.
Pros
I am able to work from as an independent contractor, I also have the opportunity to expand my business to acquire more clients.
Cons
No healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive at times
Eligibility Worker II (Former Employee) –  Redding, CAJuly 24, 2018
Typical day was working with customer who were seeking assistance, learned the ins and outs of government assistance, work place environment was peaceful, hardest part is when customers would come in agitated due to eligibility
Pros
Loved working with the public, and coworkers
Cons
Could be stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
APPRAISAL TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJuly 24, 2018
I would like to see the salaries a little more competitive with the other cities around. Other than that it is a great place to work. I am not planning on leaving anytime soon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Library Automation Intern (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJuly 24, 2018
the office was a really good place to work, it was a positive environment, and the tasks were done in a timely manner, and we got to travel all over t
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Employment Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJuly 18, 2018
Busy workplace, numbers, numbers, numbers. Just like any job, there are good days and bad days. Try to do your job and not ask too many questions that is all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Forklift driver (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJuly 16, 2018
great county job with great benefit a job could always be better no but at this point any job would do better that a minimum wage job can also increase the benefits.
Pros
no future
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for people who just want to collect a check
eligibility worker (Current Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAJuly 10, 2018
If you want flexibility, then this is a good place for you. Management is not the best, you get in trouble for other peoples lack of work ethic and the good employees get stuck with the work while the ones who don't work get to continue not working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Eligibility Worker II (Current Employee) –  Rialto, CAJune 29, 2018
Productive workplace to work at. People are friendly and they have a lot of pot lucks. It took 2 years for them to contact me for an interview after applying for the position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government
Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJune 25, 2018
Working for the County I have found the employees to be helpful and pleasant.

Day at work - Repetitive
Learned - Duties
Management- Average
Culture - Government
Hardest part - Interruptions
Enjoyable - People
Pros
Fellow employees
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work, great place to work
Compliance Legal Secretary II (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJune 21, 2018
there was always a lot of work to do and the county. For the most part after meetings and daily task as a group collectively there was lots to do and kept me really busy throughout the day. Great place to work, great benefits, supervisors fairly easy to communicate with.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
moving up takes a while, but worth it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at San Bernardino County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 372 reviews
5178
4117
359
214
14

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight