San Diego Metropolitan Transit System Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 10 reviews
Ratings breakdown
52
44
30
24
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 10 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low low pay
Flagger/switch tender (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 30, 2018
I was a flagger /switch tender. Easy work. Boring work.The hours sucked. The pay was worse. I left in 2016 and the pay was $11.25 /hr
I would not recommend this job.
Pros
none
Cons
low pay, part time status, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grate environment to work
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 12, 2018
everyone is friendly very helpful supervisors assist as much as possible dress properly and you will be fine. drug free work place maintain professionalism at all times.
Pros
benefits 401 k.
Cons
long splits 3 to 4 hr splits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice work environment with periods of slow and fast paced work
Engineering Intern (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 31, 2017
A relaxed, easy going place to work. Office was usually quiet and easy to focus in. My bosses in particular were laid back and had a good sense of humor. I was able to work at my own pace for the most part.
Pros
No overtime, fairly relaxed office, nice lunches with my department
Cons
Office location is downright dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Atmosphere
Community Outreach Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 26, 2017
My only job was the community outreach part. So i would only deliver promotional items and information to transportation users. But it was a great way to inform MTS users since I ride the bus and trolley everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for growth
Flag Person (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 18, 2017
I have worked for this organization for over 5 years, and administration does not promote growth or new educational opportunities that will promote growth. I would not recommend investing in this organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, no life balance, poor management, weak union
TRAIN OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 22, 2015
Good pay, no work/life balance, poor management, weak union, no benefits, good people/co-workers, beautiful area, split shifts.
Pros
Good pay, nice co-workers, family atmosphere
Cons
Poor benefits, weak union, split shifts, poor management, favoritism wins the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was Ok
Application Developer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 15, 2015
The management wasn't all there, the IT department was a full IT department. Everyone wore different hats for various tasks.
Pros
Benefits and pay. Thats it
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on the public transportation systems was rewarding.
Certified Electro Mechanic Lineman (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 4, 2015
Working on the light rails was rewarding knowing my part of the job was done correctly so the public using the trandportation would get to their destinations safely.
Pros
being outside working with the public
Cons
the public would not follow direction which would result in tragedy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tense work environment
Telephone information clerk (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 16, 2013
It was a constant battle being a new employee at this place, most of the people working there had been doing so for many years, so most of the time you were feeling more unwelcome than welcome. It was a struggle because most of the time people were already divided in groups and apparently had made up their mind about the 'newcomer' before you even had the chance to branch out, so most of the time work was not something you looked forward to in your everyday life, and although the job was not that complicated everything around it made it so.
Pros
excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at San Diego Metropolitan Transit System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

San Diego Metropolitan Transit System Reviews by Location