San Francisco State University Employee Reviews

Found 290 reviews matching the search See all 291 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly political place
Administrative Analyst/Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 19, 2018
Lack of management trainings and orientation in their role as management personnel and not enough proper training for staff. Without the union contract salary increases is difficult to request.
Cons
training of staff during orientation and training is not enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Student Sports Reporter (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 14, 2018
It's great being a student working on personal projects at this school. For me, it was sports reporting. I was able to develop skills for basketball, soccer, and volleyball games.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Totally depends on the role/department
Senior Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 14, 2018
This is a huge employer, so the satisfaction definitely depends on the role you have and the department. Overall, it is filled with smart, kind, folks who do their best.
Pros
good people, good benefits
Cons
lack of funding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TA and Tutoring
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CA 94132June 2, 2018
I took course credit for my work as a graduate student, and I learned how to work one-on-one with students. I loved working with flexible leaders in education.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Networking Intern
Network Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 28, 2018
I interned at SFSU for one semester. Overall, the environment was relaxed, people were good at their jobs, and cared about their work. It was a great experience that helped me prepare for the real working world. They were flexible with my needs.
Pros
Location
Cons
Government work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working enviroment
Biochemistry Laboratory Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 11, 2018
good work study environment, that helped ,me get hands on and practical experience with what was taught in lecture. easy access to the principal investigator of the lab
Pros
good working environment
Cons
low wages for students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work Not Rewarded
Systems Analyst/Applications Programmer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 26, 2018
It does not matter how hard you work. Hard work is NOT rewarded.
Working above and beyond what is expected is NOT compensated. Management is horrible. Even if you belong to the Union there is NO job security. Years of dedicated service means nothing to Management.
Pros
Health Care
Cons
No compensation for working above and beyond what is expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience (contract position)
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 16, 2018
This was one of my most favorite positions in my career and I was hoping it to become permanent, however budgeting and seniority position moves cause those opportunities to expire.
Pros
All wonderful & interesting assignments
Cons
Challenging personalities but overall great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Lifestyle & Culture Editor for Xpress Newspaper (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 15, 2018
While there are issues in turn over in management those that hold the positions usually are professional and set a good example. The job has mostly been a good experience to grow from.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
San Francisco State University
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 4, 2018
San Francisco State University is a school that provides students enjoyable and flexible activities. There are several programs that help students easily achieve their goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab Assistant
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 19, 2018
Great learning opportunity that allows for growth.
Able to create friendships and professional connections.
Able to explore leadership techniques and abilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Work-Study Student (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 19, 2018
Great learning experience that gave opportunities to teach and create work connections.
Learned not only professional skills, but life skills in cooking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for students to gain experience
President of RHA (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 12, 2018
Residential Housing Association at San Francisco State University provided me with essential skills that I can transfer into the workplace. I enhanced my skills as a leader, and as a team builder, while gaining experience in program preparation.
Pros
$400 stipend per semester
Cons
have daily work tasks while balancing schoolwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 8, 2018
I got some amazing exposure and made amazing connections with people in my field. Working with a researcher and getting experience in a research setting will help further my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Telecommunications Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 6, 2018
Good place to work and improve your career. Lots of projects to work on and management supports these initiative; friendly environment and the campus is nice and pleasant as well.
Pros
Good place to work.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship for school
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 4, 2018
I worked at Gator Camp for my senior internship at San Diego State University. It was a good option for me because I enjoy working with children and promoting exercise. It was a great experience, challenging at times, but an overall great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Community outreach recruiter (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 2, 2018
It is a great place to work with great people and a great mission.
I love the work I do helping clients with their HIV health and overall well being.
Pros
helping people
Cons
time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City school without the City
Area Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 28, 2018
SFSU has one of the best locations for someone wanting to work in the city without the hustle and bustle of the city. the proximity also provides a great work life balance for the students and staff/faculty with all the perks of access to city living and learning can provide.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just monotonous
Researcher & Professor (Current Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CAFebruary 24, 2018
Just doing teaching the same classes every semester. Not much to write about.

Taught Graduate and Undergraduate classes every semester in computer science and electrical engineering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Math/Science Tutor (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 20, 2018
It is a great school to study and also a very nice place to work. People who work here are very friendly and easy going. There are equal opportunities for everybody from all culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at San Francisco State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 291 reviews
5141
4102
331
28
19

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight