San Jose Police Department Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hourly rate and supervisor
School Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 24, 2018
I received a good hourly pay rate and I had an excellent supervisor. Job was only ten hours a week though. Job could be stressful due to having to control traffic and pedestrian flow. Parents were appreciative and children were enjoyable to work with.
Pros
Lots of time off
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal and Private
Administrative Manager (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 5, 2017
There really isn't much that can be said for working for them. It pretty much is what the title says, it's a police department and nothing more.
Thank you,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rarely gets boring and plenty of assignments to work.
Police Captain - Bureau of Administration (Current Employee) –  Captain of PersonnelNovember 3, 2017
There are several units that are available to officers. From flying a helicopter to investigating homicides. There is also room for promotions as the department expands.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting place to work.
Patrol Officer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 17, 2017
Great place to work and make a difference in peoples lives. Interpret and enforce laws. Protect the innocent and save lives. Great coworkers likeminded.
Pros
Rewarding.
Cons
Stressfull
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive management
VOLUNTEER (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CaliforniaOctober 7, 2015
Productive and fun workplace, nice co workers, great experience. My supervisor is very nice and supportive, I had the opportunity to learn from different departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging work place
Police Data Specialist II (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMarch 6, 2015
Learned how to quickly react under stress while making informed decisions with proper education about my environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Struggling department due to pay and benefit structure
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 11, 2014
The department was once the best in the nation. It needs to get back to that status.
Pros
Working with good people.
Cons
New benefits and retirement system
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
above average place to work
Police Data Specialist I (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 7, 2013
I enjoyed working for this company, the only reason I chose to leave this company was I had my second child, my daughter and I ended up moving with my immediate family (husband, son daugthter) to Michigan from California to pursue a career advancement for my husband's job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at San Jose Police Department. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 9 reviews
55
43
31
20
10

See reviews about

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
4.3Culture

San Jose Police Department Reviews by Location