Safety-Kleen Employee Reviews

Found 399 reviews matching the search See all 462 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never recommend someone to work for this company!
Branch Administrator (Current Employee) –  West Nyack, NYNovember 12, 2018
A typical day at Safety-Kleen. I was hired for Administrative, i now have the responsibilities of management work. Along with access for management computer work.; being that i am told my service management is overwhelmed. Not respected, paid very little. Not able to support my children and family on the salary. Some have gotten raised due to being told, they are a large asset to this company. I am not doing other people's job as they are entitled to raises and overtime, and i am told I am not. Never worked for a company in which i feel like a slave.
Cons
Terrible health insurance for employees, no raises in 5 years. No growth!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Office Makes for great working environment
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Romulus, MINovember 9, 2018
Small office crew so very easy to make great working relationships with managers and co-workers. Management is very flexible with scheduling around life outside of the office as long as it does not interfere with company needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment
Distribution Center Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Braintree, MANovember 8, 2018
Worked on my own day in and out and was responsible for completing daily, weekly etc... tasks in a timely manner
Employee must be engaged and self-motivated; which I am and this helped immensely in my success with Safety-Kleen.
Pros
Lax work schedule
Cons
Difficult to get ideas/point accross to mgt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 31, 2018
Too many meeting more related to safety than the office tasks. No enough support from management when requesting training on site. Long working hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place overall
Material lead handler (Former Employee) –  Pasco, WAOctober 30, 2018
good place to work overall just not liked to handle hazmats directly.
Pros
great insurance and benefits
Cons
direct contact with hazmats.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lies and false promises!
Blended Oil Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXOctober 28, 2018
Safety-Kleen lures you in with false promises. January of each year Management changes the terms and conditions of your pay schedule. If you’re a sales person you have to work harder and make less money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much management
Territory Manager (Current Employee) –  Kaukauna, WIOctober 22, 2018
Managers in multiple locations managing you, with different agendas. Very much micromanaged by all. Hours are long and unnecessary for the sales performed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean Harbors
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CA 95828October 17, 2018
I was not surprised when Clean Harbors bought Safety Clean, The branch in Sac is poorly run by the GM and they choose to down size the entire sales team and focus on the drives doing the selling. That did not last. Their driver work long hours and are Salary plus commission with no over time unless the GM approves it. But they work more then 10 hour days.
Pros
Good money
Cons
50-60 hour workweeks not OT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting company- Never doing the same thing twice
Branch Manager III (Former Employee) –  South DakotaOctober 15, 2018
Excellent company to work hard for, your hard work will be rewarded with advancement opportunities. Good leadership team, to much focus on CRM tool in the sales division
Pros
Rewarding
Cons
Big Brother is watching
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Routing Manager (Former Employee) –  West MifflinOctober 9, 2018
Only left this job because I found something closer. Very good place to work, everyone works as a team. Management and Customer Service Reps are very respectful of support staff.

Good work/life balance, no weekends or holidays.
Pros
Paid well, friendly environment
Cons
too far away from my home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job, planned to retire there.
SENIOR BRANCH SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILOctober 8, 2018
Started as data entry clerk and worked up to mid management. Always given the opportunity to further career/education. Was just a great place to work. Always had employee activities in and out of the office. I would have retired there if the Company wasn't bought out and relocated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical office environment
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLOctober 8, 2018
Safety-Kleen is a national company with opportunity to grow from within. Their new lubricants line is premium and they are up and coming in the market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Material Handler
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  South Plainfield, NJOctober 1, 2018
I was a material handler for SK. Not much to talk about. The hours were ok, the work was hard but had purpose. The environment was team based and professional.
Pros
team players
Cons
heavy drums, hazardous materials and heavy workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Chemist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 28, 2018
I learned a lot about analyzing chemical waste. I developed organizational skills there. They offered a gym membership to employees. The company had a 401K for employees along with a percentage 3% match
Pros
Had a good work atmosphere
Cons
not much opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Budget Analyst (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCSeptember 26, 2018
This was a great company to work for. Unfortunately the claimed bankruptcy and then moved the company to Plano Texas. I was not in the position to be able to move at that time.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Compnay moved to Texas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Kleen
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLSeptember 23, 2018
Safety Kleen is a great company to work for the salary is wonderful great hours and the perks and incentives are worth staying for. It is a company you can grow with.
Pros
Salary, Incentives
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast past, company that you had to be already employed to see growth
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Pineville, LASeptember 20, 2018
It was alright just not permanent no room for growth.
I did not see a permanent position there for me because I was contract and nothing never became available for me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 19, 2018
Safety-Kleen is a great company. Also is a fun place to work, has great benefits, hardworking employees, met a lot of friends. There was a lot of freedom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Waukesha, WISeptember 17, 2018
Nobody leaves until all of the work is done. Unfortunately that can lead to very long days, sometimes 16+ hours a day. Majority of the employees are on salary so that means no extra pay for the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
able to leave when needed
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Fallon, NVSeptember 16, 2018
overall Safety-Kleen is a good company to work for.

The plant located in Fallon, NV is a cool place to work.

if I could redo I would have stayed at Fallon.
Pros
able to leave when needed
Cons
long hours during shutdowns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safety-Kleen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 462 reviews
598
4156
3117
247
144

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture