Safety-Kleen Employee Reviews

Found 380 reviews matching the search See all 441 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast past, company that you had to be already employed to see growth
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Pineville, LASeptember 20, 2018
It was alright just not permanent no room for growth.
I did not see a permanent position there for me because I was contract and nothing never became available for me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 19, 2018
Safety-Kleen is a great company. Also is a fun place to work, has great benefits, hardworking employees, met a lot of friends. There was a lot of freedom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Waukesha, WISeptember 17, 2018
Nobody leaves until all of the work is done. Unfortunately that can lead to very long days, sometimes 16+ hours a day. Majority of the employees are on salary so that means no extra pay for the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
able to leave when needed
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Fallon, NVSeptember 16, 2018
overall Safety-Kleen is a good company to work for.

The plant located in Fallon, NV is a cool place to work.

if I could redo I would have stayed at Fallon.
Pros
able to leave when needed
Cons
long hours during shutdowns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was once a great company to work for.
TERRITORY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Wilkes-BarreAugust 31, 2018
A Great company. Now it is a completely different company bc of Clean Harbors. SK cared about investing back into its employees Clean Harbors doesn’t
Pros
Work vacation balance
Cons
401 K and benefits are non existent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Lead Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXAugust 28, 2018
A great place to work. the work keeps you busy but it isn't back breaking. the other employees are laid back and will help you with anything you need them too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Cross trained as operator of all machinery (Former Employee) –  KentuckyAugust 26, 2018
Upper management at facility does not appreciate employee efforts.
This person will not acknowledge a job well-done and is rude to the employees. The workers are good people and easy to get along with. The pay is very low and is not comparable to similar companies. No room for advancement.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry Leader With Lots To Offer
Territory Manager (Current Employee) –  Vinton, VAAugust 23, 2018
I liked working with my customers face-to-face the most. However, that type of interaction with the customer is no longer encouraged. Once the initial sale is made, we are to primarily use electronic communication. This company has a great line up of products and services and, as such, makes it easier for me to sell.

These days, there is a lack of leadership locally and the sales team is constantly being pulled away to help in the daily operations of the branch, which makes it more difficult to focus on sales.


The hardest part of the job is the intercompany struggle to get projects completed. There is a surprising level of competition between departments for revenue that make cooperation to accomplish a task near impossible. The company is way top heavy in management.
Pros
Top quality service and products in the industry.
Cons
Too much micro-management. Not allowed to be creative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely micro managed. Horrible place to work
Branch Administrator (Former Employee) –  Avon, NYAugust 22, 2018
Had the branch admin position. Could not make a move without asking the boss first. Whatever you do, don't stray from the daily task sheet the boss gives you because you will pay dearly for it. She has to have complete control of everything every minute.
Pros
Close to my house
Cons
Extremely controlling boss that frequently lied to get what she wants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pushed constantly. Administrative functions are excessive
Senior Account_Manager (Former Employee) –  Davenport, IAAugust 22, 2018
Excessive administrative time for a sales position. Constantly pushed for more revenue. Price increases on products and services 3-4 times/yr. Sales Manager promoted from Salesman but no clue on how to manage people. Doesn't matter if you take care of existing customers, pushed and measured only on new customers.
Pros
Set your own schedule
Cons
Administrative functions take 50+ % of your time leaving little time to sell.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
CONTACT CENTER TRAINER (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 31, 2018
A few hours of course development, monitoring. Working with other members of management creating a cultural rich environment. Hardest part of job was not having supplies for training classes, so I would end up having to purchases them then be reimbursed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Sales and Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mason, MIJuly 27, 2018
I enjoyed working for them, if it had not been for my back problems i would still be there today. I would recomend them to anyone starting out a career. great oppertunities for an individuale starting out,
Pros
good work environment
Cons
sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Facility technican (Current Employee) –  Dolton, ILJuly 25, 2018
Pay the workers more money you will get more quality work and happier workers and Pay Less on insurance and other benefits and fix the forklift and more equipment
Pros
They give you a job
Cons
Only lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Regional Plant Controller (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 23, 2018
Easy atmosphere to work with limited computer software applications. Moratorium on raises caused people like myself to leave and pursue other opportunities.
Pros
Job was easy
Cons
Software
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense work atmosphere
Senior Field Chemist (Former Employee) –  La Porte, TXJuly 13, 2018
Typical work day included executing orders and pick ups in Texas and Louisiana. Goal was to segregate chemical waste according to federal guidelines and transport to disposal facilities.
Pros
Knowlegeable staff and flexibility
Cons
Long hours and travel
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 9, 2018
I feel this job was demanding that included a lot of hours weekly. It's been quite some time since I worked here so I'm not able to provide any recent updates other than they were bought out aprox seven years ago.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, long way to get there
Logistics Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Aragonite, UTJuly 5, 2018
The Safety-kleen plant I worked for was out in the middle of the west desert. It took an hour to get there and an hour to return. That made for some long days of work. I did enjoy the 10 hour work days, that made for always a 3 day weekend. the workplace culture for the most part was professional, everyone knew there job and did it. Safety was not a high priority and there was lots of injuries while I was working there. The hardest part of the job was the drive. the most enjoyable part was the people, we made each day fun.
Pros
supplied busses to take you to and from work
Cons
low pay, long distance, poor safety culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of overtime and no employee appreciation.
Senior Ground Operator (Current Employee) –  Fallon, NVJuly 1, 2018
Management is terrible.Would not recomend working there if you want to have a life outside work.You are worked like a mule and if you need time off they talk about how weak you are.
Pros
Alot of overtime
Cons
Managers are awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Market Sales Specialist (Current Employee) –  USJune 25, 2018
Do not work here. Management has no concept of a life outside of work. Benefits are not worth the aggravation of working here. Unless you're part of the buddy system you will never get promoted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
WAREHOUSE/ DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 4, 2018
You can get a lot of overtime at Safety-Kleen like 12-14 hour shift. They provide uniforms great benefits,fuel card, and work boots twice a year. Great discounts also.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Sometimes Saturday work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safety-Kleen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 441 reviews
592
4152
3111
246
140

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture