Saint Joseph's University Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 84 reviews
Ratings breakdown
540
431
311
21
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 77 reviews matching the search See all 84 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid educational institution
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 3, 2018
SJU is a reasonably expensive private parochial school. Students are generally good, motivated, and pleasant. Other faculty are serious about education, personable, and helpful. The university has high standards.
Pros
Good relationships with students.
Cons
Typical low adjunct pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No just driving.
Van Driver (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 25, 2018
On May of 2016 we sign a come back arrangement for September 2016. Received notes our jobs were outsource on July 2016. Good working place. Worked evening shift for years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall nice experience
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 17, 2018
SJU has great benefits but lacks in job growth and advancement for a majority of employees. Their salary pool is biased and unfair but they make up for it in healthcare benefits and tuition reimbursement if you choose to go that route.
Pros
Friday's off in the summer
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on the weekend
Weekend Residence Hall Attendant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 19, 2018
Everyday I work at Saint Joseph's University was an adventure. I learned from the students and they learned from me. My hardest part of my job was when children was drinking and having behavior problems.
Pros
You can meet so many different people.
Cons
Children get away with murder
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Colleagues
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 26, 2018
There are many supportive colleagues, but it is a difficult place to move up in due to budget cuts. There are more online offerings and this makes for a very different work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting fast paced enviorment
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 29, 2018
i would have loved to been able to continue there but i had to move. My time there taught me a lot about food service and how to work in a fast paced task driven environment.
Pros
management
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Monitor and Help Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 22, 2018
good company to work. You can make friends and have the chance to learn new things. Also if you attend school there you can have a scholarship and get your degree.
Pros
always busy
Cons
nothing to say
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
st josephs
Telecommunications Operator (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 24, 2017
here I did telecommunications where I sat at a computer and had a dial outbound for a research within residency or business all over the world it was the best job ever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun college work
TICKET SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 7, 2017
As a student at the university, I took pride in everything I did there. It was a college job, with a great work environment that taught me lessons I still carry with me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 4, 2017
I was a teaching assistant. Had to leave once I graduate. Why Indeed is making me write stuff even when I do not have anything to write about? Okay, two more words.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Saint Joseph's University?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going and considerate
Library Technician/Stacks Manager (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 1, 2017
A typical day working at Saint Joseph's is very busy.

I have learned a whole lot during my many years working there.

My management team very good with time off when taking vacations or sick time.

The workplace culture is good except times when staff gets over zealous thinking that they are in charge when they are not.

The hardest part of the job is getting along with certain staff members.

The most enjoyable part of the job is during the holidays the staff shows some spirit of giving.
Pros
Book store discount
Cons
Very high parking fees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 24, 2017
It is a great place to work. Everyone is helpful when it comes to providing hands-on training, questions, or information regarding unfamiliar systems.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Athletic Department
Intern (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 16, 2017
Even with more staff than other places, still felt stressed with having enough people to help out. Coworkers were fun. Needs to update technology for efficiency.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional growth
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 2, 2017
Saint Joseph's University is great place to work. It is an ideal environment to grow personally and professionally. The educationally opportunities are unlimited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saint Joseph's University
Stage Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 19, 2017
Worked there for over 5 years in the theatre department. It is a good theatre department - they always put on a good show. I was very happy to have a job there while I finished taking classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Club
PILOT (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 4, 2017
It was good experience but unpaid. It was only for a college club so I don't think this will be helpful to anyone, There were only two busy periods a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun work place
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 29, 2017
Work was exciting everyday. The staff were really caring and worked well together. Through difficult transitions staff was able to band together and make things run smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical university
Periodicals Technician (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 24, 2017
Good place to work. Jesuit university. Great campus. Pay not great but lots of perks and benefits. Straddles Philadelphia and suburbs. Cliqueish place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice enviroment, people are very friendly.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 31, 2017
I like working for SJU. Faculties and other staff members are super friendly and laid back. Admins work 4 days a week and every weekend is a long weekend which is something I don't like but it's okay as the benefits are great. Full tuition reimbursement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent School with Flexible management
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 14, 2017
The working environment is relaxed, with an awesome manager. The hardest part about the job is the fact that you are guarding lives, more specifically, children's lives during the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport