Saks Fifth Avenue Employee Reviews

Found 1,293 reviews matching the search See all 1,347 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and company culture, good room for advancement
OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  FloridaOctober 25, 2018
Worked as an Office Manager after being promoted multiple times. Learned a great deal about management and HR, as well as marketing. Decent room for growth and the company values internal promotions and employee satisfaction.
Pros
Discount, Benefits, Compensation
Cons
Work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly work place
Stock/Receiving (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 4, 2019
I enjoyed my time working at Saks. there is a friendly staff and environment as well as clean working areas. Just wish there was better pay and room for advancement.
Pros
producitve work space
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Loss Prevention Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 16, 2019
I was hired as loss prevention associate
Management at store level and corporate asset protection was great. Lots of external and internal theft!!!!
Pros
Salary
Cons
Parking, food expensive around there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Selling Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mebane, NCJanuary 1, 2019
There was never really a typical day at work because our environment was forever changing. I made plans knowing that they were just an outline because it all depended on business. At Saks I learned how to adapt to the forever changing environment and manage my employees based on those changes. Our workplace culture was fun and friendly. The hardest part of the job was planning and managing the business with less and less payroll allowed. At times it got very stressful due to lack of payroll. I really had to strategize to figure out a solution. The thing I enjoyed most about this job was it was very challenging. We constantly had to reprioritize and manage situations as they arose. There was never "the same day".
Pros
employee discount, benefits
Cons
work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Auditor (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILOctober 8, 2018
Good benefits, Offered the best opportunity for advancement. Gave me the best learning opportunities for my career. Great people to work with, made friendships.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation is poor
Stylist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 16, 2019
The draw system on sales is ridiculous. The draw system means you have to make your salary before commission. No livable wage achievable with draw for full time. Poor HR support.
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work part time not a career
Yves Saint Laurent Brand Ambassador (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 11, 2018
It's a Ok place to work if you are looking for part-time work. The company does not promote from within therefore no advancement. Also they do not offer pay raises. HR and Senior Management encourage you to sell more if you would like to see more money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saks Inc.
Collector (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSNovember 23, 2018
Saks had a comfortable atomsphere. The department I worked in was eliminated. Saks Corps was purchashed by HBC. The saks collections department is non-existent.
Pros
Vacations, good heath benefits and discounts.
Cons
Saks elinimated the department I was in.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers
BEAUTY COUNTER MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 1, 2018
Overall the pay is excellent and benefits are amazing. The sales goals are very unrealistic and there is a lot of stress involved. I loved the company discounts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Risk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MS 39209September 20, 2018
Saks Fifth Avenue was a great place to work, holidays in the office were full of laughter and cheer. The workload wasn't at all overwhelming and you were rewarded with raises and chances to win prizes, not to mention the flexible hours for the early birds and mid day people. My experience there was nothing less than satisfying and I would love to work for this company again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cosmetics Manager (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAAugust 18, 2018
Managers work together. Management strong.
Great team work throughout the store employees.
Great communication keeping everyone updated on events, promotions, new product launches etc,
Pros
Good Discounts - benifits
Cons
Pay to park
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  McLean, VASeptember 17, 2018
Off Saks 5th Avenue was a great company with good managers. The greatest part of the job was meeting new people and exceeding expectations. The culture was one of work now and reap the benefits later which was great.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Holiday season not a lot of time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Digital Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 21, 2018
not a great company. too many teams, can't get anything done from start to finish within marketing. benefits are not good and location is inconvenient. no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Saks is a great experience.
Store Merchandising Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 26, 2018
It was a great experience working at Saks Fifth Avenue, Ive gained experience in merchandising and met alot of great people. I worked in the mens department organizings the entire department.
Pros
Learned different departments
Cons
being part time no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saks Fofth Avenue
Asset Protection Investigator (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 25, 2018
Saks overall is an excellent place to work as far as retail goes and the pay is great. In my particular store and department only the management isn’t so great which is the only reason why I want to leave. People work for people not companies
Pros
Competitive salary, hours, closed on certain holidays, holiday pay, PTO after 6 months
Cons
Short Breaks, cannot work 40 hours a week, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places I was employed
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 24, 2018
I worked for Saks for almost 3 years. It was an amazing opportunity and would recommend this company to any young professional. Being a brad ambassador is one of the first steps to upward movement if you are in a sales associate position.
Pros
The shifts, upward movement and the ability to network
Cons
The recent change in benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Devil wears Prada atmosphere
Marketing Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 4, 2019
There are some truly heinous people that are in management for the company, balanced by some great colleges. Expect long hours and working very hard for difficult people, while being compensated very poorly.
Pros
Great employees
Cons
Nightmare personalities to deal with in management positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Brand Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 3, 2018
Micromanaging, burned out management, unprofessional situations. Sharks. Favorites are played. Management sharing private information with other associates.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 21, 2018
They are very hard on you with numbers. But you have to sell in order to make your salary. It is an all commission based company and you have to do a lot of outreach with clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
underwhelming experience based upon mother company's lineage
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 20, 2018
work life balance dependent on dept.'s staff size, little to no real on-boarding process, blatant favoritism. management goes above and beyond for customers but neglects staff.
Pros
exposure to luxury products at a discount
Cons
work/life balance, job culture, room for advancment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Saks Fifth Avenue. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,347 reviews
5425
4379
3329
2103
1111

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Saks Fifth Avenue.

Powered by Comparably