Samsung Electronics Employee Reviews

Found 1,295 reviews matching the search See all 5,875 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disrespectful plant manager.
Manager (Former Employee) –  South CarolinaJuly 15, 2018
2018
If you are ok to only have 10 paid days (this includes personal time off, vacation, leaving early), not see your family because of 50+ hours to work, no motivation, horrible system that no one has a clue on how to train people, make you feel unaccomplished because you have to follow a system that works in Korea but not in the USA, did I said no life balance?, long hours of work and you still behind, no comp time, no compensation for extra hours worked, then this place is for you. No respect for your family time.A lot of favoritism from the plant manager.
Forced to work weekends with overtime pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contradicting Culture
Training Learning and Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 13, 2018
Great opportunity for hard work and expertise building. Excellent compensation and benefits. Not a great company for motivating employee or for developing talent.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Poor Management, Poor Recognition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Samsung was a great company to work for
Staff Engineer (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXJuly 13, 2018
Samsung was a challenging and rewarding company to work for. They sponsored five of my patent applications, and the work was always rewarding and challenging.
A typical day was usually quiet, and offered intellectual challenges.

Management was definitely hands off, and I could make most decisions independently.

Culture was weird. Their obsession for security was peculiar. Walking out the front door was like entering the world via North Korea.

The hardest part was being an expert in an area with few capable collaborators.

Solving problems was always the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment, people were great
Customer Service Representative, device technician (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 11, 2018
management was cool, coworkers were cool, im just not the call center type of person but if you dont mind answering phones and you like android cell phones this job is amazing. i even won a samsung smart tv in december for working overtime.
Pros
parties, free stuff
Cons
answering phones
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place productive
CELL TECHNITION (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 10, 2018
I loved working for samsung beacause the work days went by fast and the enviroment was so friendly , we had great communication among employees, great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it but didn't last long
Quality Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 9, 2018
Hate always being a temp. Even though I'm very hard working I'm always the first to go. I love working with my hands and troubleshooting problems. Wanted a real shoot
Pros
hour
Cons
temp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Senior Technician, Metrology Applications, Process (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 6, 2018
High standards on work and work ethic
Teamwork and Teambuilding
Constant learning, steady growth
Recognition for good work
Goal oriented
Everyday is different
Pros
Monthly team building event, benefits
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
SYSTEMS TEST ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXJuly 4, 2018
poor management who threatened to fire contractors for doing their job. micro manager made it difficult to do daily tasks. contractors do not get fair and just treatment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Words and directives conflict
Equipment Technician II (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 3, 2018
Obsessed with security theater regardless of actual security provided it is taken very seriously. Tendency to run off best/brightest engineers and technicians. Still, very low bar to be a decent tech and maintain great job security. Compensation is great but expectation that Samsung becomes life/culture/tribe is ridiculous. Preach work/life balance but expect overtime.
Pros
Meal compensation, gym, discounts, stability
Cons
absurd culture, expect more than reciprocate, can be VERY political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, got a lot of learning from here.
IT Service Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CAJune 28, 2018
It’s a great place to work, work life balance and a lot of competition which pushes you to do more, they encourage self growth and training. Nice culture and good benefits too.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
All decision from Korea.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Samsung
Wireless Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 26, 2018
I worked at Samsung as a Construction Manager working on the Sprint Netvision Project. We were a tightly cohesive group that was able to get a lot of sites built and were able to get them thru the closeout process.
Pros
Good working Environment.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Senior Technical Trainer/Training Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAJune 25, 2018
Corporate has some built in racism coming from the Korean culture. Don't be dark skinned or be a woman and there are lots of opportunities here. Get passed over if you are a minority.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was cool
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCJune 25, 2018
It was a okay environment,not the best but it was a job and it will pay the bills i just don't agree with some of the strategies..I did have a okay manager and my hours werent so bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant Work Enviroment
HR Operations Representative & HRIS (contractor) (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 22, 2018
Pleasant Work Environment and Great Team Culture. The most enjoyable part of the job is working in a Large Corporate Environment of a Major Company like Samsung.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Samsung Review
Field Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Dover, DEJune 21, 2018
A day with Samsung is meeting with clients and building upon current company relationships. Definitely a hands on approach to meeting and exceeding expectations. It does require a lot of traveling depending on your giving territory. The most enjoyable part of the job is definitely the people that you interact with during all store visits. Along with your fellow Field Sales Managers they make it a pleasant work environment. The management staff was definitely the most taxing if not the worst part of that job. Most of time they did not have any answers or resolutions to any problems that came up. It was a constant game of ring around the rosey since all they did was bounce you back and forth between two of them.
Pros
Free travel during national training meetings, first to see and experience new technologies and devices
Cons
2020 Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productice work place
LTD-Assembler (Former Employee) –  Bosan South KoreaJune 18, 2018
This company gives you the opportunity to grow, I enjoy working for this company and i will recommend anybody that want to improve on their career by looking for a better opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good company
Failure Analysis Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 17, 2018
Very aggressive. Limited learning knowledge. Management and work culture were asian culture. Communication is hard sometime and bonuses were great. The hardest was to stay in Korean for more than a month
Pros
Good product
Cons
Communication was not great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work although I technically worked for Mozaic
Sales Lead(Manager) (Former Employee) –  Bismarck, NDJune 17, 2018
Overall it was a good job I worked at Best Buy with the Samsung Experience Store. I never technically worked directly for Samsung but even through Mosiac, I found the pay and benefits to be excellent for the experience necessary. They had a somewhat flexible schedule and were very understanding of any medical or personal issues. About the only knock on them is the lack of chemistry between the Best Buy and Samsung staff. The Best Buy staff generally were less educated about their products than the Samsung staff. Overall working there was a relatively good experience and the paid time off and extra pay for holidays and a good hourly wage added up to a really good employment. For me and many aspects I do regret taking a different job.
Pros
Good to great pay, excellent benefits, a lot of chances for advancement
Cons
The atmosphere can be better and working at Best Buy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance poor
Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 17, 2018
This is a culture based on Korea's mantra of Company first, then country, then family. So a lot of scarifies must be made for long work hour to succeed. Pay was good to keep employees from leaving.
Pros
Good bennifits
Cons
Lomg hpours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and innovative
LEAD PRODUCT SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAJune 15, 2018
I enjoyed working at samsung and this company cares about its employees. The perks and incentives are amazing and makes me happy. It was a pleasure working with such a great company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Samsung Electronics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 5,880 reviews
52.3K
42K
31.2K
2278
1172

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

29%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

57%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss