SANDBAR Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 37 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, wonderful staff and ownership
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Fernandina Beach, FLJuly 10, 2019
I was very excited to work with Sandbar and also learned new techniques that were helpful in my culinary journey. If I had the chance to reapply and move back to Fernandina Beach, Florida, Sandbar will be my place of employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work weekends for extra cash
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Nags Head, NCApril 22, 2019
Had an am2zing work experience would definitely go back for more seasonal weekend work in the future
Earned like 300 a weekend by just cleaning an meeting great people
Pros
Beautiful work eniroment amazing managment
Cons
Stinky well water
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, busy Mexican restaurant/nightclub with a young staff
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CAFebruary 13, 2019
Sandbar is a fun, lively restaurant to work at! We function with teamwork and a reliable staff. We always work hard to give residents of Santa Barbara the best dining experience with excellent service to keep them Coming back again and again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Bartender/Cook (Former Employee) –  Vinalhaven Island, MENovember 29, 2018
The Sandbar was the only year round restaurant on the island of 2500 people. It was the hub of the community. Everyone knew everyone. It was a family run business and a great place to work.
Pros
free meals
Cons
sometimes long hours (doubles) however still enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Bartender/Cook (Former Employee) –  Akron, OH 44319September 17, 2018
The customers run the bar and the employees have virtually no say. The salary is low for what you have to do. There is a lot of issues in there. I think it is not an above average place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMSeptember 11, 2018
Love the clients
fun friendly coworkers
great security manager
bar managers are amazing
Dealing with overly intoxicated was not fun at times
Love love my coworkers, waitress's and cooks were so amazing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect
Assistent Bar Manager (Former Employee) –  EssexJune 18, 2018
Perfect worling place, beautiful people and so helpful.
Even when it gets really busy everyone keep it calm and understand everybody's needs.
Lovely group of worlers, I miss working there
Pros
Chilled
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work on the beach
Server (Current Employee) –  Delray Beach, FLMay 23, 2018
This is a great entry level serving job but beware of the management. They have zero customer service skills and treat their staff with disrespect. I’m not sure how many of them still hold a job.
Pros
No side work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sandbar
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Delray Beach, FLMarch 18, 2018
Great Job to work for. The atmosphere is very fun to work in and the guest are very nice. Sandbar is a very busy restaurant that pays well and takes care of every guest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CAMarch 7, 2018
Worst management I have ever worked for. The general manager has no respect for employees and will yell at anyone and everyone. GM is never wrong at anything. terrible terrible terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups and Downs
Pastry Chef (Current Employee) –  Cold Spring Harbor, NYMarch 7, 2018
As with many restaurants this one too has its ups and downs. I was brought in at a very busy time and after agreeing to part time hours within a month I was up to full time hours. I gave all of myself for this job only for them to slash my hours by 75% right after New Years. I am hardly needed at the moment and they say to wait until it gets busy again. Trying to hold a career and manage a family of 5 I was hoping for some sense of job security. As much as I enjoy the other chefs that I work with, the management is very poor and his no care in the world for its employees. I am sad to be looking for another job but it is time.
Pros
executive chef is wonderful
Cons
poor management by general manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Marco Island, FLFebruary 1, 2018
Good casual place to eat and drink, under went new management and suffered great loses. Many employees walked out, new staff didn't work out well, over all was a great place but changes have affected that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees were great, manager lacked humane characteristics
Barback/Bartend (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CANovember 19, 2017
The work environment was competitive and ultimately enjoyable, but the manager made a lot of promises but didn't follow through with them. Moved up to barback from security within three weeks from working seven days a week, but never moved up to bartender even though my work ethic continued to excel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
owner
Chef, Owner, concept development (Former Employee) –  anguillaAugust 11, 2017
once again I was the owner
very busy tapas bar, sold it in 2017.
the main reason I sold it is because of certain situations beyond my control
So that was it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Athens, GAApril 10, 2017
Best Management I have ever worked for. Very flexible hours and I was able to pick which nights of the week I wanted to work. Everyone was outgoing and friendly, recommend to everyone looking for a great part-time job!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace across the street from the beach!
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Delray Beach, FL 33483December 2, 2016
Working at Sandbar was always fun. It is an outside cocktail bar that has a DJ on the weekends, and is always busy. Working there allowed me to learn how to work well with a variety of people. It let me become more outgoing. The staff and management were the best group of people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Shot Girl/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJune 11, 2016
Bartended mixed drinks.
Prepared shots.
Worked long nights.
Met great people.
Night time job.
A typical day at work was working in a very crowded environment but it was one of the best atmosphere to be in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brielle, NJJanuary 12, 2016
I felt this was a typical hostess job. It was summer hours and constantly busy. I learned to be better at multi-tasking and helping costumers. My co-workers were nice and helpful when I first started working there. The hardest part of the job would be learning the menu and handling to-go orders. The most enjoyable part would be seeing the costumers and staff who were always friendly and fun to be around.
Pros
Good environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place where everyone is friendly
Bartender / Mixologist (Former Employee) –  New Port Richey, FLNovember 12, 2015
Like cheers in a beach like atmosphere. Great bands great drinks great people and great deals. I worked here for a year and a half and really missed all the folks over there when I left
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Bowman, GASeptember 25, 2015
The experience I had there was awesome. I've never worked in such a loving environment, everyone likes each other and for the most part, were hard workers.
Pros
free lunch, on the river, great co-workers, awesome boss
Cons
the heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SANDBAR. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 37 reviews
514
411
35
23
14

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.6Culture