Sandy Spring Bank Employee Reviews

Showing all 50 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Mortgage Loan Analyst/Mortgage Closing Analyst (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDSeptember 10, 2018
Partnered with loan originators,underwriters and closers daily to ensure all parties were aware of the loan within my pipeline which were closing or were going to close within the month
Pros
Team Mates
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Senior Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDAugust 2, 2018
Production goals are strong, but makeable. Work often takes more than 9 to 5 to complete due to tight staffing. Support areas are manned to a bare minimum.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Atmosphere
UNIVERSAL BANKER II (Current Employee) –  Bethesda, MDJuly 20, 2018
Great Work Atmosphere
Great Team
Great Management
Great Location
Great Work
Advancement Opportunities
Career Advancements
Managerial Job Advancements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Administrative Asst (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDJuly 13, 2018
I enjoyed the people. I disliked the hypocrisy. The area was nice, at lunch you could go to the harbor and eat near the water. Very good dynamic amongst co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Vice President - Commercial Lending (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 28, 2018
If it were not for a relocation to South Carolina from Maryland, I could see Sandy spring bank being a long term career for me. They were wonderful gracious people who really cared about their employees.
Pros
Wonderful atmosphere, flexible schedules
Cons
No gym!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job ya know
Client Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 3, 2018
Nothing great and nothing horrible. You can spend the rest of your life here or grow and leave, choice is completely yours. I think they have been able to help me and show me what I do and don't want out of my career.
Pros
Lunches, Cook outs, Gift Cards
Cons
Small bank
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company-low advancement
Customer Care Training Specialist (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDApril 4, 2018
The client service center is a great way to get your foot in the door but if you want to advance to certain areas, be prepared to move, commute or say in the same place indefinitely. People stay at Sandy Spring for life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Community Bank
VICE PRESIDENT (Former Employee) –  Olney, MDMarch 22, 2018
Sandy Spring is a strong partner in the community and an excellent company. The work is challenging. The professional culture supports growth and development. I enjoyed working with a growing company and having the opportunity to learn .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Culture and Benefits
Operations Administrator (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDFebruary 24, 2018
The culture and benefits were excellent. However, I felt as though management wasn't there to support the improvement of employees...................
Pros
Benefits, Culture
Cons
Short lunch breaks, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank Culture
Audit Officer II (Former Employee) –  Olney, MDFebruary 13, 2018
Bank environment is fast paced. Management is demanding. Hours are good. Salary is based on experience. Title is based on salary. 401K available. PTO .
Pros
Good Hours
Cons
Not to much advancement or growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mature Company
Trust Associate (Current Employee) –  Bethesda, MDJanuary 29, 2018
For young employees they may feel stifled by the old school values and processes of the company. Upward mobility seems limited to the retirement of senior employees. New job growth within the company is minimal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family
IT/Helpdesk Intern (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MD 21046December 16, 2017
A great company to work for. Everyone is eager to come to work and collaborate with each other. All employees know each other and there is a strong family atmosphere.
Pros
Family Atmosphere
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great values
HR Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDNovember 23, 2017
SSB, is a great company to work for. It has amazing culture, always out in the community, and it puts great values on it's employees. As a student, they will give you money for school for both PT and FT employees. Also the management is great and genuinely wants you to be successful. If you want to grow and learn a lot about business they have all the resources, you just have to take advantage of them.
Pros
Great Benefits, Great Work-Life Balance
Cons
Pay could be slightly higher
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place. Well liked in the community!
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDNovember 17, 2017
I actually loved working here! I made an error that cost me my employment but I'd return at the drop of a hat! My coworkers and managers were all super pleasant and endearing and the type of work was really relaxing. Not at all like what I expected from a banking institution. They never nagged or pushed things on clients and we worked on first names basis with all clients!
Pros
Staff, work flow, benefits, environment
Cons
pay could have been slightly higher
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for a beginner
Client Services Specialist (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDSeptember 23, 2017
Sandy Spring Bank is a perfect place for a young person just starting in the world of work. However, a more experienced worker might want to look elsewhere. Even though they have a great benefit package, the hourly pay is not enough for a seasoned, experienced worker. Sandy Spring Bank has a low turnover rate, so waiting for a better position to open might be a lesson in patients. Great place to work just not enough on the paycheck.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead Teller Responsibilitites
Lead Teller (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDAugust 17, 2017
Daily Balancing of teller drawer
Vault
training new tellers
Answering phones
Sales
Opening and closing procedures
Scheduling appointments
getting ready for yearly Audits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer oriented workplace
Bank Teller (Current Employee) –  Olney, MDAugust 17, 2017
Good place to work, very inconsistent on promotions and pay raises. Good communication between managers and lower employees. A generally positive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a fair working environment
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Olney, MDAugust 7, 2017
Sandy Spring Bank used a typical model for employee hierarchy and was generally pleasant to work for.

While not receptive to unconventional strategies or concepts, Sandy Spring Bank maintained a perfectly acceptable bearing and was appealing to its target market.
Pros
A relatively balanced work environment with short bursts of energetic activity.
Cons
Lacking collaborative, inclusive efforts and rigid in hiring practices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Bank Teller/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Bethesda, MDJuly 31, 2017
Working at Sandy Spring Bank is great because there is a work-life balance; I work hard enough to earn a fair pay for decent hours, while also having the free time to pursue my interests.
Pros
job pays fairly
Cons
no paid vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 9, 2017
Amazing place to work. More like family. They adhere to your needs as well as others. Very professional, very warm and welcoming company to work for. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sandy Spring Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 50 reviews
523
413
38
22
14

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture