Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is full of biased ppl
Coach Iperator (Former Employee) –  San Jose CAMarch 13, 2018
If your not a cousin brother or uncle it can be very difficult to get pass a 6 month probation however if your a legacy they'll let you get into accidents,, miss work be disrespectful to coworkers. So it just depends on your personal circumstances if they'll allow you to drive 1 of their buses which keep in mind starts at 17ph during training but if you get through 8months of pure bullsheed then maybe you can have a good career at VTA keep in mind management doesn't support the drivers so the drivers get abused by the public and management I think this is done by design in order for the drivers not to collect the retirement money 5 drivers died in my brief time there so you've been warned.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for experience
Public Communication Specialist I (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 12, 2017
If you want to get an all around hands on experience with marketing, I would suggest working at VTA. The Marketing Department is small and close-knit. I was able to handle areas such as managing in-kind promotional partnerships, helping produce marketing collateral, and creating copy for blogs and social media. On top of all that, the workers are very friendly. Good place to work, especially if you are just starting or enjoy working in the public sector.
Pros
Friendly employees, good food, caring and understanding managers
Cons
Boring office scenery, a little dirty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Chief Administrative Officer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 11, 2017
Everyone here is a happy employee and there are some high caliber individual contributors that help make it an outstanding place to work. The mission of the organization is well established and well understood by all.
Pros
on Light Rail line
Cons
Old facilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Coach Operator (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 4, 2017
It was a great learning experience.
Good job with good benefits and good pay.
Would recommend that job to a friend and would like to do something similar to that job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CASeptember 26, 2016
Good company to work for. very fast pace. a lot of opportunity for growth. The hardest part of my job is the people you work with.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Human Resources Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 19, 2016
Unfortunately, the management at VTA will drive most employees away. The agency loves to congratulate themselves on promoting diversity and inclusion but have a long record of EEOC complaints against them for discrimination. The only plus is the compensation and benefits which are the highest out of all other public agency in the Bay Area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summer job
BUS OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAFebruary 19, 2015
this was a summer job that i ended up having when i graduated High School i wasn't there for to long all i did was good patties and that was pretty much it.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Agency
Maintenance Superintendent (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 3, 2015
This was a great agency to work for and I am very fortunate to have spent my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An otherwise wonderful company! Standards set very high for public sake!
Coach Operator (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 26, 2013
The job of bus driver was a great one! No work day was ever the

same as the previous work day! I so much enjoyed being able to

be in the position to basically work outdoors, independently, and

be involved with getting people from point A to point B! It was a way of

doing a public service, without being in school for ten years! A bonus

was a very good salary!
Pros
the independence of the job! being able to operate such large vehicles!
Cons
non employee friendly management nor union! but there were great exception!
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stable place to work
Information Service Rep/Customer Services (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 5, 2012
I love it there. Spent much of my working life at this place. I loved interacting with the public. My co workers were people I came to love.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
management could be tough to deal with at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people with need for direction, important services provided.
Senior Real Estate Representative (Former Employee) –  San Jose CaliforniaJuly 20, 2012
Established policies and procedures, to set up and manage the Asset Management department.
Management was spread to thin, needed focus and direction.
Co-workers were excellent with a desire to produce and succeed.
Set up department to coordinate accounting function using SAP system.
Pros
co workers and job funitons
Cons
management lack of dirction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 12 reviews
55
43
30
23
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Reviews by Location