SAVAGE Employee Reviews

Found 211 reviews matching the search See all 226 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get their money worth out of you plus
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Melvindale, MIJune 18, 2018
Lived at work for my salary. Company history and culture are based on great expectations and the company tries to maintain it. But we as salary employees aren't the owners and shouldn't be expected to live at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Newport, DEJune 4, 2018
It's a small office. Coworkers were nice and friendly.
The work was good, but not for the money.
The immediate manager didn't know how to manage.
Pros
Enjoyed working with coworkers
Cons
Bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, management and working atmosphere.
Team Member (Current Employee) –  UtahMay 29, 2018
I love the people that I work with at Savage. They are all great people and make work more enjoyable. My managers have always been very respectful and willing to help me succeed. I enjoy coming to work each day and I feel appreciated by my coworkers. I feel the company tries hard to create a safe and family oriented atmosphere. Also, the company keeps growing which gives me comfort in having a stable job for many years. I have never been happier at any other job than here at Savage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Midvale, UTMay 25, 2018
Savage is a great company with a great culture but be prepared to work hard. Great place for career advancement and to make a difference. If you like a challenge and want to be fairly compensated I would recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure and Challenging Place to work
Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Midvale, UTMay 24, 2018
Great place to work with solid culture. Secure place to work that is challenging and fun. Always something to do. Manage your time wisely. However, you can achieve a good work / life balance.
Pros
Vacation, benefits, good pay, competitive, challenging, collaborative
Cons
No structured advancement process (contribute as best you can for the team)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with a bright future
Director (Current Employee) –  LouisianaMay 10, 2018
Savage has the size, stability and balance sheet to give you the comfort that it isn't going away. And yet, it's organized into autonomous business units and operations that give it a small-company / entrepreneurial feel.

Great people that want to do the right thing, in balance, for the company, the customers and the employees. Not a cutthroat environment, but there's a continual push to improve and find a better way.

We are facing some struggles as we grow from a small family business to a large, scaleable enterprise. But we're navigating the transition well, all things considered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut throat
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Elko, NV 89801May 2, 2018
very cut throat. Several different shifts. Shifts starting between 1-4 am. Tankers too slick in winter to climb on top of to open up lids. Hoses extremely heavy
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible all over
Driver/slave (Former Employee) –  Cuddy, PAApril 23, 2018
If you are a person that's into sitting around for below par pay surrounded by immature managers and crew members. Then this is the place for you. If you want organization room for advancement a GOOD pay. Decent equipment.dont waste your time. If you're a person that wants to sit playing on your phone 95% of the day and make less that 18 bucks an hour. Sign up and enjoy.
Pros
A place for the lazy worthless morons to thrive
Cons
Everything. Savage dropped the ball on this business venture
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a shame...
Tech (Former Employee) –  N Canton, OHApril 19, 2018
It's a ok company if you're Caucasian. previous manager at N. Canton branch was a great person but new manager is not if you're a person of color. Watch your back if you do get on board.. it probably won't last long... he will find a way to terminate you... but keep a number...
Pros
None
Cons
Main manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Savage Transportation Williston. ND
Crude Oil Driver (Former Employee) –  Trenton, NDApril 17, 2018
Watch your back. You are responsible for your actions. Even if it’s not your fault you will be held accountable. That adds up and used against you. Other than that I would still be there. Good safety culture. Highly recommend working there. Can’t be more honest than that.
Pros
Good pay and benefits. Good Manager
Cons
Took housing allowance away
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but compensation and benefits are good
COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Rifle, COApril 14, 2018
They expect a lot but compensate well for the work. Management is constantly changing. Very little training, you must be willing to meet challenges and ask questions.
Pros
Stable company
Cons
Upper management changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Lead Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Price, UTApril 14, 2018
How. Atmosphere was very comforting. Alot of new jobs and learning a new job is very imparative I would refer anyone to work in savages environment as I did
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Tmo (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXApril 8, 2018
Watch what you say around certain certain people . Because they will go into the office and rat you out.
Careful if you work with the crybaby crew they will throw you under the bus. And they also have the best dozer operator West of the Mississippi, so he thinks. He’s just a whiny little crybaby !!! Place is full of snakes
Pros
Pay and 4 days off
Cons
Working with snakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with Supportive Team Culture
Manager (Current Employee) –  TexasApril 2, 2018
I enjoy the work and the people at Savage. They are very family oriented, but push hard for delivering results. They are also open to different ideas and ways to approach opportunities.
Pros
Work, Compensation, Management
Cons
Travel can be heavy at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much favoritism
Regional Driver (Current Employee) –  TexasApril 1, 2018
Good job, good pay.... favoritism rules the roost, if you can put up with the bs, it's a good job! Some drivers get away with everything so I guess we will see if that changes with the ELD mandate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok not much to say
Heater operator (Current Employee) –  Williston, NDMarch 27, 2018
Well I’m not going to say negative things about this company. I started here in 2014, made good pay. Just time for me to move on to something else. So that’s that.
Pros
No comment
Cons
No comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed, strong culture
Sr. Accountant (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMarch 27, 2018
Very strong culture and leadership. Interesting work. Very goal oriented with lots of opportunity to learn and grow. They are the standard of excellence to which all other jobs are compared.
Pros
Strong leaders
Cons
Strong culture that some find irritating
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging work center
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Downtown LAMarch 27, 2018
Nice work place with fun and articulate people, a great workplace with a reasonable amount of hours. Savage had a lot of diversity in clothing. I enjoyed seeing people smile when they would leave with their purchase.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political Nightmare
Financial Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Westminster, COMarch 27, 2018
Management promotes a cut throat environment in which the only way to advance is to cut down and destroy fellow employee's. Do yourself a favor and avoid this toxic workplace at all costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Savage
Financial/Safety Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Martinez, CAMarch 22, 2018
I am at a very small location for Savage. Great opportunity if you are willing to travel to work in other states or locations. People are friendly and work is fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SAVAGE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 226 reviews
554
460
350
226
136

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight