Save-A-Lot Employee Reviews

Found 2,499 reviews matching the search See all 2,509 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed employees and store
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Batesville, MSOctober 14, 2018
I managed employees and helped customers. I managed the entire store on a day to day basis. This included making sure the store was stocked, clean and safe.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere
Cons
Sometimes stressful/ not enough money or benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  ArnoldOctober 13, 2018
I always had fun at save a lot. It was a small store with very few workers but when you walked In you knew you were in a family. The pay wasn't great but you are paid weekly. You are on your feet all day however and there are no chairs for cashiers to sit on. After doing all the tasks needed theres not to much else to do and working there can feel like an eternity. However the fun is how you interact with customers. Usually they're all very nice and very chatty!♡
Pros
Friendly staff, 15 min break, friendly customers, closed relatively early 8pm sharp
Cons
No discounts, only one break, creepos, feels like an eternity when closing time comes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind of stressful, not a great job.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Middlesboro, KYOctober 13, 2018
The only thing I like about working at Save-A-Lot was getting paid weekly, it was just minimum wage but it was nice to get the check every Friday, I’ve never been a fan of biweekly pay. The company and management doesn’t really care about you or your wellbeing as long as u show up and work when they say to they don’t really care about anything else.. There isn’t really any advancements with that company which is a big deal for me. Couldn’t really make a career out of working there. Plus NO BENEFITS!
Pros
Weekly pay, No skills or resume required.
Cons
No benefits, not flexible with your life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Belding, MIOctober 13, 2018
Save-A-Lot is understaffed. Management stands around and talks. Nothing gets done or cleaned. Filthy place. The cashier doesnt have time to do anything in between customers, and everything is put on the P.I.C (person in charge) who is paid .50 more than the cashier. P.I.C's dont have time to take a break, but they give breaks.
Pros
None
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fair cool
Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 13, 2018
I enjoyed working at save a lot the team members are awesome the managers are fair and nice to work with. I learned how to stock the shelves in the store and back of the store. I also Cleaned Bathrooms anything they needed me to do.
Pros
Good Customer Service
Cons
No Store Discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTOctober 12, 2018
Working at Save-A-Lot was a very fast-paced environment. During the Snap Benefits which during the first week of each month is when things get a little hectic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Shift Lead (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 12, 2018
Save a lot is a great advancement opportunity because it trains you in many different areas and helps you build experience so if you ever decided to quit you'll leave with plenty experience in many areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grocrie store
Night Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIOctober 11, 2018
I very nice place to work and everybody there I very nice and down to earth. I my bosses was very nice and we had fun.a very nice store very clean they are very perfessional people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i wouldn't recommend this job too no one workers aren't appreciated
Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  Seat Pleasant, MDOctober 10, 2018
a typical day at save a lot can never work lack of space. I learned its time too move and better myself. management is terrible its time to move on and better myself. workplace people all for themselves.Hardest part of the job putting your all into a job no one appreciate the work that's been done. It was enjoyable until new management came aboard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty easy going job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Versailles, KYOctober 10, 2018
In my experience as working at Save-A-Lot I noticed that a lot of time the managers will play favorites and let those in favor go and do easy busy work while everyone else is stuck on register. What made me agitated the most is I could be out there busting my butt and another worker could be just talking and we still got paid roughly the same.
Pros
Comfortable work environment. Nice people.
Cons
short breaks, lots of hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Save-A-Lot?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast past
Order Picker (Current Employee) –  Winchester, KYOctober 10, 2018
Fast past
Production
Self driven work environment
Very cold some time -25 or more
Very physical
Must lift and stack large boxes
Must be able to communicate with others and your head set at same time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut throat racist
Lead Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAOctober 10, 2018
I would give them a negative 100.how you gone to fire people because if performance skill. Employee ( Angelle Davis) got fire for stealing and 3 months later after she paid save alot back for stealing they rehire her. That's discrimination. Because you are not to rehire someone for lack of performance but you can hire a person that STEALS..never work for them this is an evil, racist company I hope I become big one day and but this company out.....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOOctober 9, 2018
As A cashier I maintain good customer skills, A typical day at work having to deal wit rude customers, bad language,work place I seen customers complain about produces, how rude some employee are in bad customer skills,The hardest part in being in Save a Lot having to moody customers,I enjoy a Few Mangers that left in the past.a
Pros
Never really have breaks
Cons
Short Break, No Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt really enjoy the job at the end
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Rock Falls, ILOctober 9, 2018
i enjoye dmy job when I first started working there and the position that i had but the manangement changed and emplyee turn over was high and there wasnt any team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's laid back ,fun and the work is easy
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LAOctober 8, 2018
The manager is nice easy to talk to ,and very helpful all the time I enjoy learning how to stock stuff getting to know my co workers and learning a skill
Pros
More off days
Cons
Paid less money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did management and other jobs
Key Carrier (Former Employee) –  Hazard, KYOctober 8, 2018
Save a lot is a good place to work for part time employees but if this is your lively hood there really isn't enough pay for the cost of living in Kentucky
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 7, 2018
It was good to work in for a while
The schedule was sometimes off but in the end they set a good schedule.
After certain amount time we got a 40 cent raise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss treatment of women by many uppermanagement. To many different leaders have come and gone with all different ideas.
Category Manager, Fresh Poultry and Ground Turkey (Former Employee) –  Corp. Headquarters, Earth City MissouriOctober 7, 2018
Learned everything on my own.
Workplace culture is violent and not healthy
Management comes and goes constanctly. Management only stays 2 years and leaves.
Typical day is fire drills and crazy,
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 7, 2018
My opinion is its fun to work there you get great customers nice employee nice mangers great price on the meat produce and on the products and you get great customers servers
Pros
Great price
Cons
Not enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I stuck all day and I help do Check people out
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 7, 2018
It’s a cool job but you do not get paid that much and you do not get no paid time off I just do not like working a minimum wage job that’s why I really want to leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save-A-Lot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 2,510 reviews
5605
4610
3790
2266
1239

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

2.0Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss