Save-A-Lot Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 1,690 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5415
4424
3511
2190
1150
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,686 reviews matching the search See all 1,690 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work around
Meat cutter (Current Employee) –  Valdosta, GAMay 23, 2018
Work in a team player and come on time a treat a person how you want to be treated have any question as to management and plus you have a problem with the employee you go to the management
Pros
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Store Manager and Division Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 21, 2018
Would have been perfect if had a chance to move up, but in stores you are not viable unless you are in ST Louis. Local offices have a lot of politics for such a small office.
Pros
Simple Operation
Cons
Brought people in form outside
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Lauderdale Lakes, FLMay 21, 2018
Working with Save A Lot is great the employee work with you and help at all time. The managers are also helping you and you have some friendly customers
Pros
none
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No hours
Cashier (Former Employee) –  York, PAMay 20, 2018
They really didn't offer many hours only 4 fulltime people there. the Butcher, The Manager, Assistant Manager, The Associate Manager so most people get 20 hours or less unless you're Joe \
Pros
Managers nice
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MIMay 19, 2018
The work at save a lot is slow but it’s a good job if you need something part time, i enjoyed working here but it just wasn’t for me. all of the managers were related and i wasn’t a fan
Pros
Break whenever you want
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at save a lot is awful
Olive Hill - Cashier (Former Employee) –  Olive Hill, KYMay 18, 2018
Your hours here are never the same, the will blame stuff on you that other workers did, and they will cut your hours to give to the other workers. The breaks are short if you get any at all and the management is awful.
Cons
Short breaks, Drama, no set hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Harrodsburg, KYMay 18, 2018
This save a lot and poorly managed and not productive. The manager has favorites and you will never get hours. The managers also talks poorly about employees behind their back to other employees.
Pros
10 minute break
Cons
no raises, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic work place with some really awesome co workers
Cashier/Stocker/ fill in Book keeper (Former Employee) –  SCMay 17, 2018
There is little good I can say about my time working for this company. Under paid for doing more than one job in the store, never allowed to advance. That being said i DID enjoy my coworkers.
Pros
small store close nit community
Cons
healthcare, no vacation time, pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
RETAIL MANAGER AND SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 16, 2018
A typical day at work was very fast pace. I gained a lot of management skills. Management was different at each store but fair overall. There was a Collaborate work place. The hardest part of the job was the long work hours. I most enjoyed meeting new people and the very fast pace makes the day go by fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Allendale, MIMay 15, 2018
You had a lot of responsibilities as just a cashier, including cleaning and stocking shelves. They expect you to do everything while still making sure to take care of every customer ready to check out at any time. Overall it was okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back, fun, and easy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Niles, OHMay 14, 2018
Just be polite to customers and stay busy! Remember to get the carts . the people there were always cool and always helpful if u needed them. Managers treated u with respect as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, MDMay 14, 2018
Just like any other job. The management was fair to all employees. Was able to stay busy during the whole shift. The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enjoyable, and bad people
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 14, 2018
i didnt like nothing about save a lot, everyone was very disrespectful. i hate when i use to work for them but i had no other choice because i needed money.
Pros
bad
Cons
not fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier/stocker (Former Employee) –  Monroe, LAMay 13, 2018
its a family oriented place where you learn hard work , communication skills as well as problem solving attributes. I recommend anyone to work at save-a-lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job.
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIMay 13, 2018
Your day usually starts with the store opening and as you work your way into the store, you condition and face the store. You have your own till which you count in the beginning and end of your shift... If its short your responsible..when i was there you had to work 6 hours for a break and more than 8 for a lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
HEAD CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Riverview, FLMay 12, 2018
Extremely boring to work here. You hear the same 70s songs on repeat all day every day. Customers always think they are right. Would not recommend unless you enjoy tedious work.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under staffed over worked
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 11, 2018
Expects perfection, understaffed and over worked. Only had one maybe two cashiers at a time with one manager. Now room for error, excuses of any kind not accepted. Very stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Bagger (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 11, 2018
I like how they let you make up hours to fixed sick days missed the managers are always on their a game and the store is always very clean. The security is also top notch and made us feel safe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and unfair with favoritism
Cashier and Dairy dept. manager (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIMay 11, 2018
I learned how to stock and run/order for the dairy department, along with general stock and register. Management was poor and showed favoritism towards others. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the backstabbing and harassing co-workers and the hostile environment it created.The best part of the job was creating connections, bonds, and friends with the customers.
Pros
I have experience in grocery/retail
Cons
Favoritsm and harassing co-workers and poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is ok
Shift Leader/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Douglas, GAMay 10, 2018
This job was ok. I learned many things however this was just a stepping stone. The one thing I did like was the diversity and the support from management and my fellow team members.
Pros
Diversity
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save-A-Lot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.1Career Opportunities

1.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight