Save-A-Lot Employee Reviews

Found 2,654 reviews matching the search See all 2,665 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a long term solution
Order Selector (Current Employee) –  Winchester, KYJanuary 18, 2019
Honestly the company isnt that bad. Their goals are unrealistically critical. They struggle to keep enough head count despite several hiring events a year. A very demanding job, starting you 8 hours in a constant temperature well below zero. You have a certian number of cases that you have to pick before you go home that day. So if your having a bad day you could easily end up being there 12-13hrs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 18, 2019
money handling. Register service. Love the talking with customers everyday.
Handling of any customer complaints or needs.
Sometime can be very busy and the hardest part is been standing up for long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high energy
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Metairie, LAJanuary 18, 2019
At save-a-lot you have many task to do. you are told to never not be busy.while i was there i work the meat department for a months. It was relly hard work.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
last nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job. Fast paced
DISTRICT SALES LEADER (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 18, 2019
OK Job, fast paced. Never dull, always changing. Expect to work hard and to push your team to gain expected results. Focus on training and devlepment key.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 17, 2019
Save a lot is a pretty good place to work in because the managers and trainers are very nice & they help a lot of people get to where they want to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save alot was a busy and fun place to work. Dealing with customers everyday was a great experience.
Produce Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 17, 2019
A day at save alot was very productive starting off every morning i would half to check all produce in front of the store to make sure it wasn't any mold on them. Also a truck that is broken down and seperated from meat, goods, milk and produce.
Pros
Cheap meals for lunch and flexible schedules were good at save alot.
Cons
The breaks were short and it was only few employees working the receiving room.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 17, 2019
Fast paced working enviroment, Limited store associates to comloete work. Work life balance was not very possible working for Save-a-lot. Oppertunities were limited.
Pros
the people
Cons
limited staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and develop
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 17, 2019
it was a pleasure to work for a company that is heading in a new direction and i wish them well in doing this. I hope down the road I can be part of the vision they have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was crazy
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 17, 2019
Very very very poor management they didnt want to hire new ppl they didng have enough help at all in none of the department in the store they had to pull p everywhere
Pros
Discounts on food items
Cons
Not enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Marion, OHJanuary 16, 2019
I learned how to handle office work, payroll, inventory and how to manage a shift on my own. The best part of the day was smart talk with the guests. Very clean and fun work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and full of drama
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cobleskill, NYJanuary 16, 2019
Many of the employees like to talk down to others and tend to often be disrespectful when giving direction.

The management is not willing to work with employees and is quick to dismiss any outside concern not realated to the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
cashier (Former Employee) –  New Lexington, OHJanuary 15, 2019
I enjoyed working with most of the employees and enjoyed meeting new people. I left because Im not for the drama and there was an employee who wanted to try and fight me over someone telling her i said something about her and i never did. mos tof the managers are nice and care for there employees and work place.
Pros
made new friends
Cons
not enough hours not good pay to much drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment
CATEGORY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 15, 2019
Save a Lot was a good company that has evolved into a terrible place to work. People are consistently leaving without a job just to get away. That says it all!

Avoid at all costs...
Pros
People
Cons
Zero life balance, daily beatings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough, fast paced with little communicaiton
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Alton, ILJanuary 14, 2019
Little communication from corporate office to the stores. Difficult work place in a competitive environment. New CEO is doing great things for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Challenging
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Kalkaska, MIJanuary 14, 2019
Manager was very difficult to work with. She would forget to put in for your medical and rarely gave raises. Work ethic was very poor. Other employees were very helpful and assisted whenever needed.
Pros
Experience with meat cutting
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being subjective to doing plenty jobs
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJanuary 14, 2019
save-a-lot was an experience that I enjoyed working.you have opportunity early after being hired of working in different departments.i was a cashier and a stocker. I even worked in the meat dept.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLJanuary 14, 2019
This place used to be a fun and good place to work at but has turned into a stressful place to work at.Could not go overtime due to hour cuts and get a raise every 700 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLJanuary 14, 2019
This is above all the best place i have worked in ..my managers where great and help full they thought me everything and gave me a good job position my boss was very understanding and nice ..i would get extra hours if i asked for it..
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVJanuary 13, 2019
It was a okay place not everyone was the friendly but I worked as a cashier and it was very simple it stayed busy around the beginning of each month..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Cashier or Checker Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lake City, FLJanuary 12, 2019
I really enjoyed working for them but I guess I was being too friendly with the customers and management didn't appreciate it. I just try to help people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save-A-Lot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 2,665 reviews
5643
4645
3833
2285
1259

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

2.0Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss