Save-A-Lot Employee Reviews in Baltimore, MD

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 3,045 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Save a lot
Cashier/Produce Director (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 7, 2019
Save A lot is a good place to work but however it's a part time position and we experience down times for business throughout the week so that causes the employees work hours to be cut to very low hours at times .So I'm seeking a full time position at this time..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
save a lot
Supervisor, Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 24, 2019
It's a pretty okay place to work. The people that come in the store are characters depending on the area of the store's location. The management isn't that great as far as the store manager and higher ups are concerned. The pay is great because it's weekly and not bi-weekly. The most enjoyable part of the entire job is the people I work with.
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
no real benefits, no fairness when it comes to the schedule or request off time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good way to get started.
Store clerk (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 9, 2019
This is a good way to start if you just graduated from high school. It will give you the time to figure out what do you really want to do for a better career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 9, 2018
Save a lot is a good job, the money just wasn’t enough for me. Until they feel like you can work full time (you start off part time no matter your availability) you don’t get as many hours so 200$ a week wasn’t comparing to the time and effort I put in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Manager of produce, cashier (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 21, 2018
Save a Lot teaches u the fundamentals of the retail and marketing business. Save a Lot also have alot of good learning programs for you to advance in the grocery world.
Pros
Great lunch periods
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful ,fast paced.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 25, 2018
cashier work, greeting and servicing customers,handling and dealing cash. i learned codes of different products.
no culture ,very open to be self.
once you find your speed , learn the codes,you're fine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
casheir (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 24, 2018
fun work place to work at customers are very friendly the management is very fair the hardest part of my job is not really anything I enjoy doing and learning different things at my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work most stores in low income areas
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 10, 2018
It isn't a bad place to work they expect a lot with minimal help. All store managers are involved hands on in each department. Earn sick time for each hours worked wihich can be a plus
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save -A- Lot is good company to work for
SPEH, ordering, merchandising (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 16, 2018
Save-A-Lot have very good benefit package for employees. The company shows a lot of love for employees. Lower level employees.
cashiers etc get regular raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enjoyable, and bad people
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 14, 2018
i didnt like nothing about save a lot, everyone was very disrespectful. i hate when i use to work for them but i had no other choice because i needed money.
Pros
bad
Cons
not fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 12, 2018
The job is very enjoyable but the was no benefits. Job was not stressful at all. There were a lot of consistent customers. The job was not complicated at all, patience is the key.
Pros
kind enviornment
Cons
breaks, salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful especially if the position is cashier.
Key Holder/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 8, 2018
Shifts are always understaffed. No help. Pay rate is very low. Coverage for the store is almost never adequate during regular business days and is even worse during very busy times (like holidays).
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work without help and unrealistic expectations.
Meat Cutter (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 11, 2017
What would be an easy job if properly staffed, is a stressful environment when trying to achieve the daily goals. Upper management kept changing so often it became hard to follow constantly changing policies and expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore MDSeptember 21, 2017
Challenging, fast paced, multi task. Ones workload would change from day to day. Under the new management structure, things were changing and was challenging to merchandise the store.
Pros
working with peers
Cons
No 401K match for 3 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome market
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 12, 2017
Clean environment hours are ok the work is not hard at all the more hours until work the quicker u get raises easy to stock shelves easy to box down i love everything about the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Furniture Mover / Laborer (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 27, 2017
Great Reliable Family Orientated Company Who Prides Itself On Providing The Best Possible Service To You & Your Family CoWorkers Get Along Great Feels Like A Family Enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, will push you to bring your best each and every day. Does not recognize the customer benefit of offering an outstanding pro
Regional Produce Specialist/Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 2, 2017
Great company to work for, will push you to bring your best each and every day. Does not recognize the customer benefit of offering an outstanding produce department and the amount of effort to accomplish this on a consistent basis.
Pros
challenging, rewarding
Cons
not fully recognizing the benefit, of presenting an outstanding, produce department and recognizing the the amount of effort is needed to accomplish this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time
Meat Wrapper/Store clerk (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 29, 2017
They never appreciate anything.they are messy and have a bunch of drug dealers work there.they slide and sell food stamps at the register.all the employees are dating each other.
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a cool place to work
Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 21, 2017
Don't get comfortable they do not appreciate you like they say they but you see through the company's action that they don't. No incentives for the employees just work and don't really talk with managers
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Wants a lot done but doesn't want to give the hours required for job
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 10, 2017
The grocery store was a fast passed work environment but I loved it. I enjoyed my coworkers and my customers. The hours were a little hard because my schedule always changed but if I could go back to that I would.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save-A-Lot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 3,045 reviews
5731
4730
3929
2339
1316

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Save-A-Lot.

Powered by Comparably