Save-A-Lot Employee Reviews for Assistant Manager

Found 124 reviews matching the search See all 3,030 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great work place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, KYJune 2, 2019
Its a great place to learn, and grow. I most enjoy seeing my everyday customers and helping them throughout the store. I mostly enjoy working with my co-workers and helping make the store look good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  ConnecticutMay 21, 2019
Well job to work at. Have to have an open minded and be able to work in various part of the store. Its a good company with great benefits. Always willing to promote fue to work effort
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Brookhaven, MSMay 15, 2019
I like working with save a lot and I learned a lot from my manger at the time. I was not there long before coming manger and I really enjoyed some the customer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a wonderful place to work at
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCMarch 21, 2019
It is a great company to b.c work for .Very face pase never boring .Exciting customers that always bring you joy. New items weekly and great prices on your grocery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMarch 3, 2019
Save A Lot was a good paying job, but the hours were terrible. I was always working nights, and they never rotated us. Management would say do one thing, and then do another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack clear direction from corporate office
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  FLMarch 3, 2019
The company has had 4 CEO's in the 8 years I have been with the company. It has been sold twice to my knowledge. The corporate and upper management lack communication and clear direction on where the company should go and the customers they want to serve. No bonus structure at store level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 18, 2019
Area store is located is not a "good area" but the customers and employees that show up to work are awesome. Manager is great, but to easy sometimes .
Pros
small store
Cons
bad area, lots of theft
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to stay busy,this place is perfect.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 11, 2019
There are too many changes going on with new ownership.We currently have a manager out on leave,and there isn't any help given,left to fend for ourselves.If you have any children,do not plan on seeing them .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Marion, OHJanuary 16, 2019
I learned how to handle office work, payroll, inventory and how to manage a shift on my own. The best part of the day was smart talk with the guests. Very clean and fun work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough, fast paced with little communicaiton
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Alton, ILJanuary 14, 2019
Little communication from corporate office to the stores. Difficult work place in a competitive environment. New CEO is doing great things for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  South Chicago Heights, ILDecember 22, 2018
Good employees to work with. My day to day gives me better leadership skills to lead my team into finishing any tasks in the most efficient way. Being apart of management is a good experience for a young worker like myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 28, 2018
It is retail.. so it has its pros and cons. it is a place that I would go back to work for if need was there. I didn't care for the long distance drive.
Pros
room of growth
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save-A-Lot was pretty decent
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLOctober 30, 2018
I feel that i learned a lot while working there. It was a great place to begin one's career in life. Great opportunities for advancement if you set your mind to it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, ILSeptember 25, 2018
This is a good place to work. They promote from within and have very flexible working hours. Great job for highschool kids and people right out of college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ashland, OHSeptember 11, 2018
Daily tasks of ordering stocking and cleaning. Very good job. Good people to work with. Lots of opportunities for growth. Excited to be a part or the team.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Lay off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lower Burrell PaSeptember 2, 2018
Started out as a cashier at Save a lot. Showed interest in learning about different departments within the store to advance myself higher up in the company.
Pros
Discount lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bayou Vista, LAAugust 30, 2018
This job was the worst job I ever had and I wouldn't wish this job on nobody and I hope they get this place together.start with the store manager and district manager they don't know how to talk to people and they will not be retrained their is no team work nobody you can talk to about management the best thing I did was leaving this job
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Newburgh, NYAugust 24, 2018
Fast paced work environment. Good customer service. Its a family store so we try to keep the customers coming back with honestly and appreciation. Always keep fresh produce n fresh meat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best thing I did was leave this job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  West Coast FLoridaAugust 16, 2018
Last couple months I worked with the worst manager of my life. Constantly dropping the F Bomb about employees. Degrading employees in front of customers. Store had out of dates on shelves and manager would not give you time to remove them.No team work,
He was eager to tell you how much he could do and how lousy you were as an employee.
Pros
paid vacation, 401k, sick pay, nice customers
Cons
poor management and upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physical work for management. Unprofessional atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 15, 2018
Save a Lot is very demanding of you physically and the work/life balance is poor. As with most retail positions you are required to work most holidays and shifts are ridiculous.Fast paced however, gives you the ability to lead a team.
Pros
Weekly pay.
Cons
No breaks, sporadic schedule, retention is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save-A-Lot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 3,030 reviews
5728
4725
3928
2335
1314

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

1.9InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.3Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight