Save-A-Lot Employee Reviews

Found 2,981 reviews matching the search See all 2,987 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was told to run my store the way I knew it needed but upper a none dm came in and blocked any views and stressed everyone out
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Bremen, GAJune 25, 2019
Loved my employees but had no training whatsoever in paperwork for corporate ! Tried explaining things to a man that had no title and no understanding for common courtesy for my customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the company it once was
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Lindenwold, NJJune 24, 2019
Save a lot has done a 180 after the buy out by Onex. Employees are worked to death with zero benefits. You are given an ever piling up work load to do with less and less hours. If something goes wrong, you are blamed - no matter what.
Pros
401k with decent amount matched by the company.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 24, 2019
I truly enjoyed working for this company. I would do it all over again if the opportunity was there. Store manager did not seem to appreciate my work but otherwise got along with him fine.
Pros
Good pay and close to home
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same days are some you have to get right into your work
Meat department/stocker (Former Employee) –  Roanoke Rapids, NCJune 24, 2019
There are some really good people that work there. Just stressful some times. Some days are better than others other than that it's okay store to work in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay kind easy work place not that much to do really
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLJune 23, 2019
not that much to learn its very easy job to work you don't do that much work and they give less hours and truck always come in late everything his must product are expire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and customer's
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New Lexington, OHJune 23, 2019
If I could have received more hours and better pay, I would have never left. Love this company! Love the employees! Love the customers! Need more business with this environment.
Pros
Great company
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very calm an collect work place
Cashier an stocker (Former Employee) –  Danville, ILJune 21, 2019
I liked doing the work. It was very easy for me to get use to the routine. i enjoyed stocking because it was almost at your own pace .i wouldn’t mind working there again.
Pros
I brought my own food they’re was a limit to the things I liked to eat there
Cons
Far breaks an care for healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great management
Night Manager (Current Employee) –  Georgetown, OHJune 20, 2019
Great place for advancement. I am getting a promotion but I have taken a drug test once about 2 months ago and have to take another. Really makes no sense
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate culture improving, Stores not so much
Retail (Current Employee) –  Saint Ann, MOJune 20, 2019
Corporate office culture in a large swing to improve, which is great. That swing needs to trickle down to the stores, but as hard as store employees work it is typically rewarded with tone deafness by the corporate office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Category Manager (Former Employee) –  Corporate officeJune 20, 2019
Constant change is people and processes.
Lots of promises and not action.
I never seen so much stupidity in a company, especially from Upper management.
Pros
Nothing was a pro
Cons
People were like a cancer; Management was a bunch of bullies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced customer service
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 20, 2019
Enjoy working with the public, also liked that everyday was different, some days on the register and somedays working the store making sure shelves and coolers were stocked and provided a clean atmosphere for the customers
Pros
Managment provided lunches at times
Cons
Unable to work full time cashiers were only part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 19, 2019
Its a fast pace job when your a head store manager yiu have no life really phone calls and texts messages 24/7 long hours i worjed 70-100 some hours aweek and the district manager comes in and complains about something , you get no support frim the district managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Perry, FLJune 18, 2019
The other employees are fun to work with and are good workers. The atmosphere is nice and the management is pretty lenient about giving certain days you need off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need more respect for employees
Stock/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 18, 2019
well I arrive and they will put me to work but get upset at me for another employee being late absent or not arriving to work they would rush me to get everything done when there just one person doing a crew job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor training poor management
Store manager (Former Employee) –  Sandusky, OHJune 17, 2019
Could've been a good job just bad timing n very bad management received 6 days of training to run an entire store which would've been fine except when I reached out for things I didn't understand I was met with take care of it or do some hiring or complete silence
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
No support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 17, 2019
Fun fast paste. Flexible hours. Flexible on days off. Fun workplace. Good employees. Customer friendlyness. Always keeps store clean. And is willing to help with whatever training you need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good store, nice co workers, good customers.
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 15, 2019
nice job would recommend too kids still in school looking for job opportunity's as I did, easy work with good management with reasonable work schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier / stocker
Cashier/Stocker (Current Employee) –  Cleveland,ohioJune 15, 2019
You dont get that many hours It only be 2 cashies . you have to scan within 27 mins which is hard if they have a cart full or more . other than that its ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for young adults
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bridgeton, NJJune 14, 2019
This is a good job for young adults fresh out of high school. It is pretty easy to learn and maintain your responsibilities in the store. Not many hours given and no overtime. Definite room for advancement. Great store management.
Pros
Store managers are great, family environment
Cons
Low pay, little hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is okay
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newaygo, MIJune 14, 2019
Managment sucked
Assistant managers were stealing money, getting high on breaks, fighting with other associates, major attitude problems. Basically ran by ignorant jerks. Not worth it. Ran by women who sleep with bosses to keep out of trouble and get what they want.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save-A-Lot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 2,987 reviews
5720
4711
3917
2330
1309

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

1.9InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.3Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight