Save Mart Supermarkets Employee Reviews in Merced, CA

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 608 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & fast paced
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Merced, CAFebruary 10, 2019
Dont make much money here unless u been working here for a while veey little houra available and the employees are unprofessional. It is a fun job from time to time i have made friends but its not a fun place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace where you feel special
Cake Decorator (Former Employee) –  Merced, CAJanuary 31, 2019
Very enjoyable place to work.
Most of the employees are happy and enjoy their work as well. Mostly everyone has their own roles, be it working with customers, up front. Working in the deli bakery (as I did) and being that we all have roles it makes everyone special in their own way. And important to the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Merced, CAJune 27, 2018
Good environment, people are friendly, Having happy customers make your day, assisting them and helping makes it more better and especially to understand and know your customers need, also to the management from before was poorly due to lack of communication and co workers/employees cause issues to the New rookies, never perfect but letting you know. Hard to be hired on especially if you have criminal record or a druggies.
Pros
Time
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back breaking
Mechanic/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Merced, CAFebruary 11, 2018
This place is not a healthy place to work if you want to work there just know there Union is owned by company and they are self insured so if you get hurt you most likely will not be paid.
Pros
Cool inside
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Meat Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Merced, CAJanuary 31, 2018
Savemart is a good place to work, positive work environment, offer flexible work schedule,great health benefits, 401k, vision and dental insurance, vacation packages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Management says one thing does another
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Merced, CANovember 15, 2017
Did not get a raise the two years I was working there and it was not based on my performance as no one in my department were getting raises either. Not a honest company but my supervisor above me was very honest and did her job as best she could.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest part is waking up to go to work
Truck Driver CDL A (Current Employee) –  Merced, CAMay 1, 2017
I loved it when I started. Now it's getting stressful, everything you do is micromanaged. When the slow season starts you get called in to get chewed out for things you've been doing all year without any complaints before. The old timers are ruthless, they always want to know your routes, where your going, keeping an eye on your time so they can whine to management. But if you want an easy job, lots of home time, don't mind getting chewed out once in a while, then this is your place. Pay isn't great but benefits make up for it... At the moment we don't pay for benefits
Pros
Benefits. Paid holidays.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Merced, CAMarch 30, 2017
Not too bad, not too good either. You get payed pretty well, which is nice. The company policies on attendance can be mind blowing sometimes. There's not a lot of downtime, which makes the time go by fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for just no job security because of economy.
Lead Janitor (Former Employee) –  Merced, CAMarch 26, 2016
Management was great, pay was good and benefits the best. The hardest part of the job was having to work at night because I was a janitor. The company close down many stores because of bad economy and they let go of the janitorial department to outsource because it was less expensive. Save mart didn't do anything to save my job and the union seemed to be more interested in helping save-mart than the employees they were supposedly working for. I was obligated to join the union and pay union fees but it really didn't serve any purpose at all.
Pros
good company
Cons
uncerten future because of economy. Union didn't do anything for us.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Merced, CAMarch 18, 2016
Physically demanding
stack product on pallets
driving electric pallet jack
very repetitive
you will start off working nights and will stay there for 5+ years
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do to new ownership quite often things changed at a fast pace
Warehouse/forklift operator (Current Employee) –  Merced, CASeptember 12, 2015
Work environment was very cultural, was able to advance in my job quickly. Worked alot of overtime which was a benefit. Family oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
bakery clerk (Former Employee) –  Merced, CAJune 10, 2015
working for savemart supermarket was a great experience . i was able to learn a lot not just in the work place but out side as well .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for
service specialist (Current Employee) –  Merced, CAMay 2, 2015
load customers with a smile and everyone is super friendly co workers and customers and such a great company to work for on a day to day basis and its a home plus union
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all
Radiologic Technician (Former Employee) –  Merced, CAJuly 30, 2013
over all i worked at savemart 10 years, from the time i was 16 years old till about 27 years old. i have no complaints and learned a lot from them, customer service skills, money management and getting along with others.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to work at Save Mart.
Bakery deli clerk (Current Employee) –  Merced, CAApril 28, 2012
Good people work there and a lot of hard workers too. Its family oriented and customer connected.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
closing stores in our area
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work good pay
grocery clerk (Current Employee) –  Merced, CAMarch 24, 2012
Working at Save Mart has been a very good career for myself that has supplied myself and my family with a stable lifestyle
Pros
good pay, good insurance
Cons
standing all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Save Mart Supermarkets reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save Mart Supermarkets. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 608 reviews
5179
4191
3151
249
138

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Save Mart Supermarkets.

Powered by Comparably