Save Mart Supermarkets Employee Reviews in Reno, NV

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 608 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job to go into
Service specialist, cashier, produce clerk (Former Employee) –  Reno, NV 89523January 21, 2019
it is a good first job just to get a career experience but i don't recommend staying there unless you go for management because the pay isn't as good unless you go into management
Pros
works around school
Cons
not good benefits, pay is little low, and the schedule changes every week not a set schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours???
Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJune 15, 2018
I was cross trained in three different positions, but the hours could have improved for what I was doing, the team was a good one to work for, did have a really good customer base
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
savemart
Deli Associate/ assiatant manager (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMay 25, 2018
It was ok to work there hour weren't so good I would have stayed longer but I need two days off in a row hard to schedule your life around that kind of schedule.
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
never got two days off in a row
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Liquor Manager, Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVApril 13, 2018
This job offered a lot of opportunity if you were willing to where the hats of five people without the added monetary compensations. I was doing the job of four to five people on any given day because I was flexible and willing to learn anything. I also was adaptable. That was the only way you could be guaranteed 40 hours was if you learned a lot and could jump in where ever there was a need flawlessly.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
New challenge everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Scanning Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVJanuary 21, 2018
I Actually enjoy my job. Many times Fustrating , and lack of recognition. The Work ethics of today have caused lack of employees willing to work.
Pay has not remained competitive to maintain or recruit talent.
Pros
set schedule vacation time and health benefits
Cons
work ethic enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJanuary 18, 2018
Cooking cold and hot food for customers, Customer Service, Ordering Supplies, Stocking, Making schedules, and Daily tasks for employees

I learned how to deal with angry customers and to be able to handle disappointed customers.

The store manager was very easy to talk with.

The work place on a daily was very busy.

The hardest part of the day was making sure everything was done by each employee to maintain a clean work environment,

The best part about my job was that all employees got along with one another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful work environment, unrealistic expectations from management, no positive reinforcements or recognition for a job well done
Service Deli Manager/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVSeptember 2, 2017
As a department manager, I was under extremely high levels of stress daily, with no positive reinforcement or recognition for a job well done. Very poor store management. I would not recommend this employer to anyone.
Pros
Excellent pay
Cons
Very poor upper management, no consequence for poor behavior, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at times, I enjoyed the customers and they enjoyed me, I had customers young and old that would ask for my help personally.
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJuly 23, 2017
I enjoyed the work, it kept me busy. What I didn't enjoy was that they kept changing management so it was hard to show that you are a hard worker when they don't know you, it's like starting over all the time. The environment was nice though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJanuary 31, 2017
I worked there a year ago and I know they have made several changes over the year, with closing and opening new stores and acquiring employees from the stores that were closing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers are great. Managment is poor and high turnover
Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVDecember 5, 2016
I loved my job. I loved my customers. I can't say the same for the management. Very low moral and poor pay. Lunches are long so that's nice but for the treatment of employees and poor pay it was not worth my time other than gaining experience in retail.
Pros
1 hour lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not reccomend
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVSeptember 29, 2016
This isnt the kind of job that is too easy but the management does not care about what happens in the store they hound you even if you are the best worker there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hostile, a lot like high school
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVFebruary 28, 2016
High school for adults.
Management will not do anything about co-worker harrassment.
Employees and managers will call you horrible names if you wear makeup.
Pros
One hour lunch
Cons
Immature employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New company in Reno.
Night Manager, Head Clerk Manager (Former Employee) –  Reno NvOctober 3, 2015
It was a great place to work. Got to meet lots of fun people to work with. It was a new company for Reno. They bought the excisting company Albertsons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJune 13, 2015
Great managers, Great benefits, this job is like working with a family very flexible, If you can get a job here get it. I would work from 9am to 6 pm generally this job was fast paced so time went by quick
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  reno, nvJune 13, 2015
Quick advancement, steady pay increases, California based company so Nevada stores are sometimes overlooked regarding laws,
Pros
Flexible, quick advancement, great benefits
Cons
unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job. A great place to work.
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMay 4, 2015
I would bag groceries help customer to their cars. And help keep the store clean.
How to interact with customers and always put them first.
Managment would always work around school schedule.
I made a lot of new friends and made work fun.
The hardest part was working nites, weekends and Holidays.
The best part of my day was helping customers.
Pros
Working with customers and making their day.
Cons
Working nites, weekends and Holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An example of modern politics
Key Carrier (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVNovember 10, 2014
Savemart Supermarkets is a company based on politics. If people like you, you will succeed. You do not necessarily have to be a good worker to succeed, and that in fact may even hold you back. Each store is different.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for this company
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVNovember 4, 2014
I really liked this company. I actually left for 13 months to try something different and I was welcomed back to a different location. If they had a store in this city I would have transferred.
Pros
Great benefits and wonderful people
Cons
behind on techniology and lack of praise
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Deli clerk/ Meat clerk/ Service specialist (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMay 14, 2014
Its your typical Supermarket. There are a lot of opportunities for people in this store. Everyone gets a chance here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 18Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult place to work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVNovember 5, 2013
A typical day at work was breading chicken and closing the store, very repetitive.
I learned a lot about Personal Protection Equipment and different deli foods.
Management was very strict.
Very difficult co-workers.
Hardest part of the job was getting out on time on a very busy day, always possible, yet never easy.
I enjoyed the food I got to eat while working for the deli.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save Mart Supermarkets. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 608 reviews
5179
4191
3151
249
138

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Save Mart Supermarkets.

Powered by Comparably