Save Mart Supermarkets Employee Reviews in San Jose, CA

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 605 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay.
Everything (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMarch 30, 2018
Low pay for high cost of living in Bay area. Management micromanages all day long. They expect to much of you for little pay. When I was working there I was running the show and wouldn't promote me. Instead after a while of doing managers job at lower level wages they layed me off. Which was the best thing that could have happened to me because now I make over 100k a year working at a stable job.
Pros
You get to work in a/c
Cons
Pay, managers, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience
Cashier / Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 27, 2018
I learned that there was a lot that went into running a grocery store and after working in almost every department I'm glad I learned as much as I did with SaveMart.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Pay rate, working on holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend working here
Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 25, 2017
Management was horrible. Shifts were scheduled unfairly. Certain shift members always got better shifts than others. When talked to manager about this they dismissed it.
Pros
None
Cons
A lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Bakery/Deli Clerk & Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 27, 2017
The people were great. It help me get thru college and gave me the flexibly to go to school and work. Which was nice. It was a walk into the work force which was different for me.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and very pleasant
Customer Service/ Cashier/Deli/Bakery (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 14, 2017
A typical day at work was assisting customers, cashiering. I also assisted in the Deli and Bakery. I packaged and baked along with making sandwiches, training fellow employees, serving the customers with salads and deli meats and cheeses. I enjoyed my job for this company and my fellow employees. the job was fast paced and pleasant.
Pros
The excellent staff od people hired.
Cons
The breaks and lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment and Compensation
Head Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 24, 2017
A real joy to work for, actually made it enjoyable to make money. Did not have any issues with managers or co-workers. Everyone enjoyed being there on the daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Checker (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 12, 2017
The customers are usually disrespectful and rude. The employees are always in a bad mood and seem miserable. The benefits are awful, and you will lose your social life completely; will have to work every weekend and every holiday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard physical work, Variable weekly work schedule
Grocery Clerk- Lead Frozen Dept (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 6, 2017
Tough, demanding, physical, time sensitive
Management changes every 6 months to 1 year
Co-worker leads good, others come and go or don't care
Low wages even if you join union
Physical labor without proper tools
Customer interaction nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work place very nice co-workers.
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 10, 2016
I would come in and was a service clerk,as well as cart hour and sweep and mop. I also took out the trash and kept the registers clean. When i had a closing shift we did go backs.
Pros
Long lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work while getting your college degree
Journey Man-Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 31, 2015
I was able to work on my customers service skills and work on building relationships with vendors and customers , with the ability to work at a fun place ,while getting my self prepared for bigger and better things. Management was very understanding and helpful.

Savemart is a Place , I would recommend any one who is trying to get finished with college to work .
Pros
Flexiable hours
Cons
nights and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 2, 2013
fun fast placed job but got layoff after 10yars working for the company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for save mart was was a great experience
Manger (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 17, 2012
when i worked for save mart, i had great opportunities... after three years i became a manger in the coffee shop. i have lots of customer service skills and lots of training.
Pros
we had good medical
Cons
no discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Save Mart Supermarkets reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save Mart Supermarkets. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 605 reviews
5177
4191
3151
249
137

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Save Mart Supermarkets.

Powered by Comparably