Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 1,902 reviews matching the search See all 3,014 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be willing to adapt quickly
Team Member (Current Employee) –  West Springfield, MANovember 12, 2019
I love my job and my co-workers. People come and go and things can get really stressful at times But for the most part we have a good team and Savers has many different job opportunities and shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for Value Village
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Issaquah, WANovember 9, 2019
The management team is petty. They play favorites and punishes at the drop of a hat. Very uncooperative and will not help you. You are pretty much guilty of everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
Floater (Former Employee) –  Douglasville, GANovember 8, 2019
I had to much fun not very serious it is an easy firs job if that is what you are working for, just a stepping stone so you can find better paying jobs or you're in high school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s Sucks
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTNovember 7, 2019
The job doesn’t suck the managers DO! And all the old employees that swears they’re managers or supervisors because they been there for yearssssss. I definitely think all production worker should get paid more than minimum wage because they work you like robots it’s just sad once you actually experience it yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable working environment, co-workers are fun
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDNovember 5, 2019
Fast pace work environment. Management is big on cross-training and ensuring staff is capable of performing numerous tasks. The Production Department has a set schedule which is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasons not to.work at savers
Production and now CDC AMBASSADOR (Former Employee) –  Millcreek, UTNovember 4, 2019
Savers is a plac⅖b we've pe that sets you up to fail u.less your a supervisor or a pet your doomed
the demands are way.to high and the pay is
poor the work is very hard and demanding for the pay espically in there cdc department very physical labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but very stressful
S Decatur - Salesclerk (Former Employee) –  2620 S DecaturNovember 3, 2019
A lot of your coworkers and customers will be amazing. The downside is in the way the place is run, you'll be constantly overworked and exhausted by the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value village
Primary Cashier (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GANovember 3, 2019
It was a fairly easy job I started off as a regular cashier then I was moved to primary cashier pretty quickly I was always moving around never in one place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely not
Pricer (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WANovember 3, 2019
There is lots of negative reinforcement here. The Production management is horrible. The only thing the company has going for it is it’s recycling program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better manager
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Danvers, MANovember 2, 2019
The job is very stressful the manager is very hard to speak with if there a problem or you just need to ask a question it turns into a lecture the rules are different everyday and there is to much favoritism and when you are on register and u need to use restroom or anything else like a manager for an aproval it can take ftofro a min to ten min for them to come help then the line get very long and the turn over is every month people leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 2, 2019
Best place for a starting job! I really enjoyed working with everyone there. Overall very friendly work environment! Thank you! They have the best managers and they are very flexible with schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy environment, not worth the time.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVNovember 2, 2019
Extremely high turn over rate. Working up front, not in production, I hardly knew anyone for more than 2 weeks at a time. I managed 5 months. Management was incompetent, to the point that break schedules were made over an hour after our first breaks, which us team members negotiated with ourselves. Often times, we weren't even given a schedule for the day, nor even a register assignment leaving us playing musical chairs with the registers when an assistant manager found out. Scheduled hours weren't concrete. A closing schedule of 1:30-9:30pm would often actually mean 1:30-11:30pm. Despite myself working usually about 45 hours a week because of this, they had me marked as a part-time worker so I wouldn't receive any benefits, though I'm not sure if that was malicious intent, or failure to communicate i.e. managerial incompetence. Cashier equipment is archaic. Head manager would include your own days off as part of your sick time as well. If you had Monday, Tuesday off, and you were sick on Sunday, they would say "You've called out half of the week you can't call in today" on Wednesday. Common coworker bonding would be over how terrible the management was. What kicked me to leave was overhearing the newest hired assistant manager wishing rather horrific ill wills on a previous employee (who had quit the night before for the public shaming and group punishment she had given him) for misplacing an item. That shocked, and appalled me. I was disgusted that the person that was overwhelmingly the reason we'd get to go home at 11pm, instead of 12am was being treated like that in a public  more... space for all to hear, all over the employee misplacing an item.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It Until
Cashier •Production • Fitting Room Associate• (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDNovember 1, 2019
REMEMBER THIS IS A VERY SPEEDY ENVIRONMENT & WILL ALWAYS KEEP YOU BUSY! I loved this company at first. It was very friendly and family oriented however the company changed overtime due to Management. At first it didn’t feel like a job at all , I loved what I did and was very proud of it but it suddenly all changed. Once a new Management person took over the environment felt different. I wasn’t being acknowledge for going above and beyond, I felt personally targeted. More problems than its ever been resolved. This person was strictly about business. which is understandable, but if something comes up that’s out of your control because your child is sick can they relate? would it be acceptable or lead to a write up? I informed the supervisor also management I wanted time off for vacation next month I informed them about the dates ahead of time, but they had to approve and never did, why? I’ve no clue. Eventually I left, however when I told management I wanted to put in my two week noticed they said it was unnecessary and I can leave now or stay for the day? What job do you know do that? I’m not sure if it’s still ran by the same person but it’ll never be the same!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Donation Attendant (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 29, 2019
fun place to work great if your trying to get back on your feet great discounts and a great team i miss working here but my time was up and i needed to follow my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Coordinator Donation Center Lead Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHOctober 28, 2019
Fun place to work. Great clothing i liked while it lasted. The management was people centered loved the pizza parties. and Christmas parties as well. Great environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place, If You Get The Right Management
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Coon Rapids, MNOctober 26, 2019
Steady fast-paced environment. Fairly casual. A set 5 consecutive day schedule (*exceptions for holidays and sale events). Extremely repetitive, but you see A LOT of cool and interesting things. Team-oriented workplace. If I hadn't had so many issues with upper management, I would have loved to have continued working with the company into my retirement.
Pros
Set schedule, Cool products, Discount. Benefits, Casual and friendly.
Cons
Some donated items can be extremely dirty or soiled, Very little training, Climate control of the backroom is poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience with nice team members
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 25, 2019
Fun atmosphere and great employees. Available over time and relaxing dress code. Fun employee activities for holidays and good discounts and deals on the merchandise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
CDC Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDOctober 25, 2019
I wasnt happy how management treated others better then me or diddnt care how others felt lack of understanding in parts of the management department and co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very fun
Sorter/Recycler (Former Employee) –  Columbia Heights, MNOctober 24, 2019
I became very close with some of my coworkers
I also liked the job flexibility and the love that they shown
I was also able to appreciate all the different products that came in production
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Cashier/Customer Service/Stock (Former Employee) –  Newington, CTOctober 23, 2019
It’s a thrift store so there’s a lot of items and a lot of messes that come with it.
It’s a team effort so it can be difficult work in that environment all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 3,014 reviews
5614
4789
3829
2386
1396

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Savers/Value Village.

Powered by Comparably