Schawk Employee Reviews

Found 71 reviews matching the search See all 87 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Merchandise Coordinator II (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 10, 2012
good place to work, very nice people. nice management nice benefits, I wish I was still work there.
Pros
people
Cons
laie off after 7yrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 19Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and people.
Account Administrator (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GeorgiaJuly 24, 2012
Schawk has a great environment and people. Great place to launch your career and get work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Work and No Play Makes for a Bad Work Environment
Copywriter (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 24, 2012
Mandatory overtime, poor scheduling, lack of direction, negative and toxic environment, unrealistic deadlines, no chance for advancement, low pay, weekend work frequent with little or no notice, average benefits, top heavy management, little flexibility, pay cuts, no concept of work/life balance.
Pros
amazingly creative employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A veery productrive company. Good people to work with.
Project Manager / Traffic Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 25, 2012
I had a very interesting time working at Schawk. Typical day: Busy.
I learned InDesign there. The management was extremely helpful in all aspects. My co-workers were a delight to work with, a professional bunch of people. Hardest part of the job: the deadlines the clients put on us, but we always got the job done...on time. Most enjoyable part of the job were the challenges put to us every day and completing them. Total satisfaction.
Pros
birthday cakes on every employees birthday and the occasional lunch provided by management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Production Artist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 2, 2012
Unless you are desperate for a position temporarily, I would pass. I worked there 6 years, got good reviews, etc then was laid off suddenly when they moved my position 400 miles away as part of a 'strategic' business plan that didn't amount to hooey.
If they can save 50 cents by eliminating your job they will, or send it overseas.
Pros
decent pay, good health coverage
Cons
layouts, ineffective management, no accountability
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn, but don't stay too long.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  ChicagoApril 23, 2012
.The hardest part of the job is knowing when to move on. Business is a niche market which is highly competitive. Company has a hard time competing on pricing and relies on large corporate accounts. When a contract is lost layoffs result.
Pros
a good place to learn
Cons
niche market, skills learned not always transferrable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Merchandise Coordinator II (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 23, 2012
Good job,
good people
learn a lot
not hard
the peoples
very nice peoples
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 27Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large prepress company with great benefits
Shipping & Receiving Coordinator / Data Security (Former Employee) –  Crystal Lake, ILApril 4, 2012
A pre press company with good employees, high standards, and good management
Pros
good benefits, good pay, and high quality expectations
Cons
they bought the previous owner, chopped up company, laid everyone off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company...
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 27, 2012
Unfortunately the company has had its share of challenges. The company during my career there was awesome. Its been over 2 years now so i cannot give an acccurate assessment of how they are doing now.
Pros
benefits
Cons
disconnect with management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace IT department with tons of potential for growth
IT Support specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 6, 2012
Great place to work at the heart of downtown. Great foot in the door for any new IT professionals seeking a path to a fulfilling career.
Pros
tuesday & thursday popcorn
Cons
1 hour lunch. high benefit costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 16Report

See more Schawk reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Schawk. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 87 reviews
514
421
320
220
112

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight