Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark and Resort Employee Reviews

Found 397 reviews matching the search See all 400 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hottest Coolest Time in Texas
Senior Life Guard (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXSeptember 6, 2019
Had the best moments of my life working for this company, Cool managers and very fun environment to call work. Tough Hours and not so great benefits as it is a seasonal job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 29, 2019
Really fun place to work as a summer job, work & have fun at the same time. Parties every other week for appreciation for employees. Give half off discounts to employees familys.
Pros
Lunch is cheap
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXAugust 23, 2019
I love being a lifeguard at Schilterbahn! I this was my first year and I enjoyed it immensely. Can be tough working mostly 12hr shifts in the Texas heat but other than that it’s amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great summer job
Admissions Cashier (Current Employee) –  South Padre Island, TXAugust 18, 2019
It is an easy and great experience over all. I would more than likely recommend it as a summer job. It is fun to work there and not only do you gain new friendships from the department you apply for but from every other department as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSAugust 14, 2019
Don’t ever work here they do not care about you it was the worst job ever very unorganized a kid died due to their negligence very irresponsible employees
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life At Schlitterbahn
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXAugust 11, 2019
Over my 4 seasons at the Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Resort I had a really good time. Like most jobs some days were stressful but other weren’t so much. The other staff that I worked with were very nice and I enjoyed being with them on a day to day basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Expeditor (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSAugust 8, 2019
It was a very fun and easy job. The staff there was nice and they did fun things with co-workers for working very hard. A typical day there would be busy and sometimes frustrating but i was really fun and a place you can make easy friends at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but very competitive
Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TX 78130July 19, 2019
This job doesnt pay much but it is very diverse. There is practically no way you cant make a friend. Its good first job. i would recommend to young kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was medicore
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXJuly 17, 2019
It was a good job as a teenager. However, in hindsight the hours and menial tasks while basking in the Texas heat were horrible. It's low paying, boring, and yet somehow highly stressful.
Pros
Free days
Cons
Heat, pay, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Culture
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXJuly 13, 2019
Management gets away with being inappropriate with under age staff members (so many managers have had relationships with younger and lower level staff members). They overwork their staff to the point where they are unable to effectively take care of themselves (12-13 hour days in the sun rarely with a day off every week).
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  South Padre Island, TXJuly 9, 2019
It was a very simple job however it was always very hot and the uniforms weren't much help nor the mini fan they tried adding. The hours are very well and they are very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice for a summer job or someone who is just starting to work
HOUSEKEEPER (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXJuly 9, 2019
The place took some getting used to but it was fun working for the Schlitterbahn Resort. I met a lot of nice people and it was my first job going into high school. The job is hard and fast paced, but there are a lot of opportunities for getting more hours and overtime. It was something different everyday!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Certified Pool Operator (Former Employee) –  South Padre Island, TXJune 24, 2019
It was a good job for the time being






























































































.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment and flexible hours
Entry screener (Current Employee) –  South Padre Island, TXJune 24, 2019
Schlitterbahn is a fun workplace with a good environment. Management is flexible with hours and incorporates teamwork to achieve the daily goal which is to keep a positive and safe environment for the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely recommended
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXJune 22, 2019
Its a job that allows you to see alot of people , swim all day, the managers keep work schedule organized and u get to play for free on your days off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
LIFEGUARD (Former Employee) –  South Padre Island, TXJune 18, 2019
Working as a lifeguard at Schlitterbahn gave me the benefit to learn on how to help people from the smallest to the biggest way possible. Schlitterbahn had a great work environment thanks to my ex-coworkers, ex-leads and ex-supervisors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the people I worked with
Park Services (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXJune 17, 2019
A typical day at work for me started at 7:30 AM and ended around 9 PM. I was always very hot but thats just because its Texas in the summer. I kept returning every year that I did because of the flexable schedule and the guys that I worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most be quick on your feet
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  South Padre Island, TXJune 17, 2019
Its is a hard working job and you don't get paid every well for it. It demands a lot from its employees. But it can be a fun place to make friends and memories as a teen.
Pros
fun place
Cons
hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good Work enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  South Padre Island, TXJune 10, 2019
Management was sometimes unfair and not understanding. Co-workers were very friendly. Work environment was good. Benefits were good and fair. The most enjoyable part was the co-workers and being able to meet new people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good business, but has occasional sanitation problems.
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXJune 9, 2019
Very good company, with good management, and very effective training procedures, but has occasional sanitation problems and does not give visitors adequate explanations of such. i.e bacteria in the water
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark and Resort. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 400 reviews
5145
4119
378
233
125

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight