Schnitzer Steel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ug
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fife, WAJune 30, 2018
This used to be a great place to work but over the last four years the management has changed multiple times and the head doesnt know what the tail is doing, management has never done the jobs that the workers do but like to criticise the employees.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
you have to get permission to turn a wrench, there afraid you might hurt yourself
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management at Tacoma location
Transporter (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAJune 19, 2018
Horrendous management that uses bullying and intimidation tactics rather than actually managing. Zero family or home life as the hours expected to work are unrealistic and so stressful! Very hostile work environment with no team atmosphere or support. Was initially excited about joining the company and the union benefits it came with. I quickly learned that it's very cut throat and no amount of benefits sugar coats how far down they beat you as a person.
Pros
Benefits, company paid work boots and equipment.
Cons
Poor managememt, truly are a # and not a human being, worked like a dog with constant unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for these guys
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 15, 2018
Terrible place to work for. Supervisors weren’t even trained on the lockout tag out process and spoke broken English. Magnet sucks and it’s so hard to get in touch with HR. Complete waste of time. If actually have skills that will benefit a company then don’t take them there.
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
The entire company
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend
Management (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 13, 2018
worked here for just under a year, pay is minimal, management is spread to thin. Benefits suck pay isn't good. No incentives for staff or management, lots of broken promises regarding pay. High turnover rate training is non existent
Pros
its a job
Cons
short breaks short lunches, dealing with violent customers every day, lazy co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Assistant
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New JerseyMay 29, 2018
Great place to work, always interesting and challenging work. Skills are used and learning new skills with project work. People are wonderful, great environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cordova, CAMay 22, 2018
Worked with a group of great people who took their jobs seriously. Work was busy but rewarding, management was typically available to help and give guidance. Pay was good and benefits were also good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy great customers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Summit, ILFebruary 25, 2018
Worked at Pick n pull in summit ill typical day is very busy especially in summer the main manager who is in control of the cashiers has no proper training most the time she was in the office and not helping to properly train new people just showed how to do it few times how to operate and count your drawer and charge customers and than after that your on your own...the female employees working as cashiers have attitude problems dont even ask them any questions because they will roll your eyes at you and make angry faces easy job but i wouldnt recommend this location
Pros
Benefits overtime pay
Cons
Short breaks not enough proper training very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fake it until you make it
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 8, 2018
Everything with the company is a farce...they will tell you safety is the top priority and then they have you working with low grade PPE, working in 100 degree weather with no breaks/water AND then 0 degree weather with no consideration. Production and numbers is all that matters. Low pay and tyrant leadership above the store level. Stay away as this place has injuries left and right, pay issues, and the average employee stays less than 90 days.
Pros
Unlimited overtime
Cons
Advancement, pay, safety, environmental nightmare, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an unhealthy work environment.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAJanuary 25, 2018
I joined Schnitzer Steel for the benefits for my family. I quickly found that my co-workers were unwelcoming. I will only say that my job was in transportation in Tacoma, WA. Essentially, my co-workers (or equals) had talked badly about me so much, and threw me under the bus, that the management fired me for something I DID NOT do.
The saddest part about the whole thing is that I trusted and confided in, a certain person of, the management. This was after quickly catching on to the culture of the work environment..
I was never late, never missed a day, and had. Zero prior warnings or offenses. Not to mention it was union lol.
Pros
Wages
Cons
Micromanaging co-workers. Weak willed management
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is awful
Rolling mill utility (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 16, 2018
The higher ups are ok but direct management is awful.
CO workers are great and fun to work with.
It’s a big family.
Safety is pretty big there and cameras are everywhere.
Pros
Good money long breaks
Cons
Managers harassing you daily. Bullies instead of team leaders
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work in, long term..
Call Center Representative Lead (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 4, 2018
Great people and a staff that is trained to look for changes to make the working experience better. Any problems are quickly resolved with minimum delays.
Pros
People are wonderful
Cons
Industry is struggling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts Payable Manager
Accounts Payable Processor (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 2, 2018
She seemed like a nice lady just wish that her communication skills were better, because she could have let me know that the last day was going to be my last day, it would have save everyone alot of problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Helpdesk / Technical IT Support (Former Employee) –  Portland, OR 97201December 18, 2017
From the CEO down to the average employee, I found that the Company was an excellent place to work
Fellow employees were awesome to work with
Management was excellent for the most part
Pros
Excellent place to work
Cons
none per se
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office manager was the best
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GADecember 18, 2017
Agian office Manager was awesome as for others I will leave that alone They don't care about you or your family or if you have kids any of that just as long as you are there at 730 am
Cons
To many people being a boss they do not care about you or your family
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high stress employment environment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 9, 2017
Very difficult place to work. I was hire as General Manager but was never given the opportunity to manage my yard. Had constant interference from other managers. This facility was purchased for 75 million, but was only worth maybe 10 million. So, upper level management was constantly trying to cover there tracks. Employees from the former owner created a hostile enviorment for the new management. False acusations were leveled on new management and upper level management in fear of the labor force walking off the job released the new management. Information about the difficulties of this location were never disclosed to this new manager.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work cheap pay
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Johnston, RIDecember 8, 2017
Pick n pull is a fun place to work and everyone on the production team are great guys and all get along
Management sucks and constantly lie to the employees and don’t pay never give raises and barely receive bonuses for over working
Management just lines they’re pockets while everyone else works hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Concord, NHNovember 14, 2017
Lots of gossip,drama, management if they like you you can move up in the company ,they tend to get rid of employees who are older and have been with the company a long time.decent benefits and over time. Management tells you what you want to hear then dissmiss's you .
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pick n pull Modesto
Vehicle Purchase Agent (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CANovember 8, 2017
Worst place to work at literally high school all over again the co workers will gossip about you for anything and if you don't stay on their positive side means kiss there butt they will speak about you over escalating to even getting your fired. The sales girls don't do nothing but be on there phone and rude to customers I had so many complains. Worst part is the manager takes there side because they all been working there for years so clearly he would reside with them on anything. It's a decent job but just the drama is nothing to bare it is literally full of negativity all I can say is remain to yourself and don't talk to anybody.
Pros
Free lunch on sale dates . Paid time off . Overtime
Cons
Drama, rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Upper Management
Northeast Regional Asset Manager (Former Employee) –  Everett, MAOctober 18, 2017
They had no use for Asset Managers. Saved them hundreds of thousands of dollars with excellent cost saving programs. Had a great management when I started and a very poor management team when we parted company. They are the worst in the industry from top to bottom. It starts with the CEO and progresses down. Had a great team that left or was let go. Now they are at the bottom of the barrel.
Pros
Once a great comapny
Cons
Now the worst company to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Whipping boy (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 16, 2017
Management was very hypocritical. Little to no advancement opportunities. The union is a joke. The only thing you can count on from the 701 is your union dues being taken out every month. Other than that good luck with em.
Pros
None
Cons
You name it they did it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Schnitzer Steel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 124 reviews
533
427
327
218
119

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture