Scholastic Employee Reviews

Found 626 reviews matching the search See all 659 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Physical
BULK INVENTORY CONTROLLER (BIC) / WAREHOUSE LEAD (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 6, 2019
You are on your feet all day walking on concrete. It can be hard on your back. There is a lot of lifting and bending, pushing and pulling. You mush pay attention to detail.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Fun Work Experience
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Bethel, CTJanuary 1, 2019
Overall a job for scholastic books was exciting and fun. Your productivity was one of the biggest things the management looked for and this was what gave you your raise. They had great flexible hours which allowed you to work this job around your busy life. The job wasnt hard in any type of way because it provided the customers on an automatic dialer. I enjoyed this job highly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance but no room for growth
Marketing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 28, 2018
The company does not have effective management in terms of employee training or advancement. There is great flexibility on work/life balance and working from home. Good for a first job, but not a place a young professional would want to stay long term, aside from job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back atmosphere. Paycould be better
DRIVER OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXDecember 24, 2018
During my time at scholastic I enjoyed it. during busy months I received plenty of overtime. Coworkers were pleasant for the most part. I would recommend to anyone who likes a stress free environment if money isn't the bottom line for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with benefits.
Inventory Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLDecember 21, 2018
Enjoyed working for this company. Teamwork and safety is fully emphasized.Benefits as far as dental and health insurance were readily available. Management conducted safety meetings on the regular.Scholastic Books gives you opportunities to advance.
Pros
Great selection of books to read or purchase.Discount for employees included.
Cons
Temperature in warehouse can be irritating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family environment workplace with focus on productivity and accuracy.
Order clerk 2 (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MODecember 18, 2018
Very good place to work at the benefits are great and the company takes good care of employees. Fast paced and repetitive work assignments. Advancement from within is preferred by employer.
Pros
Paid holidays and vacation
Cons
Drama of co workers and other shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back work atmosphere
WAREHOUSE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Urbandale, IADecember 12, 2018
Stocking and packing book orders all day. Jobs are mainly part-time. Work environment was pleasant, you are left alone to do your job. The management at the warehouse I worked was awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile environment
Warehouse Worker (Temp) (Former Employee) –  east mccartyDecember 4, 2018
honestly the place was kind of nuts you never knew what was going on team leaders would scramble to figure things out every night and not have a game plan it was a hostile environment with some of the people they consider hiring, overtime was ridiculous i dont mind working overtime but having 4 days off a month is a little ridiculous there was no room to have an actual life there i honestly would not reccomend this place to anyone whatsoever i would say find janitorial work before this because they expect your whole life to revolve around them without proper pay to match the hours/work
Pros
its a job i guess
Cons
very little time off, pay wasnt good, people were hostile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time goes fast
Order clerk (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MONovember 30, 2018
Continuously working makes the time go by fast. Decent pay, I think they should equal out the way to get incentive. Great supervisors, for the most part good group of individuals to work around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for advancement, ever
Field Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CANovember 12, 2018
In the eight years I was with Scholastic, no one in my department ever got promoted. Hours could be long. Working with schools is rewarding and getting books into the hands of kids is rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 6, 2018
Cut thought, numbers driven company. I would strongly recommend not working for Scholastic - children's books seems noble, leadership is horrible. Have a mission statement on the wall but does not apply internally. Dollars are the only metric that matters, nothing else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Neosho, MONovember 1, 2018
This job requires great customer service skills as well as communication skills. You assist customers with placing orders and solving any problems they may have had with an order.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhaustion
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOOctober 23, 2018
Job is very exhausting, over tiring, and severely cut throat. Point system is severely flaws and not completely thought though. No way to make advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is stressed that works here
Sales Consultant/Event Planner (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXOctober 23, 2018
You are expected to control so much with your territory that you are given and the bottom line is schools don't want to run these fairs because the books are over priced and the setup is not very good quality. Management at this location sleeps with employees and they play games with policies to get what they want. DON'T WORK THERE.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Stimulating Workplace
Application Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 21, 2018
Great place to work. Allowed me to wear multiple hats on the job.
Lots of exposure to new technologies and lots of challenges which gave me plenty of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious, stressful, consistently negative
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Neosho, MOOctober 14, 2018
In a typical work day, a Customer Service Rep through Book Club will take anywhere from 40-60 inbound phone calls. Of those calls, 98% of them are negative. They are negative due to a large factor of reasons
Overall, management needs an overhaul. Put them on the phones. Let them hear what others are having to endure. Switch people out on the workload. Make them feel important.
Pros
Summer layoff, extensive time off at Thanksgiving and Christmas
Cons
Wrong people in wrong positions, those who can make changes don't care to make them
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Customer Service Phone Representative (Former Employee) –  Neosho, MOOctober 2, 2018
It's a call center. I took calls from almost always angry customers, and there was little to no recognition or reward for any of it. I'm glad it was a temporary position that I held, because there is no way I would willingly work at another call center, especially Scholastics. Management wasn't bad but in training you are told to just give the customer whatever they want, even if it goes against policy or its a ridiculous request. I just couldn't get behind that kind of policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
order clerk (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOOctober 2, 2018
would get to my work area clean it up and start working quickly what i learned was how to read codes and were things were and how to locate them.the management was ok but some of them i felt pick on certain ones the hardest part about this job was standing and dealing with people who didn't want to do there job the best part of the job was the check after your 2 weeks
Pros
discount at store
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that has alot of temporary workers with alot of turnover.
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Roselle, IL 60172September 30, 2018
2nd shift supervisor ran operations with 1 lead and myself for returns and inventory functions. I learned the WMS system for inventory and picking. It was a fast pace environment to get things in place for the morning to build fairs for schools during the week. The hardest part of the job was having enough people to do the job each night. the favorite part of the job was the everyday challenge of completing all the task each day.
Pros
people, management, and company sponsered activities.
Cons
seasonal help, late arriving trucks with returns, and parking area
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok. the good thing you get the summers off
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Robbinsville, NJSeptember 18, 2018
It is ok to work there. There is some days its very busy and not enough people to finish the job. The only good things is u get the summers off if you want to.
Pros
summers off
Cons
to much work not enough people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Scholastic. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 660 reviews
5207
4226
3130
249
148

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Women's ratings

4.0Fairygodboss Score

83%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss