SDI Media Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to make a career
Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAFebruary 26, 2018
SDI is good for learning the in and out of the post-production subtitling world. But as salary is limited, it makes advancement non-desirable. If you're friendly with your manager, you can arrange your hours fairly well to create a life balance, which is a plus.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Little pay or reward
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for starting out
Assistant Audio Engineer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 21, 2018
This is a good place for starting out. Everyone is pretty friendly. Depending on the department, there are usually plenty opportunities for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Movie Industry
Accounting Analyst (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 5, 2017
Good company to help you start in your career. Nice location. Movies. Movies. Translate. Movies. Translate. Culture. Languages. Translates. Movies. Translates
Pros
Bagels
Cons
No pay raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place was OK
Quality Control Operator (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CAApril 23, 2017
I enjoyed my time at SDI. The people were friendly and my manager was really smart. The main downside which caused me to leave was if its slow you don't get hours. I was getting paychecks for 60 hours and couldn't afford to stick around.
Pros
friendly people
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not suggest that you apply there,
Transform Operator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 18, 2017
It does not reward honest effort. Supervisors only hire and promote outside friends. It promotes and condones a fraternity house atmosphere. Extremely nepotistic and cliquish.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freelance Experience
Transcriber / Editor (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAApril 8, 2017
I have been a freelance employee at SDI Media. There is no feedback regarding the status of my projects and their training consists training manuals sent in no particular order.
Pros
easy going
Cons
no management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Company
Dialing/Subtitling (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CASeptember 6, 2016
Great company to work for. Everyone is very helpful and work as a team. Very happy to be part of SDI as I learn something new every time I take on a new project.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic Environment with bad Management
AV/QC Operator / Asset Management Technician (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CAJune 6, 2016
Management was unknowledgable in workflow or specifics of the job, creating a chaotic environment. I would not reccomend employment with SDI.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place with people from all over the world. More than 60 different nationalities.
SPANISH TRANSLATOR AND SUBTITLE EDITOR (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CAFebruary 26, 2016
I have been working for a year in a very comfortable and friendly environment. Everybody is young vibrant and friendly.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
low salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa líder de legendagem e superagradável de trabalhar
Tradução e Revisão (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CAFebruary 18, 2016
Ótima empresa de se trabalhar, porém como fica situada nos EUA, não há mais possibilidade crescimento na empresa.
Pros
Felixebilidade de horário
Cons
Localizada nos EUA
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Dibbing Production Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 26, 2015
Fast growing, International, lay back, good place to learn, opportunity to grow, various popular projects, variety of services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home-Offce remoto
Tradutora freelancer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 25, 2015
Por eu trabalhar para eles como prestadora de serviços em regime de home-office remoto não tenho acesso à cultura da empresa, mas sei que se trata de uma corporação grande, multinacional, que possui muitos funcionários colaboradores espalhados pelo mundo.
Pros
Capacidade de gerir e administrar meus próprios horários.
Cons
Trabalhar sozinha em casa, fora do ambiente corporativo.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for freelance
Freelance Thai Subtitle Editor/Translator (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CASeptember 29, 2014
I'm only freelancing for this company so I'm not qualify to review them. However, just by the experience communicating/working with management and the coordinator, they are pretty good!
Pros
fun job!
Cons
most projects are a rush!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Global Company
PM (Former Employee) –  Culver CityMay 9, 2014
A solid corporate structure supports a fun and dynamic work environment. There are great opportunities for advancement if you put in the work and are passionate. You get to work with offices all over the world which teaches you how to communicate with other cultures. I learned a lot in this company. I always felt supported and encouraged. Also, they're among the best in their field if not the best so that makes it easier and more fun.
Pros
Friday bagels!
Cons
Long hours on some positions, without much notice - entertainment industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly colleagues with a relaxed work atmosphere and strong work ethics.
Transcriptionist (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CAApril 8, 2014
I enjoy transcribing the variety of assignments I receive. This job requires precision and patience.
Pros
Freelance
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open for discussion
Translation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CaSeptember 4, 2012
• Scheduling International contractors to translate/overdub major motion pictures, television series, and video games.
• Correspondence with entertainment studios (Warner Bros., Sony, DreamWorks) to ensure quality translations.
• Ability to meet tight deadlines on a consistent basis.
Pros
open for discussion
Cons
open for discussion
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employers
Video Encoding Engineer (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CAApril 20, 2012
• Logged and Captured HBO, Hasbro and Sony HDCam assets with Final Cut Pro.
• Applied necessary audio assignment, color correction, video resizing, optimization and trimming with Final Cut Pro in accordance with various output destination formats. Primary output was to French and German iTunes and Sony VOD formats.
• Created subtitle proxy and burn-in encodes for international affiliate broadcasting with Carbon Coder, Digital Rapids, AVI-Synth, GTS and G-Spot software.
• Routed digital assets for streamlined manipulation, transcoding, compression and storage.
• File organization with Filemaker Pro and Microsoft Excel.
• Quality Control of audio/video sync, playback functionality, timing and appearance of subtitle burn-ins, presence of artifacts, overall a/v quality and adherence to desired size and bit rates. Responsible for finding causes and methods of correcting all errors found which often required clear communication with asset providers.
• Extensive inter-departmental and client communication with Microsoft Outlook.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report

See more SDI Media reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SDI Media. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 31 reviews
58
47
310
24
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

SDI Media Reviews by Location