Sea Mar Community Health Centers Employee Reviews

Found 176 reviews matching the search See all 179 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-profit with some broken processes
Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJune 4, 2018
Sea Mar's grants and governmental funding have increased in the last ten years so the company has grown. As a result, there is a lot of competition for visibility within the non-profit which seemed to cloud the mission which is healthcare for families with financial hardships.

Although the mission motivated me, the lack of teamwork in my department was stressful and not productive to my career development.

There are 40+ managers at Sea Mar and most were respectable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Everett, WAJune 1, 2018
Although; I did not have the best experience working in this place, I've met wonderful and respectful people who have challenged and inspired me and whose friendship I would like to keep forever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays the bills
Outpatient Behavioral Health (Former Employee) –  Puyallup, WAMay 30, 2018
Working for sea Mar mental health is just that, you are doing the job to help others, but at the cost of jeporadizing your own mental health as management and supervisor really don't invest in their therapist own well being.
Pros
Pays well
Cons
Poor supervision.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Intentions
Certified Medical Assistant Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WAMay 30, 2018
The Sea Mar organization has a great mission, and employs amazing individuals who eventually leave. It seems that there is room to advance in the company for the few chosen ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience
Billing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 27, 2018
Difficult to get protocols and routines changed. Understaffed. They do provide opportunities to someone who is just starting out. So many of the positions are Union so you can't get a raise based on your merits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at.
Dietitian (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAMay 24, 2018
First thing in the morning dietitians/nutritionists crub the charts and discuss patients with providers . Dietitians educate patients during scheduled appointments as well as in Dr's. exam rooms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancements poor management
Care Coordinator II (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 23, 2018
SeaMar denies to have new management in place and continue to overwork their employees. The culture is great but you are not appreciated by the extensive work you do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pacing enviornment
DENTAL RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAApril 24, 2018
Really busy sometimes, but learned everything really quickly. Pretty easy but needs some management help. Great place to start off at but it gets overwhelming since they expect so much to be done by front desk. However, they have good opportunities to move up.
Pros
Great benifits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
medical assistant (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 23, 2018
working at Sea Mar was really helpful to growth my knowledge of the medical field, I experience different procedures such as toe nail removal,circumcision, injection, ultrasounds, iud insertion adn removal, colonoscopy and cyst removal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sea mar chc
FRONT OFFICE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAApril 11, 2018
The staff and the work environment is great. The benefits are really good. The job is fast-pasted must be a quick learner and able to multi- task. The medical field is a hard work place but you will have the satisfaction of helping out the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a joke
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grays Harbor, WAApril 8, 2018
Patients are NOT the the main focus make no mistake. I got into healthcare to care for patients. Managers are a joke, back stabbing, lying and cannot be trusted. VPs of Operations, CEOs turn a blind eye or really have no clue. Credit and pats on the back for a job well done.......don't expect that your nurse manager or clinic manager will take all the credit. MA Supervisors are AMAZING and get no credit but are the first to get blamed and stabbed in the back. More and more work continues to be put on "back office" staff. Way overloaded for any human.
Pros
benefits, pay
Cons
clinic management is a joke, no room for advancement, no job security for non union workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un professional. Gossip, no empathy, money hungry
Treatment attendant (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WAMarch 15, 2018
Working for this facet of sea Mar is not for someone who truly cares for the addict that is suffering from this disease. The management is awesome. But lacks the attentiveness on knowing what is going in regards to the employee/client relationship. The slogan for this organization is Exceptional service every person every time. This is true in most of the circumstances but not when it pertains to the in patient part of this organization.
Pros
Employment
Cons
Gossip, employee to employee relationship s.over worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don’t
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Ocean Shores, WAMarch 9, 2018
At first they treat you like you’re valuable but they will turn on you in the blink of an eye.

They expect every employee to work the job of three people and don’t bother asking the managers for help, they will act put out. However the MA supervisors are amazing and always go above and beyond to help everyone.

The patients are fantastic and it felt good to help them and have their trust.
Pros
Annual raise, hands on with patient, potential for OT
Cons
Poor upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work place
Dental Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAMarch 6, 2018
was always something to do kept yo busy through out your shift management was good my favorite part of the job was assisting with all dental procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health clinic
Bilingual Medical Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lacey, WAFebruary 25, 2018
Good place for people to got that don't have health ins. I learned a lot about this place and how much I miss my patient that came there. There was a high turn around with Management and employees.The hardest part of the job was, that they didn't like to get you help when you need it. The most enjoyable part of this job was the patients. They were so nice and I enjoyed making sure that they were taken care of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No core benefits for part time employees, hostile work environment
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Ocean Shores, WAFebruary 25, 2018
Do not work here if you have worked at other companies in the healthcare community, previously I've worked in other medical facilities and Seamar was not compatible with me nor the State and Federal laws I was use to dealing with. Their polices and rules are based upon receiving as much money as possible due to being community health care, policies changed daily depending who you know. Very high turnover while employed most employees have been there for less than 1 year. Supervisor showed up only 2 or 3 days a Week, never around where there were co-worker issues and while absent other front staff members had free range of how policy was interpreted daily, and enforced rules by strictly hearsay.
This facility needs to learn on how to put patient care first and start it at the door when the patient walks in instead of waiting until the patient is called to the back.

Most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the patients.
Hardest part of the job was dealing for all of the unethical professionalism I dealt with daily.
Pros
Union
Cons
Zero benefits for part time employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Seattle - Bilingual ECEAP Teacher (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 23, 2018
I love the caring spirt of Sea Mar.
The Teachers and staff are hard workers.
Learning another language was the hardest part about this job.
They allowed me to continue my education and provided all resources to do so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever!!
CDP (Current Employee) –  Puyallup, WAFebruary 18, 2018
amazing work environment, benefits, pay, coworkers, managers, all amazing!!! Please apply, you will love it, so laid back, so much freedom to lead groups and counseling style!
Pros
benefits, days off, caseload size, casual work environment
Cons
Paperwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great cooworkers and direct management, caring people and patients
NURSE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, WAFebruary 16, 2018
This company is authoritarian and focused on meeting Quality Measures. A typical day with my staff and the providers is collaborative, but very busy with productivity focus burning out the providers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grand concept, poorly executed.
RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Ocean Shores, WAFebruary 11, 2018
The concept of providing healthcare to the entire populace regardless of their ability to pay is noble and should be commended. It is my personal opinion, having spent many years in management across a number of industries, that this company is sorely lacking a dedicated, focused mission along with a patient-focused approach.

Medicaid pays for encounters, and that is the sole focus. If the focus was fixing patients instead of maximizing Medicaid encounter fees, things might be a little different Remember folks, a mission statement is worth nothing unless you live it.
Pros
Consistent hours, fair pay.
Cons
Hostile work environment with toxic effects on morale.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sea Mar Community Health Centers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 179 reviews
541
444
345
228
121

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight